We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but limited menu”
Review of L'Epicerie

L'Epicerie
Ranked #43 of 618 Restaurants in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$47
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Very good but limited menu”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We went on trip advisor ratings and it was near by. Couldn't get in the first night and made a reservation the next. One of the highlights was it's location on a Place that is fairly private next to one of the beautiful churches. It was lovely to sit outside and just relax. The food was good but as I remember there were only 6-7 choices on the menu and if you're not fairly adventurous you might find it a bit limited. Now when I say adventurous it's not that it's got a wild menu, but they had that night 1 duck entree, 1 veal entree, one fish entree, one beef entree, 1 pasta entree, and one sampler entree.

The staff didn't speak a lot of English but were helpful anyway. I remember the evening and the location more than the food, but the food was good just not outstanding.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank apinnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    331
    75
    39
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Fantastic find”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This restaurant is situated in a tiny quaint square away from the touristy overpriced run of the mill restaurants in place d'horloge. It was so good that we ate there al fresco twice. The menu was varied and every plate came out looking beautifully presented and alluring. Hard to choose! The first night we went for fish as had been a hard very hot day getting to Avignon due to the rail strikes and we were tired. The sea bream was excellent. Our last night we really did justice to the menu! We shared as a starter une assiette complète, with humous, tapenade, melon, savoury crème brûlée, Parma ham, roasted tomatoes, and salad. Very unusual. Then moved on to filet steak with foie gras sauce, cooked to perfection as requested. And the deserts were works of art and equally delicious. There was no formule menu. All a la carte however the carafes of wine, very acceptable, meant that the final bill was very reasonable for the quality of the meal. The staff were friendly and attentive, and there was a great ambiance. I would return like a shot if ever in Avignon again

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cracow
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Not so great”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Not the highlight of our culinary experiences in Avignon. Starting with the fact that it was difficult to communicate with the waiter even in my certainly not perfect French (it seemed if your French was not excellent she would make no effort to try to understand), let alone English, and continuing with the food, which was not bad, but nothing special, I would say there are better places to eat in Avignon.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrollton, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Had to go back one more time”
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

This tiny restaurant is the epitome of an intimate French cafe. Every dish for everyone in our party of four was excellent. It was so good, we went back again a few days later despite the abundance of great restaurants in this city. Great food at reasonable prices.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“An excellent dinner.”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

A friend of ours who lives in Avignon recommended this restaurant to us for dinner on a Sunday evening. It was a great meal. In particular, the duck was superb. Cooked to perfection, good selection of side vegetables and presented like a cook book photograph. Entrees were also well prepared. We thanked our friend for the recommendation, for this was one of our nicest meals in Provence. And we shouldn't forget the waitress. She was a delightful and very helpful young lady.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GregandWinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Epicerie also viewed

 
Avignon, Vaucluse
Avignon, Vaucluse
 

Been to L'Epicerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing