We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for a light meal”
Review of Ginette et Marcel

Ginette et Marcel
Ranked #34 of 597 Restaurants in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great for a light meal”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Very cute little corner place in the square. Great service, reasonable prices. They specialize in Tartines - all different flavors including sweet and savory. They've got a decent choice of desserts as well. We ate there 3 times and it was delicious every time. It's not too heavy either. Great for a light lunch or dinner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nadine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    387
    511
    97
    38
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Tartines”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I ate here twice during last years festival and it will be my first stop next time I'm in Avignon.

The food is simple and service quick.

They have a great variety of tartines and everything is fairly priced.

A perfect pit-stop.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eva75004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Quintessential”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

We had lunch here twice, on what is the quintessential French square with a fountain in the middle. The food, mainly tartines, is simple yet delicious. The platter with cheese, salami and pate was my favourite. Lovely service as well. Enjoy!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Koenvdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
140 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Amazing little cafe”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We found this café by accident and just loved it!

Its small but an amazing setup - full of locals with a wide variety of food to choose from.

We started off with soup then a mixed platter which was fantastic.

The desert choices were even better - amazing pastries and cakes all made in the store. The staff were really helpful given that we could not speak French.

What a find! - highly recommend this place!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sydney1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Pleasant square, basic food”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Very pleasant surroundings and staff. We all went for tartines which are pretty basic, but good value if on a budget.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ginette et Marcel also viewed

 
Avignon, Vaucluse
Avignon, Vaucluse
 

Been to Ginette et Marcel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing