We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, nice rooms, not so bad location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Adagio Access Avignon
Ranked #36 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Bruxelles
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Clean, nice rooms, not so bad location”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

I stayed for 1 night during the Festival d'Avignon and the price was still affordable. Rooms are studio-like, with a kitchenette. Usually, that kind of hotel is far from the center, but in Avignon, the Citea is nearly well located, just at foot distance from the TGV terminal... that allows us to take the TGV shuttle to Avingon center, just in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frubke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    155
    111
    34
    17
See reviews for
60
149
43
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

The Citea Avignon is an apartment hotel only a few blocks from the Avignon TGV station. There are washer/driers available and a varied breakfast buffet. There is no restaurant but each room has a stove and microwave. Beds are fairly comfortable. For those with tickets on the TGV and no car this is the ideal hotel.

Room Tip: higher floors have less noise from TGV
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank exit19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

This hotel seems to have got a lot of stick, but it was perfectly fine when we were there. We had a very large, well air-conditioned room, with friendly staff on reception.

We didn't realise the TGV station is different to the usual station, but there's a bus outside the Post Office ( just inside the wall, across from the 'usual' station ) which goes directly there ( stop 'La Fleur' ) every ten minutes or so for just over a Euro.

We arrived during the comedy festival, and the bus back to town *was* full - we simply walked down to the TGV station where it first picks up, and got in fine...

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UnCitoyen_DuMonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Not going to recommend this hotel - important things you should know:
- it's 2/3 miles from old Avignon. There is a fast bus service which stops outside the hotel, but it only runs 2/3 times an hour, doesn't always run to schedule and can be packed
- reception is not open 24 hours. This is important if you want to check in late (have no idea whether the unfortunate American family I let into the lobby one night ever got into their room...) and also means you can't resolve problems or request items at night
- the free internet advertised is not wifi (except in the lobby) and I was unable to access it in my room
- staff at reception didn't bend over backwards to be helpful (sample exchange: "is a taxi the best way to the airport?" "I don't know")
- rooms are adequate but lack some basic items, e.g. hairdryer, and they expect you to empty your own ktichen bin (what?!)
Overall it was a bit on the pricey side given the annoyance of the location and the rather poor facilites and service

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TAUserLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Avignon hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2011

The room was unremarkable but quiet and clean, all we needed. We did not realize that it included a kitchenette, so we were not prepared to use it. The internet connection was via the Ethernet, not Wi-Fi, useless for mobile phones and rather slow. The worst thing was that they attempted to close the breakfast facilities 15 min early as they were running out of food. It was very distressing to watch, as people were done out of something they'd paid for and which it would be an extra hassle to find elsewhere; eventually the management relented and let people in; they should have stuck to the idea that a breakfast with less choice was better than none at all.

Room Tip: Don't be late for breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarySebastian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester, uk
Level Contributor
70 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2011

This is about 400 yards from the TGV station and a couple of miles from the centre of Avignon. Not great if you're wanting to spend lots of time there (although there is a very frequent Navette bus service from near the hotel) but a great location for car travel as there is free parking, either roadside or in a gated compound, and good road access in all directions. We used it as a base for walking in Provence (using the Sunflower Landscape and Walk Eat Avignon guides) and it was perfect. The room was comfortable and quiet (tho perhaps not quite as well designed as some other citeas), the two hotplates and microwave were perfect for preparing simple meals and free internet was great. ),. The nearby location of a Carrefour and retail park was also appreciated - a 5/10 minute walk if you don't have a car. The reception was also open until 2100 in the evening on weekdays when we there - check the Citea site for details.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheKoolKestrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2010

We stayed here in March 2009.
We had a little trouble finding the Citea - we'd caught the train from Barcelona to Avignon and the train arrives at the station in town. Nobody at the train station knew the Citea, we even asked a policeman! A lady at a ticketing desk kindly phoned Citea for us and gave her directions in French which she explained to us in English. The bus ride out to Citea was easy but then it started raining! Oh well, added to the adventure of it all.
The hotel was fine, the rooms seemed kind of new-ish, there was a little window with a view down the road back towards Avignon. We caught the bus back and forth from Avignon and it was fairly easy really and not too far.
Our train leaving Avignon left from the TGV station though which was perfect as we were then only a short stroll down to there.
Avignon is beautiful, a real favourite of the towns we visited. I'd love to go back but next time we'd stay in the town itself - inside the walls!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fawky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
1.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Avignon Centre
0.2 mi away
Kyriad Avignon - Courtine Gare
5.5 mi away
Kyriad Avignon Nord Le Pontet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
ibis Styles Avignon Sud Hotel
5.6 mi away
B&B Hotel Avignon 2
B&B Hotel Avignon 2
#7 of 10 in Le Pontet
72 reviews
2.3 mi away
Adonis Hotel Avignon Sud
Adonis Hotel Avignon Sud
#48 of 69 in Avignon
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adagio Access Avignon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adagio Access Avignon

Property: Adagio Access Avignon
Address: 6 avenue de la Gare, 84000, Avignon, France (Formerly Citea Avignon)
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Adagio Access Avignon 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Adagio Access Avignon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adagio Access Avignon Hotel Avignon
Citea Hotel Avignon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing