We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“everything you need, for a good price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Adagio Access Avignon
Ranked #37 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“everything you need, for a good price”
Reviewed 5 April 2011

The room was unremarkable but quiet and clean, all we needed. We did not realize that it included a kitchenette, so we were not prepared to use it. The internet connection was via the Ethernet, not Wi-Fi, useless for mobile phones and rather slow. The worst thing was that they attempted to close the breakfast facilities 15 min early as they were running out of food. It was very distressing to watch, as people were done out of something they'd paid for and which it would be an extra hassle to find elsewhere; eventually the management relented and let people in; they should have stuck to the idea that a breakfast with less choice was better than none at all.

Room Tip: Don't be late for breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarySebastian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    153
    107
    34
    17
See reviews for
60
145
42
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
manchester, uk
Level Contributor
67 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2011

This is about 400 yards from the TGV station and a couple of miles from the centre of Avignon. Not great if you're wanting to spend lots of time there (although there is a very frequent Navette bus service from near the hotel) but a great location for car travel as there is free parking, either roadside or in a gated compound, and good road access in all directions. We used it as a base for walking in Provence (using the Sunflower Landscape and Walk Eat Avignon guides) and it was perfect. The room was comfortable and quiet (tho perhaps not quite as well designed as some other citeas), the two hotplates and microwave were perfect for preparing simple meals and free internet was great. ),. The nearby location of a Carrefour and retail park was also appreciated - a 5/10 minute walk if you don't have a car. The reception was also open until 2100 in the evening on weekdays when we there - check the Citea site for details.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheKoolKestrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2010

We stayed here in March 2009.
We had a little trouble finding the Citea - we'd caught the train from Barcelona to Avignon and the train arrives at the station in town. Nobody at the train station knew the Citea, we even asked a policeman! A lady at a ticketing desk kindly phoned Citea for us and gave her directions in French which she explained to us in English. The bus ride out to Citea was easy but then it started raining! Oh well, added to the adventure of it all.
The hotel was fine, the rooms seemed kind of new-ish, there was a little window with a view down the road back towards Avignon. We caught the bus back and forth from Avignon and it was fairly easy really and not too far.
Our train leaving Avignon left from the TGV station though which was perfect as we were then only a short stroll down to there.
Avignon is beautiful, a real favourite of the towns we visited. I'd love to go back but next time we'd stay in the town itself - inside the walls!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fawky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karachi, Pakistan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2010

Stayed in a twin studio flat with my sister. The airconditioning was welcome in the summer heat! The room was a bit small for a twin, but the kitchenette included was a bonus. There is free internet in the rooms; not WiFi, though, if I remember correctly. The room looked out onto a car park, so not an exciting view. The hotel seems to be eco-aware, so the lights in the hallway turn on automatically when you walk in.

The hotel is 5-10 minutes' walk away from the TGV station, so we were able to walk to the hotel with our luggage without too much hassle. But there really isn't much else in the area, so come here to sleep only. The hotel is quite far out from the centre of Avignon, but a bus stops almost opposite the hotel and will get you to the centre in around 10 minutes. But being on the outskirts of town probably makes this more affordable accommodation.

The reception staff are friendly and helpful, and speak both French and English. But the reception and the front door are closed from 7pm to 7 am, so if you are arriving then, get in touch with the hotel beforehand and they will give you the entry code to the front door and to the safety deposit box, in which they will leave your keys in an envelope marked with your name. They really should mention this when you make a booking.

Breakfast seemed a little steep at 7 euros per person, so we gave it a miss. The only restaurants within walking distance were a few fast food outlets next to the Carrefour hypermarket off the main road, so I would recommend getting dinner in town before heading back to the hotel. We did try getting an Uncle Ben's pasta meal and a chocolate bar from the hotel lobby's vending machine when we got the munchies at night, but while we managed to get the chocolate, the pasta did drop down. (3 euros wasted!)

All in all, this is good value accommodation, but it helps to know what isn't available beforehand.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mreza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

First the good: The views from my 5th floor room were fantastic, overlooking Avignon, Villenueve-les-Avignon and views to the mountains. The place was peaceful at night, so sleep was top notch. The bus to/from Avignon stops 100m from the hotel and is fast and frequent every day of the week. Being close to the TGV station had its advantages. The staff were helpful and efficient, if not the happiest bunch. The room was spacious enough for me and there was even an English language channel on the TV. They have a cable in the room for the internet to plug straight into your laptop. There is a laundry and they sell detergent for 50 cents for 2 doses. There is only 1 washing machine and 1 clothes dryer.

The Bad: My room obviously hadn't been cleaned before my arrival. There were hairs all over the bathroom floor that even a 2nd rate cleaner would have seen. It was like hair carpet. Some of these hairs plus a variety of others were on the mattress protector. I could see them through the bottom sheet. The carpet also hadn't been vacuumed. The cups in the kitchen hadn't been washed, nor had the coffee machine. I did complain and the cleaning was done. They also didn't provide me with the free kitchen kit, which was a 20ml bottle of dishwashing liquid and a sponge (I asked, they gave). They don't provide tea towels, despite asking for dishes to be washed and put away before departure. There was no hair dryer either and they took the 2nd bath towel away and kept giving me 2 bath mats instead of a hand towel. The supermarket is a mammoth bulk mega-market and is a bit of a hike from the hotel without a car. There is a boulangerie in the same area that does good bread & croissants (and chocolate brownies, mmm).

Personally, I liked being away from the centre of pretentious Avignon. Villeneuve-les-Avignon is much nicer. The countryside around Avignon is well worth the visit and as such, Citea Avignon was a good base. Plus it was cheap.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZenTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2010

We stayed at this service apartment for 7 nights for a very reasonable price. Though we arrived late at around 8pm (no reception after 6pm on weekends), we had clear instructions on the security code to access the front door and to get our keys to our room. We comfortably settled in and had a good sleep.

The room we stayed in had twin beds and a fully-equipped kitchenette. There was also free internet access in the room. Our room was located on the top floor with a nice view of the fields and TGV track from far. Our room was cleaned daily just like hotel service. The staff were helpful.

Though it is not in the town centre, it is really a good peaceful location. If you are coming by TGV train, it is just a 5 to 10 mins walk from the station. If you don't want to walk, the shuttle bus (1.20Euro) outside the station takes you to the apartment. It is also convenient to go to town with the same shuttle bus (just 5 mins journey).

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChinTanMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2010

Do not stay here if you want to see Avignon. There is no one in the lobby from 7pm to 7am. If you are arriving by train it is a five minute walk from there. We had to call some number from our cell phone that was on the wall for emergencies to get into our hotel room we had booked. Our train had arrived at 8:30 and we would have been locked out completely if a tour bus had not shown up, who's tour guide had a code to get in. We called the number and a lady told us the combo to a safe in the lobby. Inside were a bunch of keys in envelopes with names on them. Once we found ours we wandered around the hallways until we found our room. Each hallway is on censored lights, so when you open a door to a hallway it is pitch black until you have walked five feet into it. It was really creepy. I did not feel safe at this hotel. If there is no one to help you at the front desk then what would you do in an emergency? We should have stayed right in Avignon, it is a beautiful cobblestone street town with many shops and cafes. And there is no shortage of hotels there, with front desk service. Our hotel was fairly clean, but creepy lighting, and no front desk service after sundown. Do yourself a favour and stay in Avignon, where there are many reasonable hotels. Stay here only if you are arriving late by train (and know how to get into your hotel room,) and you are leaving the next morning. Also if you are looking for WIFI. It is only available in the lobby....sometimes.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mwatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Avignon hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.2 mi away
Kyriad Avignon - Courtine Gare
1.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Avignon Centre
1.0 mi away
Best Western Le Lavarin
Best Western Le Lavarin
#11 of 69 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
B&B Hotel Avignon 2
B&B Hotel Avignon 2
#7 of 10 in Le Pontet
3.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
5.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel Paradou
1.7 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#16 of 69 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adagio Access Avignon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adagio Access Avignon

Property: Adagio Access Avignon
Address: 6 avenue de la Gare, 84000, Avignon, France (Formerly Citea Avignon)
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Adagio Access Avignon 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Adagio Access Avignon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adagio Access Avignon Hotel Avignon
Citea Hotel Avignon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing