We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ibis Budget Arles Palais des Congres
Ranked #8 of 56 Hotels in Arles
Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We loved our 3 night stay here! Friendly staff, great location, large, clean room. We enjoyed the close proximity to the historic areas of Arles, museums, and business areas, and easy access to the highway. We were there in late April, and the grounds were gorgeous, with irises and wisteria in full bloom, with a bright green, grassy, hilly area out back that lead to a pond. Parking was free and ample and the pool was clean and sparkly. The bathroom had one of the longest and deepest tubs I've ever seen, and there was plenty of counter space. Towels were generous.The closet was roomy. The bed was an average budget bunk-style (with larger bed on bottom and single on top,) but we slept well. We did not have the hotel breakfast, opting instead to bring our own food to the room. One evening, we went to the grounds of the nearby Roman museum and had a picnic overlooking the Rhone. Can't wait to go back to Arles!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desert_Girl_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    224
    82
    21
    11
See reviews for
123
198
25
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

I am torn about this hotel because the staff were wonderful, maybe the friendliest and most attentive I have ever encountered in a hotel. But the property was dumpy and depressing, located in a really sketchy area, the breakfast was lacking (even by Ibis Budget standards), and the place just seemed sad.

When we pulled up, we expected there to be gated parking per the Ibis website. There wasn't, and instead we were greeted with large signs warning us of theft and indemnifying the hotel against our likely losses we'd suffer in that car park. It wasn't a surprise, since later that day, as we walked the 10-15 minutes to the city centre, we noticed the chickens roaming freely in the shantytown immediately next door, as well as the broken glass and rubbish strewn about everywhere. We then enter though the automatic glass doors (very nice!) and see the lovely counter and gorgeous lobby from the photo on the website. The attractive woman behind the counter greeted us and then said, "oh, this is the Mercure counter. Ibis is around the corner."

So we walk approximately 75 cm and turn the corner to find a tiny counter--no glass and hardwood--with an equally friendly and professional hotel worker who checks us into the Ibis room. We get a code, not a key, and go to our room. To get to it, we have to take the Mercure lift and walk through the Mercure halls. It all seems so strange, really, like passing through the business and economy sections of the airplane to be seated in the lavatory. But this was the room we paid for, so I suppose all's fair.

The building, I came to understand, houses both the Ibis Budget and the Mercure hotels. A strange arrangement, to be sure, which results in two different rooms serving two different levels of breakfast buffet. I should have chosen Mercure, as the Ibis breakfast was truly lacking. The fruit salad, which was the only healthy option, was bitter. Bitter fruit. Everything else at breakfast, while wholly uninspiring, was fine, albeit sparse as an array of choices.

Again, I suppose you get what you pay for, and what we got was a clean room, even if the carpet and fixtures are worn and sad, much like the exterior of the property. The bed was unmade when we got there, and the lights inadequate for illuminating the room. But as I said, the staff were very kind and friendly, though they forgot to credit my Accor account for the stay and I am stil waiting for them to correct this.

On the plus side, it is an inexpensive way to stay in Arles, close to everything, adjacent to free-roaming chickens (if that's your thing), and, luckily, nobody stole anything from us despite the many warning signs posted by management.

I doubt that I would stay there again, however. There's a "red Ibis" about 5 minutes away in a much better neighbourhood, and for the minimal difference in price, I would opt to stay there instead.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorCal_Prof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

When you book to Etap, you know which level of facilities and services to expect. So they did it 100 %. Cheerful staff, restaurant with etap prices, but you need to be ready for a walk if you iwsh to get to some "central" places. Recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MPTruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

This Etap is inside the Mercury hotel, the rooms are together. So, stay at Mercury for the price of Etap.

Giant rooms, nice neighborhood, nice bathroom, nice staff, good everything, except for the clealiness. Carpet was a little dirty. But, in the end, great for the price.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardRio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Martine on reception was lovely. The way this hotel is joined to the Mercure Hotel has a number of advantages - big hotel facilities (restaurant) with economy prices. Handy for main routes but 'a pied' to Arles is a little tedious.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manseldinnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Right off the main highway, and a couple of blocks from the fantastic Archaeological Museum and the Rhone. A 3 minute drive to the city center. Friendly staff, good wi-fi service. Nice pool. Only downside was the slow elevator.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CtFreddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worksop, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

I liked this hotel. It was visible from the autoroute and handy for the junction. The town was about 15 minutes walk away. The staff were friendly and helpful. Plenty of free car parking! There is a modern archaeological museum right outside and a Roman-themed garden. You can also walk along the Rhone into town an beyond!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank walld3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arles hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Arles Plaza
Hotel Arles Plaza
#12 of 56 in Arles
361 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel De L'Amphitheatre
0.0 mi away
Ibis Styles Arles Palais des Congres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Jules Cesar Arles MGallery Collection
0.9 mi away
Le Regence
Le Regence
#13 of 56 in Arles
246 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Atrium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Arles Palais des Congres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Arles Palais des Congres

Property: Ibis Budget Arles Palais des Congres
Address: Avenue 1ere Division Francais libre, 13200, Arles, France (Formerly Etap Hotel Arles)
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Arles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 56 Hotels in Arles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Budget Arles Palais des Congres 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a vacation that won't break the bank, come to the ibis budget Arles Palais des Congrès hotel. 24-hour reception, air conditioning in all rooms, plenty of storage, flat-screen satellite TV. Ensuite functional bathrooms. Enjoy your breakfast looking out onto our lovely garden. The ibis Styles restaurant (part of the same complex as the ibis budget) is open every day and our swimming pool is available to use throughout the summer. Free private shared parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ibis Budget Arles Palais des Congres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing