We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It only gets better!”
Review of Mas de Capelou

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mas de Capelou
Ranked #1 of 55 Avignon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“It only gets better!”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

2nd time here and truly, it only gets better, if that is at all possible... You can't get better than perfection! Jean-Pierre and Catherine are perfect hosts, catering to our every whim. The beauty and the peacefulness of the location, knowing that you are only 6 km from the center of Avignon is of great value. Beautiful area to go running as well! Breakfasts are delicious and such a treat to be able to eat outside at the end of October... The rooms are nicely decorated and are very comfortable with great amenities. Thank you to our hosts, know that we will be back and I am sure you will find creative ways to WOW us again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    24
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
113
139
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Mas de Capelou encapsulates the very best of French hospitality. I loved the fact we were staying in an old historic villa and yet we had all the modern conveniences we could need down to hairdryers. Our group was very comfortable, and looked after really well by the owner. Located so close to Avignon the villa is in a great location, just 10 minutes drive away from the historic city (a rental car would be preferable although you can take taxis), and it is also close to so many beautiful parts of Provence while being an oasis of calm and peace with its beautiful gardens and swimming pool. This location is ideal either for friends or family with a selection of apartments with varying sizes, and plenty of privacy and seclusion. A great base for a holiday exploring the riches of Provence.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This was my first visit to Mas de Capelou and certainly will not be my last. Clean, modern, spacious apartments with fully equipped kitchens, relaxing gardens and a lovely pool. The owner is accomodating and most generous which guarantees a wonderful stay. Our stay was especially memorable as we were able to escape the cool October temperatures of northern Europe and relax in late summer warmth at Mas de Capelou. The village of Avignon is a fairly short drive away. I believe it is possible to order a bus service in advance for trips into town. We used a taxi service once and it didn't cost an arm and a leg! Mas de Capelou will not disappoint!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We spent 5 nights in Mas de Capelou, and we had a great stay. The house is in a nice distance from Avignon (10 min), but you will need a car to move around easily. We stayed in a flat on first floor, if you issues with stairs you should request one of the flats downstairs. All flats are newly renovated and were clean and tidy. Since this was mid October I thought the house might get cold, but it was equipped with a heater that in the summer could be used as AC. The gardens were spacious and I would love to use the pool area when I come back next time. All in all I would recommend this place for anyone who cares for listening to my raving :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This was my 2nd time to Mas de Capelou and it will be the 2nd in a list of many! This place is truly wonderful, and possess all of the ingredients for a perfect stay. Everything there is about customer experience and ensuring that it is the best possible. The rooms are beautifully decorated in "provence" style and have all the amenities of a luxurious hotel! The swimming pool is nestled among big beautiful very old trees and when relaxing by the pool all I could think of is "what more can there be?" Heaven it is. Breakfasts are delicious with all the typical french pastries and an interesting array of jams. With a little advance notice, it is possible to schedule dinner there, which we did and it was truly divine... Homemade everything with local organic products and to die for wines --you must ask for the wine pairings!-- It will make the experience even grander (if that is possible). Well worth everything. See you soon Mas de Capelou and again, thank you!

Room Tip: Capeline is beautiful and perfect with kids!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2013

My partner and I came back in Montreal 2 weeks ago from the most extraordinary stay we ever had in France. We wanted to visit Avignon for 10 days and decided to stay at Le Mas de Capelou. We were not disappointed.

As a couple, Alice and I travelled a lot (USA, Canada, France, China, Singapore, Malaysia, Morocco, and much more). Over the years, our needs and standards improved and we became more demanding of our destinations of choice. Enter Le Mas.

Let's be clear: anyone who wants absolute perfection should come to le Mas de Capelou. It far exceeded our expectations. We were impressed at how the landlords could keep the traditional charm of the area while renovating it into a very modern and luxurious domain. The decor was excellent, very chic, yet cozy at the same time. The Mas was kept very clean all the time (one thing I am very sensitive to) and was far from the noise so you can enjoy a holiday of relaxation.

I would DEFINITELY recommend that you stay in an apartment. We stayed in the apartment Clementine. After speaking with Jean-Pierre and Catherine (the landlords), I learnt they were in the real estate business for 15 years, owning several properties also in Paris. They have a real sense of what someone would dream living in (luxury, space, furniture, decoration, independence). Le Clementine was extremely spacious, bright and very clean. The kitchen is fully equipped and we were able to do all of our cooking at home. The bedrooms were gorgeous and the beds are so comfortable!


Special praise should go to the customer service. Jean-Pierre & Catherine are extremely hospitable and kind. They offer every kind of services; breakfast, light meals, barbecues, wine-tasting… They always wanted to make sure everything was perfect for us.
If you have time you should really try what they call their ‘light meal’. We tried both options and they were actually beautiful plates with several incredible French cheeses and charcuteries, twice as good as a restaurant, and much cheaper. Feel free to ask Jean-Pierre for advice on wine.

During the day, you will often see them take very good care of their property. It is extremely pleasant to see landlords love and spoil their property and their clients this way. We felt privileged. Please take the time to ask them to tell you about the fine details that went into the renovations. You will be impressed by all the absolute thought that went into this amazing getaway.

It's also worth mentioning that they are both very pleasant, fun and life-loving people, eager to spark up a conversation. Ask them about their two daughters and their faces light up.

Le Mas de Capelou is a special, special place.

Room Tip: We went for the Clementine suite, which we definitely recommend. The view was great and the stay ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed two nights as part of a drive through southern France. This was only our second stay at a B & B type property and we were not disappointed. The house itself is lovely, and our room was a large room with it's own entrance and private terrace area. The room had a double bed and a smaller room with twin beds. Bathroom had a bath with hand shower. Styling was quite plain and modern with nice linens etc...small flat screen tv and dvd player.

Breakfast was taken outside but it was quite cold in September, jackets definitely needed at this time of year. Might be more pleasant in warmer weather. Nice breakfast with hot options if you wanted something more.

Pool and gardens areas are lovely, only spoilt by a lot of mosquito's in the area.

Property has wireless but unfortunately connection was terribly slow and unreliable, not available in our room only outside and in the reception area, the owner mentioned they are upgrading this which will be good as we couldn't even load pages to book a hotel for the next evening due to the slow connection.

All in all a good place to stay, good location in the country but only a 5 or 6 min drive to the parking area at the gates of Avignon old city and also Villeneuve des Avignon which is a lovely area.

Hosts were really nice and we would reccommend this property to friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
2.1 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
945 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
774 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 69 in Avignon
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#8 of 69 in Avignon
1,488 reviews
3.4 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
0.9 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Ferme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Mas de Capelou

Property: Mas de Capelou
Address: 1336 Chemin des Poiriers | Ile de la Barthelasse, 84000, Avignon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and discover the Mas of Capelou, a charming 17th century country mansion nestling in a magnificent 2ha domain of orchards. Located on the island of Barthelasse, facing the Cité des Papes, you will be in the heart of Provence and its numerous places of interest. The Mas is 5 mn (6 km) far from Avignon Old City center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Mas de Capelou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing