We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of Le Mas de l'ile

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Mas de l'ile
Ranked #5 of 53 Avignon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Denmark
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We had a excellent stay at Le Mas de l'ile.. Valerie, the owner is very service minded and our breakfast was amazing with amost everything selfmade by Valerie. Our room Clean and warm with view to the pool great too... Go there and you will not be disappointed

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roca_dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
33
85
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Beautiful property, great breakfasts, beautiful rooms and yard. The location is in the "countryside"yet within a 5 minute drive to get to free parking, where you cross bridge to the old city.avignon. We had a beautiful big rm with very large bathroom, and our own porch. Breakfasts were outstanding. Homemade baking, fresh OJ, homemade jam, all eaten under a pergola.Valerie, the owner was wonderful, and she made excellent suggestions. She takes great care to make sure you have everything you need for a first rate vacation.

Room Tip: all rooms are great. We stayed in iris suitable for a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giveret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dieppe, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We recently stayed 2 nights at the Mas de l’Ile in Avignon. The house is located only a few minutes from downtown Avignon by crossing the bridge. We really, really, really enjoyed our stay at the Mas de l’Ile. Everything was perfect and we felt like we were in another world on a resort. The house is beautiful and the landscape and grounds impeccable. The pool is perfect and a great place to relax in at the of the day. Our room (Iris) was very spacious, the bed was super comfortable and the bathroom was huge. We had access to a fridge which was great to store a few cold drinks or some snacks.

The host Valerie and her husband Laurent were absolutely great. It was so nice to be able to chat with them. One of our favorite parts of our stay here was the breakfast that Valerie served each morning... so good! I would highly recommend the Mas de l’Ile and would definitely return if ever we travel back to Avignon.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We stayed 3 nights at this beautiful B&B in May. The Poppies with 2 connected rooms was just right for our family of 4. The rooms are very tastefully done up in local style. The bathroom is excellent - the best we had on our trip.

Valerie's breakfast is outstanding - with breads and cakes and jams home made by her. And the setting for the breakfast - in the Gazebo is just delightful. There was also outdoor seating at the rear facing the pool, and in the right weather it would make a nice setting for an outdoor drink or meal.
The property is on a river island just across the river from the main highlight in Avignon-the papal castle. It's little more than a 5minute drive from here to Avignon town, so a car is a must if you are staying here. It's a quiet location away from the bustle of the town and we encountered several people cycling along the idyllic roads of the island.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vetrismv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We travelled with our 10 mth old baby to stay here for the first week of our holiday. Valerie was so accommodating towards us and extremely helpful. We stayed in the poppy room which has two separate sections and perfect for us. This place was truly relaxing and we enjoyed many afternoons by the pool after mornings touring nearby towns. Valerie was kind to print maps for us and make suggestions which were great. This is a perfect place to base your trip from and the surrounding trees and natural setting make it even more relaxing! A couple of tips... Always turn up to breakfast hungry (they are delicious!), have a car to tour nearby towns and do visit the restaurant l'Essential which is Avignon and the highlight meal of our trip! There is no tv so bring books! Enjoy!

Room Tip: If you are a family the poppy room is great though there is no tv which was fine for us and there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichandSav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beausoleil, Monaco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in this amazing B&B. Our room had been recently renovated à la provençal (bright colors and sunflowers) which was tastefully done.

The highlight however is outdoor breakfast under the gazebo. All the ingredients are freshly made by your hostess Valerie, who is happy to chat to guests and answer any questions about the area. Freshly made juice, jams, cakes and yogurts are a great way to kickstart your day!

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank da_mozza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasper, Georgia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Fabulous, beautiful B&B just outside Avignon. We stayed in "The Poppies" for three nights. The rooms were large, beautifully decorated and spotless every day, with a designer bathroom with a walk-in shower. After a day of exploring the old town or other sights in the area, it was so relaxing to sit at our table by the pool sipping some wine--and feeling sorry for the poor travelers who chose to stay at in-town hotels! Valarie and her husband were perfectly charming and she went to a great deal of trouble to track down a laundramat for us in a nearby suburb. Don't miss Valarie's breakfasts! From the fresh fruit salads with homemade yogurt to the homemade preserves with some of Valarie's sweet breads, you will love it all. One of the best B&B experiences we've had.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kayhawk53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
3.8 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
931 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
770 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#6 of 69 in Avignon
1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
0.8 mi away
Aux Augustins
Aux Augustins
#2 of 53 in Avignon
241 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mas de Capelou
Mas de Capelou
#1 of 53 in Avignon
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Mas de l'ile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mas de l'ile

Property: Le Mas de l'ile
Address: Ile de la Barthelasse | 1261, Chemin des Canotiers, 84000, Avignon, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An entirely restored 19th-century country house surrounded by fine grounds with many trees, and offering you unforgettable stays in one of its four superb rooms, all air-conditioned and with individual bathrooms. Plentiful breakfasts, including homemade jams and local produce, are served on the terrace, in front of the pool or under the pergola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Mas de l'ile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing