We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YUCK!”
Review of Tapalocas

Tapalocas
Ranked #451 of 600 Restaurants in Avignon
Price range: US$15 - US$23
Cuisines: Cuban, Latin, Spanish
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“YUCK!”
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Firstly I have to admit that the Sangria Rouge was pretty good and the atmosphere could be considered by the younger crowd as cool but all in all our meal was DISGUSTING. We went home hungry and vowed never to go again, enough said, keep away!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank USAshleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    57
    30
    50
    68
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, USA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Suprise”
Reviewed 20 April 2012

For 3 weeks we have been walking by this place and checking out the menu. Last night we dropped in and had a really nice meal. Old smokey looking interior, rought benches and tables, dogs running about, it was a comfy and rustic bar at its best. Not at all what I expected from the outside.

6 people, 29 plates of tapas to share, 6 litres of sangria, all for less than we usually pay for lunch.

Some of the tapas were freaking amazing, just a couple were nothing special. All in all, we were damn glad we went.

The service was relaxed, our waiter was quite funny and helped us with a few suggestions. When we wasn't running food, he was actually washing dishes and clearing tables. it was a 2 man show. Not bad!

Would I take Granny here for Easter brunch? Nope. Would I take a bunch of friends with folding money in their pockets out for drinks and snackies? Darn right... In a heartbeat. I"m in country for 2 more weeks and this place will get more of my money, no question.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MalachiUri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
508 reviews
277 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
“Have a drink but avoid the food!”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

This is an institution in Avignon and might be worth a visit only to have a drink (to see the original decoration). But avoid the food at all cost as it is rather bad, as previously described. Unfortunately I didn't read the TA reviews before going, following a suggestion from the hotel receptionist. Service was OK as the place was empty. Won't go again.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Swissdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Rubbish food”
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Food was awful - we had the following:

> crevettes a l'ail - (shrimps) - which looked like they'd been sitting around for a day. And unlike proper Spanish 'Gambas al ajillo' there was no sizzling hot oil, and small headless shrimp.
> Tortilla patata (spanish omelette) - burnt on the bottom. Greasy. Orange colour ???
> Manchego (cheese) - 2 of 4 slices of cheese were the chalky end of the cheese. Two unlovely slices of bread slapped on top.
> courgettes gratin - looked worse than it tasted.
> beignets pois chics (chick pea) - greasy and heavy.
> horchata (almond drink) - from a bottle

Food probably tastes better if you're drinking, but we weren't, cause we were driving.

Toilet didn't have a seat ???, and smelt like it hadn't been cleaned all weekend (we went on a bank holiday Monday).

Sat outside on a table that was sloping, and drinks kept sliding off !

Service was indifferent.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wdlbooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avignon, France
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Casual, fast, friendly and fun! Love love love Tapalocas!”
Reviewed 18 January 2011

We live in the area and eat here about once a month. It's always a relaxed vibe in an eclectic environment. The service is fast, friendly and priced reasonably. I recommend it for anyone who wants a fun easy place to share an evening with friends.

  • Visited December 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ErikaDanielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tapalocas also viewed

Avignon, Vaucluse
 
Avignon, Vaucluse
Avignon, Vaucluse
 
Avignon, Vaucluse
 

Been to Tapalocas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing