We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply a Joy!”
Review of Mas de Capelou

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mas de Capelou
Ranked #1 of 55 Avignon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Simply a Joy!”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

staying at Mas de Capelou for 3 days was wonderful and staying longer would have been heaven. Jean Pierre and his wife were delighful and made our stay even more pleasant. wonderful meal our first night with our own private chef. the garden is lovely and this was the perfect launching place for our daily activities. returning in the afternoon was even better.

Room Tip: we loved our room Capelou
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GinnyD1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    26
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
118
141
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, the Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We were lucky to stumble upon Mas de Capelou during our road trip through Provence. We could only stay one day, but it was fabulous. Mas de Capelou is located at an excellent spot and after entering though the gate we were amazed with the beautiful house and grounds. The house and the rooms are restored with great taste and comfort and eye for detail. Our room was beautiful and very spacious. The hosts gave us a warm welcome and we enjoyed a fantastic light lunch in the garden. We were also lucky enough to join the home-made dinner. Unfortunately we could't stay longer, but we will certainly return soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyskan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

This has been my 2nd time at le Mas de Capelou this year, and I can only say that it has been extraordinary. It is definitely not my last time.

Le Mas is located very close to Avignon and the villa is gorgeous: traditional yet incredibly modern, clean and spacious. You can see it was fully renovated recently. I really loved the property, huge, and LUXURIOUS! It is a very chic environment; pleasant to stay in as a couple, or with a small group. You can feel the landlords know how to please their customers. I stayed with a group of 3 friends and we were all amazed.

I also would like to insist on the customer service, which was excellent. I spoke to Jean-Pierre and Catherine that are very nice and thoughtful. They will offer you all kinds of services during your stay. We went to restaurants most of the time, and we honestly all regret it: our last day we tried their plate of cheese & charcuterie: incredibly delicious and fresh products, and much more affordable than the restaurants we went to. You also HAVE to try Catherine’s pies, made with fresh fruits that grow in their property. Jean-Pierre was very fun, and he gave us pieces of advice on French wines (that you can buy there, since they have a full collection).
We LOVED Le Mas de Capelou and we can’t wait to come back.

If you are going to Avignon, follow my advice and go there. You just cannot be disappointed!

Room Tip: If you can, you should definitely rent an apartment. They are spacious, renovated, and have a fully...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Everything about Mas de Capelou is charming. The villa was once an old priory and there is a sense of history everywhere. We stayed in one of the traditional rooms which was very quaint and beautiful, with four poster bed and elaborately-patterned original flooring. Breakfasts in the garden were delicious, and very relaxed--a good opportunity to chat with our hosts and other travellers. But the best part of our stay at Mas was meeting Jean-Pierre, our host. He gave us excellent advice about where to eat out and how to get around in busy Avignon. He was always there to make sure we had everything we needed, and he really helped us out on a couple of difficult travel issues. We recommend the Mas de Capelou highly, and will stay there again when we are travelling in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2013

2nd time here and truly, it only gets better, if that is at all possible... You can't get better than perfection! Jean-Pierre and Catherine are perfect hosts, catering to our every whim. The beauty and the peacefulness of the location, knowing that you are only 6 km from the center of Avignon is of great value. Beautiful area to go running as well! Breakfasts are delicious and such a treat to be able to eat outside at the end of October... The rooms are nicely decorated and are very comfortable with great amenities. Thank you to our hosts, know that we will be back and I am sure you will find creative ways to WOW us again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rafael r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Mas de Capelou encapsulates the very best of French hospitality. I loved the fact we were staying in an old historic villa and yet we had all the modern conveniences we could need down to hairdryers. Our group was very comfortable, and looked after really well by the owner. Located so close to Avignon the villa is in a great location, just 10 minutes drive away from the historic city (a rental car would be preferable although you can take taxis), and it is also close to so many beautiful parts of Provence while being an oasis of calm and peace with its beautiful gardens and swimming pool. This location is ideal either for friends or family with a selection of apartments with varying sizes, and plenty of privacy and seclusion. A great base for a holiday exploring the riches of Provence.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoelleHar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This was my first visit to Mas de Capelou and certainly will not be my last. Clean, modern, spacious apartments with fully equipped kitchens, relaxing gardens and a lovely pool. The owner is accomodating and most generous which guarantees a wonderful stay. Our stay was especially memorable as we were able to escape the cool October temperatures of northern Europe and relax in late summer warmth at Mas de Capelou. The village of Avignon is a fairly short drive away. I believe it is possible to order a bus service in advance for trips into town. We used a taxi service once and it didn't cost an arm and a leg! Mas de Capelou will not disappoint!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
2.1 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
955 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
784 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 69 in Avignon
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#6 of 69 in Avignon
1,510 reviews
3.4 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
2.8 mi away
La Mirande Hotel
La Mirande Hotel
#8 of 69 in Avignon
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mas de Capelou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mas de Capelou

Property: Mas de Capelou
Address: 1336 Chemin des Poiriers | Ile de la Barthelasse, 84000, Avignon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and discover the Mas of Capelou, a charming 17th century country mansion nestling in a magnificent 2ha domain of orchards. Located on the island of Barthelasse, facing the Cité des Papes, you will be in the heart of Provence and its numerous places of interest. The Mas is 5 mn (6 km) far from Avignon Old City center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Mas de Capelou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing