We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful retreat”
Review of Mas de la Chapelle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mas de la Chapelle
Ranked #28 of 56 Hotels in Arles
Surrey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Peaceful retreat”
Reviewed 14 August 2007

We have just returned from a 4 day stay at the Mas. It was excellent- very peaceful and quiet and it provided an excellent centre to see Provence.
We did have trouble finding the hotel and were slightly concerned when we drove through an industrial estate and then passed the prison !It was quite a relief as we drove into the hotel grounds and into the lovely garden.
It was very relaxed- we had breakfast in the delightful garden every morning.There were plenty of places to sit and relax.
We would definitely recommend the Mas and would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lizbobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    61
    51
    38
    32
See reviews for
24
198
10
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2007

We found this place thru 'Chateaux & Hotels de France' which I swear by. It is a bit out in the middle of nowhere but is a haven of peace. There are rooms in the house which has previously been a chapel and also rooms scattered around the very large grounds. We stayed in a new room which has been added on top of the roof. The stairway up to it was a bit steep and narrow but well worth the effort, the room was quite large, the furnishings were contemporary, it was freshly decorated and we had a roof terrace with parasol, table and chairs overlooking the grounds. The breakfast was over expensive at €14.00, but it was very relaxed you just collected it on a tray and could either sit inside or at any of the numerous tables and chairs placed around the gardens. There were also loungers placed around the gardens with cushions and towels available at the swimming pool. On a Sunday morning the owner played classical music in the chapel which all added to the relaxed atmosphere. Arles was only a 10 minute drive away for dinner. We booked in for 2 nights and ended up staying for 5.

  • Liked — accomodation and pool
  • Disliked — it was in the middle of no-where
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travel-rogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2006

I was certainly seduced by the website but found the reality somewhat disappointing.

On arrival we found the fridge in our room was not working and called reception who came promptly and agreed that it was not functioning.......... and that was it, no attempt to repair or replace despite the extremely high temperatures.

Our friends in another room had the same.

First impressions of the rooms are good but on closer inspection one does find that some of the furniture and fittings are a bit tired.

The main problem and gross disappointment was the fact that sitting outside or using the pool morning, noon or night was nigh impossible because of the huge numbers of voracious mosquitos which savaged all four in our party.

Another irritation was that breakfast did not start until 09:00 (and was poor value at 14 Euros ! ) which is far too late when one wants to maximise one's time touring, sightseeing etc.

We took breakfast and pre dinner drinks at Le Calendal in Arles which is where I would definitely stay if returning.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank Deighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Arles hotels

Derby
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2006

Spent three days at this charming place at the end of April. Great base for touring around the area - Avignon, St Remy, Pont du Gard, Nimes and the Carmargue. This converted chapel reeks of character and the dogs are brilliant. I swear that one of them - Jacob, it was his job to escort you to your car!. The grounds are fantastic, and so private, and yet we were literally 5 minutes away from Arles centre.

We struck lucky with our room, which was a newly converted suite on the roof. You don't see it on the website picture. It was fabulous with a terrace and views over the grounds.

We hired a car which you need if you are going to explore, and the place itself is at the end of a winding single track road, which only adds to the charm.

They only serve breakfast, which was very good and taken in a typically provence dining room. I guess in high season you will have the option of taking it outside. it was a little windy whilst we were there.

if you are thinking of visiting this area, do spend a couple of days down on the carmargue like we did. It was a brilliant contrast. St Marie de la Mer is super.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank derbyrams7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2006

We stayed here for three nights in June 04. Although the hotel is somewhat outside of town - and a car would be required, the drive to the historical part of Arles only took us about 10 minutes. We were pleasantly surprised when we checked in as we were upgraded to a much larger room than originally booked for the same price. After touring all day, it was great to return to the hotel and relax by the pool - usually enjoying a bottle of wine. The hotel was repurchased in 2000 had completely renovated and transformed into a very pleasant small hotel. The owners live on site and were attentive to all our needs. This hotel is also home to numerous cats - about seven (I love cats) as well as two very well behaved dogs. The grounds were large and well kept as was the pool. Large towels were available by the pool for guests as well as lounge chairs.

  • Stayed June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatharineB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2004

Ordinarily, I would not post a review from a hotel that I stayed at in the summer of 1997. However, since there are no other reviews, I thought that it was important for tripadvisor users to know that this hotel is out of the city, near a prison, and a car is a must. There is no public transportation, and there may be a long wait for a taxi.

The rooms were spacious and the grounds were quite nice. However, during our stay in early June, the pool was never cleaned. Perhaps this has changed since 1997.

We received a very surly welcome and this continued throughout our stay. We guaranteed the room with AMEX, but upon check out, the management had removed the american express sign and forced us to use another credit card. We ate once in the beautiful hotel dining room that is a converted chapel. The experience would have been very nice had we not been scolded for not finishing our meal. We were so terrorized by the management that we avoided breakfast at the hotel and came back only to sleep.

We are experienced travelers, speak french, and had never experienced any treatment like this in travels all over the globe. Hopefully, someone else has a more recent review that proves our experience was just a fluke. Otherwise, don't chance it. Stay in town.

Helpful?
9 Thank texas spot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arles hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel le Rodin
Hotel le Rodin
#34 of 56 in Arles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
5.8 mi away
Auberge du Mas de la Feniere
3.3 mi away
Hotel Jules Cesar Arles MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel des Granges
Hotel des Granges
#10 of 56 in Arles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
3.8 mi away
Villa Regalido
Villa Regalido
#1 of 8 in Fontvieille
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel De L'Amphitheatre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mas de la Chapelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mas de la Chapelle

Property: Mas de la Chapelle
Address: Petite route de Tarascon, 13200, Arles, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Arles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Arles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mas de la Chapelle 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the foot of Arles, a former priory belonging to the knights of Malta was built on the road to Saint Jacques de Compostelle. Within its walls and its 16 th century chapel lies a small hotel, at once charming and full of character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Mas de la Chapelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mas De La Chapelle Hotel Arles
Mas De La Chapelle Arles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing