We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Solid Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Porte de Camargue
Ranked #21 of 56 Hotels in Arles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2013

This hotel is a solid 2 star hotel. It was located across the river from the old town and the roman ruins but is close to the bridge for the walk into town. There was parking available close to the hotel. it was quiet, with a reasonable sized room, and a reasonable sized bathroom. A good breakfast is supplied in the dining room in the morning and it was easy to check in and check out in the morning. Good location for Pont Du Gard and then the drive down through the Carmague along the coast of France towards Spain

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katem1901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2013

If you want to see Provence and Camargue, I would recommend you this cosy family hotel. The owners are very friendly, nice and helpful for their guests any time. If you are a horseback rider and came to make a famous "cheval promenade" in Camargue, they will support you with useful recommendations, help with booking of your riding, if you don´t speak French, and show the simplest way, how to get there. In the morning you will appreciate a very authentic breakfast room, tasty coffee and croissants, and in the evening you can enjoy silence and sounds of birds on the sunny terrace with cosy coaches and flowers. I would like to say "Grand merci!" to the owners and wish further success with the hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olga_Timofeeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

We were very pleased with our stay here last June. The owner is gracious and charming, and was extremely helpful in recommending the best restaurants in the area (and in fact we had two of the best dinners of our trip because of his advice). The breakfast room is quiet and pleasant, and breakfast consisted of some excellent croissants, a small variety of individually packaged cheeses, cereal, yogurt, jam, and hot tea, coffee, or hot cocoa, served by the proprietors at our table. Some reviews found the rooms to be tired, but I found the decor charming and rustic. Nothing was brand new, but everything was clean and well cared-for, and the bathroom was one of the more spacious and comfortable we saw on our trip through France and Spain. No complaints. I would not recommend this hotel for a family with noisy children, as the overall feeling was peaceful and quiet, and they might be looked upon poorly.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Longsleevetee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Great, clean hotel. I wouldn't recommend for long stays, but we were there for 3 nights, and it was comfortable and clean. Breakfast is a bit more than just a continental breakfast, thus ample enough to last you until lunchtime at least. Very well located, and walking distance (if you are comfortable walking) from the old town and attractions. Parking is limited and not available on the premises (and do take a GPS, else you will have trouble finding the hotel). However, there are lots of street parking around the hotel. We struggled with wi-fi, and had to sit in the lobby to get wi-fi, but that was okay - we didn't NEED to be connected.

I can recommend this place as it is well priced.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenB5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

I stayed here for a week in september. the hotel is basic ,but thats what i expected so no big surprise there. the couple that run the hotel are very friendly and extremely helpful. I really liked the location although it may not be to everyones taste but i found it extremely handy for walking to the centre which took 5 minutes and for getting out of the city to the camargue or avignon etc it was perfect and easy to navigate.The area is residential and very quiet at night and it has a village feel about it,with a supermarket, a bar and a couple of restaurants nearby if you want to stay local.The locals i found to be very friendly and helpful . The hotel itself is a little dull and stuck in a timewarp is probably a fair description, but thats ok as i said earlier ,i wasn't expecting a lot. there is a large roof terrace but sadly no bar....I think this would make a big difference.we ate breakfast only once in the hotel and it was fine but the rest of the time we went to cafe d'autrefois in Arles which was a real find.Would i stay here again? probably not, but if you are on a budget it will be hard to find a better value place to stay than this in Arles.it is what it is so if you want a little bit of luxury its not the place for you.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluecornIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We slept one night at the hotel Porte de Camargue. The room was just OK and I don't really understand the great TA reviews. During our stay there was no wifi in the rooms. The new owner (since August) explained that he switched provider and that this should be fixed soon. The hotel is about 10 minutes from the centre and it is fairly easy to find free parking around. On the positive side prices were good.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
Thank new_world_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

The hotel is well situated on the other side of the river but an easy walk to all the sites. It is in a quiet area. Friendly reception and helpful. rooms are a nice size and clean and comfortable. breakfast was excellent. We really felt we got good value.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arles hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Constantin
Hotel Constantin
#15 of 56 in Arles
217 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Acacias
Hotel Acacias
#18 of 56 in Arles
59 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel De L'Amphitheatre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Best Western Le Val Majour
Best Western Le Val Majour
#3 of 8 in Fontvieille
178 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Spa Le Calendal
0.5 mi away
Le Regence
Le Regence
#16 of 56 in Arles
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Porte de Camargue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porte de Camargue

Address: 15 rue Noguier, 13200, Arles, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Arles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Arles
Price Range: £58 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Porte de Camargue 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Porte de Camargue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porte De Camargue Arles
Porte De Camargue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing