We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable apartment hotel, but rather isolated location”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Adagio Access Avignon
Ranked #39 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Karachi, Pakistan
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable apartment hotel, but rather isolated location”
Reviewed 23 October 2010

Stayed in a twin studio flat with my sister. The airconditioning was welcome in the summer heat! The room was a bit small for a twin, but the kitchenette included was a bonus. There is free internet in the rooms; not WiFi, though, if I remember correctly. The room looked out onto a car park, so not an exciting view. The hotel seems to be eco-aware, so the lights in the hallway turn on automatically when you walk in.

The hotel is 5-10 minutes' walk away from the TGV station, so we were able to walk to the hotel with our luggage without too much hassle. But there really isn't much else in the area, so come here to sleep only. The hotel is quite far out from the centre of Avignon, but a bus stops almost opposite the hotel and will get you to the centre in around 10 minutes. But being on the outskirts of town probably makes this more affordable accommodation.

The reception staff are friendly and helpful, and speak both French and English. But the reception and the front door are closed from 7pm to 7 am, so if you are arriving then, get in touch with the hotel beforehand and they will give you the entry code to the front door and to the safety deposit box, in which they will leave your keys in an envelope marked with your name. They really should mention this when you make a booking.

Breakfast seemed a little steep at 7 euros per person, so we gave it a miss. The only restaurants within walking distance were a few fast food outlets next to the Carrefour hypermarket off the main road, so I would recommend getting dinner in town before heading back to the hotel. We did try getting an Uncle Ben's pasta meal and a chocolate bar from the hotel lobby's vending machine when we got the munchies at night, but while we managed to get the chocolate, the pasta did drop down. (3 euros wasted!)

All in all, this is good value accommodation, but it helps to know what isn't available beforehand.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    157
    112
    37
    18
See reviews for
61
153
43
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

First the good: The views from my 5th floor room were fantastic, overlooking Avignon, Villenueve-les-Avignon and views to the mountains. The place was peaceful at night, so sleep was top notch. The bus to/from Avignon stops 100m from the hotel and is fast and frequent every day of the week. Being close to the TGV station had its advantages. The staff were helpful and efficient, if not the happiest bunch. The room was spacious enough for me and there was even an English language channel on the TV. They have a cable in the room for the internet to plug straight into your laptop. There is a laundry and they sell detergent for 50 cents for 2 doses. There is only 1 washing machine and 1 clothes dryer.

The Bad: My room obviously hadn't been cleaned before my arrival. There were hairs all over the bathroom floor that even a 2nd rate cleaner would have seen. It was like hair carpet. Some of these hairs plus a variety of others were on the mattress protector. I could see them through the bottom sheet. The carpet also hadn't been vacuumed. The cups in the kitchen hadn't been washed, nor had the coffee machine. I did complain and the cleaning was done. They also didn't provide me with the free kitchen kit, which was a 20ml bottle of dishwashing liquid and a sponge (I asked, they gave). They don't provide tea towels, despite asking for dishes to be washed and put away before departure. There was no hair dryer either and they took the 2nd bath towel away and kept giving me 2 bath mats instead of a hand towel. The supermarket is a mammoth bulk mega-market and is a bit of a hike from the hotel without a car. There is a boulangerie in the same area that does good bread & croissants (and chocolate brownies, mmm).

Personally, I liked being away from the centre of pretentious Avignon. Villeneuve-les-Avignon is much nicer. The countryside around Avignon is well worth the visit and as such, Citea Avignon was a good base. Plus it was cheap.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2010

We stayed at this service apartment for 7 nights for a very reasonable price. Though we arrived late at around 8pm (no reception after 6pm on weekends), we had clear instructions on the security code to access the front door and to get our keys to our room. We comfortably settled in and had a good sleep.

The room we stayed in had twin beds and a fully-equipped kitchenette. There was also free internet access in the room. Our room was located on the top floor with a nice view of the fields and TGV track from far. Our room was cleaned daily just like hotel service. The staff were helpful.

Though it is not in the town centre, it is really a good peaceful location. If you are coming by TGV train, it is just a 5 to 10 mins walk from the station. If you don't want to walk, the shuttle bus (1.20Euro) outside the station takes you to the apartment. It is also convenient to go to town with the same shuttle bus (just 5 mins journey).

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2010

Do not stay here if you want to see Avignon. There is no one in the lobby from 7pm to 7am. If you are arriving by train it is a five minute walk from there. We had to call some number from our cell phone that was on the wall for emergencies to get into our hotel room we had booked. Our train had arrived at 8:30 and we would have been locked out completely if a tour bus had not shown up, who's tour guide had a code to get in. We called the number and a lady told us the combo to a safe in the lobby. Inside were a bunch of keys in envelopes with names on them. Once we found ours we wandered around the hallways until we found our room. Each hallway is on censored lights, so when you open a door to a hallway it is pitch black until you have walked five feet into it. It was really creepy. I did not feel safe at this hotel. If there is no one to help you at the front desk then what would you do in an emergency? We should have stayed right in Avignon, it is a beautiful cobblestone street town with many shops and cafes. And there is no shortage of hotels there, with front desk service. Our hotel was fairly clean, but creepy lighting, and no front desk service after sundown. Do yourself a favour and stay in Avignon, where there are many reasonable hotels. Stay here only if you are arriving late by train (and know how to get into your hotel room,) and you are leaving the next morning. Also if you are looking for WIFI. It is only available in the lobby....sometimes.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Avignon hotels

Planet Earth
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2010

The hotel is good but there are no people at reception at night and early morning. The location in relatively close to the TGV train station but far from the walled city. There is bus route to the walled city very close to the hotel. There is no fruit nor ham in breakfast. The worst problem is lack of hot water at shower. I stayed 4 nights, at 2 night there was no hot water at all at shower. That was really terrible and made me a little sick.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2010

Despite letting them know we were arriving late, there was no one working at the hotel that we could find upon our arrival. We had to wait and finally call someone to get our room key out of an unmanned safe. Also, the taxi drivers are crooks.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2010

Very nice hotel for a very reasonable price. Stayed in a twin studio, which was a little small but not too bad, and more than made up for by having a kitchenette. Room and en suite both very clean, and staff were friendly. Only real downside is location - it's out of the town centre, so perhaps not so good for seeing Avignon itself, particularly in the evening. That said, it is right next to the TGV station and there is a very good shuttle bus service to and from the town centre, and it is pretty quiet whihc mean a good night's sleep. Not great for nightlife, then, but as a base for exploring the Provence area it is very good indeed.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
1.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Avignon Centre
0.2 mi away
Kyriad Avignon - Courtine Gare
5.5 mi away
Kyriad Avignon Nord Le Pontet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel Paradou
5.6 mi away
B&B Hotel Avignon 2
B&B Hotel Avignon 2
#7 of 10 in Le Pontet
74 reviews
2.9 mi away
ibis Styles Avignon Sud Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Adagio Access Avignon

Property: Adagio Access Avignon
Address: 6 avenue de la Gare, 84000, Avignon, France (Formerly Citea Avignon)
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Adagio Access Avignon 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Adagio Access Avignon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adagio Access Avignon Hotel Avignon
Citea Hotel Avignon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing