We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Lovely”
Review of La Violette

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Avignon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Violette
Ranked #26 of 57 Avignon B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 May 2012

What a delightful stay we had at La Violette during the last 4 nights of April. And I am not going to hold back - It was as close to perfect as we have ever had. In fact, we stayed in 8 different spots (7 b&bs and an apartment) during our month-long travels through Spain and France, and in retrospect, La Violette was easily the highlight of them all. Have you ever stayed at a place in which live classical music wafted through the halls? How about being served a lovely flower-filled basket of fruits, breads, jams, eggs, and coffee on a sun-dappled terrace each morning? What about being picked up at the train station on your arrival, then brought back again for your departure? To have experienced each of these is something rare, but to have experienced all of them in one spot is incredible.

We owe all of this to our talented, artistic, energetic, athletic, and charismatic Isabelle, to her partner Jean-Bernard (I think that's right. Apologies if I forgot), and to their wonderful and wonderfully talented children. Merci mille fois to the whole family - We certainly hope to return one day.

Practical observations: Bathroom very clean (as were all the rooms), ample space. Very comfy beds and bedroom. Coffee-maker and small fridge in room too. (Very handy!) La Violette is a short walk outside the Avignon walls, which I consider a plus. Nice to come "home" to such a quiet spot after the energy spent sightseeing. Very close to the local train and bus stations too. You will likely want to do a couple of day trips, and there are some great choices.

I have posted many reviews here on TA, but for the first time, I am going to submit photos. It is not letting me load more than three (?!), so these are my choices. I hope they will in some small way give you a glimpse into this wonderful world of La Violette. Enjoy!

Room Tip: We stayed in the room with private terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank playaguya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 18 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2011

We have enjoyed a very pleasant stay at La Violetta in October. It is excellently situated near the old town, the train- and busstation. Thanks to th e nice weather we were able to enjoy the swimmingpool and the bicycles, which were kindly made available by the hostess. We welcomed her advice on cultural and architectural places of interest and saw the nicest palces and musea in and outside Avignon. Highly recommendable!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cws_zakelijk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Our visit to La Violette was our first to a B&B and I'm afraid we are now spoiled forever. Our lovely hostess, Isabelle, is charming and very knowledgeable about Avignon and the surrounding area. She told us of Avignon's history and shared with us things to see and do (and what to avoid) including visits to towns a short bus/train ride away. She supplied maps and brochures and made helpful restaurant/cafe recommendations. Also important was our lovely room with a balcony with views of the garden that we used every morning and evening and the delicious and hearty breakfast delivered to our room. We very much enjoyed our stay with Isabelle and recommend La Violette highly!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vivian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

The rooms are beautiful; the garden is peaceful; the house feels a real home from home, and is only a few minutes walk to the old town and to the train/bus station. Breakfast is brought to your room on a tray and is to die for. Your hostess -Isabelle- is just fantastic. She took time to tell us all about Avignon- sites, restaurants, cafes, bars- and gave us relevant maps. She suggested various trips- Arle (excellent lunch at Fad 'Oli), L'Isle sur la Sorgue (antiques and the best chocolate ice cream)- and was spot on with all of them. She walked us to the difficult to find shops, and took us to the local market, and generally made sure that we were looked after.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank drg1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Spent five nights at La Violette and can highly recommend it to people wanting a warm welcome and comfortable place to stay. I had the room with the balcony where I enjoyed Isabelle's generous and delicious breakfast provisions each morning. The house is rambling and full of treasures and the smell of lavender, not to mention the beautiful, delicate sounds of the piano, played by Isabelle's daughter who is a wonderful young musician. Isabelle picked us up from the station and dropped us at the TGV on our departure. Isabelle was genuinely interested in us and wanted to make sure we had everything we needed. She was a valuable resource when it came to deciding what to see and do in the area and even made us dinner one night when we returned 'home' at the end of the day too tired to think about going out again. Many thanks Isabelle for making our stay so memorable. Maybe we will see you in Australia one day and we promise that Skippy will not be on the menu!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Warm and comfortable welcome; suited best for quiet visitors and for those who can appreciate the proprietor's intelligence, generosity, and grace. Only drawback for some might be the location--which requires walking on and crossing some high traffic streets to reach the walled city.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
2  Thank haragirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2011

Tonight is our last night in Avignon, and it is with great sadness that I say farewell to this enchanting city. Our stay at La Violette provided us with a taste of the warmest of provencal hospitality. Isabelle is not just a delighful hostess but a true ambassador of Provence. She provided us guidance and suggestions that only enriched our experience. Our room was suitable for a small family and not only was it beautifully decorated 'a la provencale', of course, but provided us with the kind of conveniences that we are used to at home: from plenty of fresh towels, freshly cut flowers and a fruit basket, to an electric caraffe to brew our own tea and a small fridge stocked with orange juice and yogurt. We had breakfast on our balcony just outside our room. It was plentiful and delicious. I wholeheartily recommend La Violette to any visitor to Avignon who wishes to stay off the beaten path and experience the warmest of hospitalities.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gableslili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
2.6 mi away
Bastide Valentine
Bastide Valentine
#1 of 2 in Montfavet
59 reviews
1 mi away
L'ilot Bambou
L'ilot Bambou
#5 of 57 in Avignon
174 reviews
2.5 mi away
La Bastide des Anges
La Bastide des Anges
#8 of 57 in Avignon
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Au coeur d'Avignon
Au coeur d'Avignon
#25 of 57 in Avignon
12 reviews
0.6 mi away
Autour du Petit Paradis
Autour du Petit Paradis
#4 of 57 in Avignon
386 reviews
2.9 mi away
Domaine de Rhodes
Domaine de Rhodes
#3 of 57 in Avignon
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Violette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Violette

Address: 26 avenue de la Violette, 84000, Avignon, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Avignon
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing