We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rustic france, great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Auberge du Mas de la Feniere
Ranked #23 of 56 Hotels in Arles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2014

we stayed for 6 nights whilst on an organised birding holiday, new owners carrying out external facelift, no pool yet but in progress, our room was not luxury and smallish but excellent bed, hot shower, dim lighting in room, we found the staff helpful, manager in particular friendly & helpful so we enjoyed our stay. breakfast adequate, evening meals x6 were all good standard, well outside of the town of Arles. We would stay again

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JeffS07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014

We stayed 2 nights in summer during our tour in Cot d'Azur and Provence
Cons: Hard to find even if you have GPS, our triple room was dark ( you need a flashlight) but romantic anyway ! with a little smell, unfriendly manager
Pros: excellent location in countryside 5 km from city center of Arles, next to a farm with horses of Camargue, traditional residence of Provence and really very good restaurant ( rather it is known to locals) delicious french cuisine and variety of good wines

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank liberpit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

A real low point on our journey through France and Spain. Hard to find the property unless you are coming from.the Arles direction, as the only signs are facing that way. 'Welcome' was perfunctory,to say the least, the room was dark, dirty and very small. Bathroom was ancient, ramshackle and far from clean. Our evening meal was very good, served outside under the trees, so rather redeemed things for a while, but breakfast was forgettable. Couldn't wait to check out, paying a bill which was way beyond what was deserved and compared badly with any of the other places we stayed during our touring holiday.

Room Tip: Not the one on the ground floor next to the bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Chrissie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

After having a wonderful time in Cannes, Nice and Monaco we proceeded to drive to Arles for a taste of the French Countryside - Arles is a beautiful place.

We chose this place based on recent seemingly recent positive reviews, but on reading further back there is obviously an issue with the hotel manager or "Gérant" as he likes to be called. which point towards the Gérant being rather miserable, unfriendly and difficult towards guests. There is obviously a common theme here and I want to WARN future travellers of what you may encounter, based on my first-hand experience.

We arrived and were greeted by a woman who seemed pleasant enough. In fact the dinner we had on the Monday evening was nice, and the waiter was pleasant also.

On the Tuesday morning we came down to breakfast at 10.10am. We encountered someone we thought was a waiter - but was actually the Gérant - and asked him about breakfast - and he said it ended at 10am. We'd obviously mis-heard the lady on reception whilst checking in who must have said breakfast ends at 10.30am on a weekend and 10am on a weekday, but no big deal as we were going out anyway.

Nevertheless this guy, who's name we never bothered to ask but from reading previous reviews is obviously the Gérant, had no intention of extending any kindness or a welcome as some hotels would maybe offer a bowl of cornflakes or something showing customer service.

Not once did he show any semblance or kindness, respect, good manners or hospitality in his approach, and completely blanked us. I was taken aback by his rudeness.

Then he proceeded to ask us our room number, which we gave. He then said that other hotel guests had complained of “noise” from our room the previous night. I asked him what “noise,” to which he replied “just noise.”

I felt this was a ridiculous accusation as I had been chatting with my fiancée until 11pm, and then we had gone to sleep as we were tired from a long drive from Cannes. I wasn’t aware on checking in there was a curfew at 10pm!!

Travellers Please Note - the walls are “paper thin” in this hotel – you will hear people coughing, sneezing and talking in adjacent rooms. The TV’s have a volume limiter but you can still hear next door’s TV.

I therefore would advise any couples with Romantic Inclinations you may be told off next morning by the Gérant for making “noise.” Hotel’s should have proper thick walls so people can feel relaxed & have privacy!

That evening we returned to the hotel at around 9.15pm after a blissful day to Valensole and Arles, driving around the French Countryside. The hotel staff were drinking outside and 2 of the Staff – the lady on check in and the waiter, both said hello and both seemed to be well mannered. I asked the lady if we could have a swim as the swimming pool lights were still on, to which she said “sure you can.” Sadly the hotel Gérant suddenly interjected and said he was going to Clean the pool now, so it was now closed. His timing seemed strange as he still had a near-full glass of wine on his table.

The next morning we got up early for a swim expecting a pristine “clean” pool after the Gérant's late night efforts. Unfortunately the pool was full of leaves and bugs and didn’t look like it had been cleaned at all. This was hugely disappointing and we didn’t swim for long since avoiding dead wasps while doing breast stroke is not my idea of a relaxing morning swim.

We then went for breakfast early as we thought we had missed out on ‘something special’ the day before. Breakfast was extremely ordinary – processed Emmental cheese, orange juice from concentrate, a croissant – not worth the 10Euros each and we elected to have any future breakfasts in Arles Town Centre.

On the Thursday we were looking forward to checking out as we hadn’t been made welcome or felt comfortable in this Hotel at all, similar to how previous reviews have remarked. This is a 3 star hotel but the Gérant extends a 1 star welcome.

At 7.50am on Thursday morning we rang the bell at reception for a good 10 minutes as we wanted to check out as we had to drive to Perpignan and catch a train to Barcelona. No one came to reception and in fact my fiancée had to walk into the staff kitchen to try to call someone to assist. Eventually the Gérant appeared with a look like we’d just woken him up, and he had no manners or class on check out at all. He never asked If we enjoyed our stay, if everything was ok or wish us a safe journey onwards. His attitude let’s his fellow workers down who do seem to make an effort, and he really shouldn’t be in the hospitality industry if he can’t manage to be hospitable to paying guests.

Needless to say we won’t be going back here. You can read my reviews on my profile of our hotel in Cannes and our hotel in Barcelona, both of which had excellent customer service and were the highlights of our holiday. I will ALWAYS give a fair, balanced and objective review.

This hotel in Arles was definitely one to forget. People on holiday expect relaxation but the Gérant of this hotel doesn’t have the intelligence to fully appreciate that, lacking manners, courtesy and breeding giving a bad attitude to the guests and making them feel uncomfortable.

This ruined the last portion of our holiday in France. Everywhere else was very welcoming.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Travel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Firstly, this hotel is extremely hard to find! We were lucky to have GPS in out rental car, but even the GPS coordinates provided by the hotel were actually impossible to input in the system (decimal points didn't match). We didn't have a mobile phone so it took us a good hour to finally get there. The hotel was packed, and the room that they offered first was actually above the ground level with a tiny window. I felt claustrophobic so we asked for another room, and thanks to the friendly staff we got the last one left. The new room was much better, though tiny and no in-room phone. The hotel is clean, but it gets noisy during the night (it's fairly close to the highway). Restaurant is good but expensive, we didn't even bother trying their breakfast as there were a few nice bakeries around. Many thanks to the girl on the reception for her recommendations on places to visit in Provence, we followed her advice and really enjoyed it!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NPik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Our second visit - and as good as ever. A pretty Provencal hotel just off the road east from Arles to St Martin de Crau and surrounded by fields. Old fahioned but comfortable bedroom overlooking the garden and excellent food in the big (and full to bursting) dining room. Breakfast can be taken ouside
Arles, overcrowded and where it is almost impossible to park, is just down the road but, if you have time it is worth exploring the beautiful country of the Alpilles just to the north of the hotel towards St Remy and Le Baux.
The hotel garden has been neglected but the swimming pool is well maintained (water warm in September)
Re previous remarks on lack of food on Sunday evening. A perennial problem and still all too common right across France I'm afraid.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the bedroom immediately above the bar - first on the right at the top of the stairs. No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 27Kaybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Spent 7 nights at this hotel after a recommendation from a friend. Staff were very pleasant & food excellent. They advise you on their web page that the restaurant is closed on Sunday and we did have difficulty in finding food elsewhere that evening.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thesmiths35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arles hotels
6.5 mi away
La Ripaille Hotel
La Ripaille Hotel
#2 of 8 in Fontvieille
169 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Jules Cesar Arles MGallery Collection
5.1 mi away
Best Western Le Val Majour
Best Western Le Val Majour
#3 of 8 in Fontvieille
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hotel De L'Amphitheatre
5.8 mi away
Mas de la Chapelle
Mas de la Chapelle
#22 of 56 in Arles
337 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel le Rodin
Hotel le Rodin
#33 of 56 in Arles
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Mas de la Feniere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Mas de la Feniere

Address: 3037 route de la Crau | D453 Raphèle les Arles, 13280, Arles, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Arles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Arles
Price Range: £70 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge du Mas de la Feniere 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the gates of Arles to 10 minutes of les baux de Provence, 20 minutes Maussane, Beaucaire, Tarascon, Avignon, St Remy de provence, the Saints Marie of the sea; auberge du Mas de la Feniere enjoys an exceptional situation. Vast expanses of the Camargue to the crests of the Alpilles, between lavenders and olive trees, it is Provence which is offered to you.By the pool, you will discover the joys of "idleness" after having furrowed the area rich in walks, visits and emotions.Whether you choose the soothing shade of mulberry trees or the warm dining room of the restaurant La Feniere will you discover Provencal and Mediterranean cuisine made from fresh and local. The Camargue music and culture is at the heart of the mas de la feniere auberge, van gogh, spinazola. Most recently Bob SNIDER Artiste peintre American posed his easel at the mas de la feniere auberge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Auberge du Mas de la Feniere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Mas De La Feniere Hotel Arles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing