We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chance encounter” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avignon Synagogue

Avignon Synagogue
Ranked #37 of 88 things to do in Avignon
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 19th-century synagogue, built on the site of a much older one that had been destroyed by a fire, reflects the ancient roots of Jewish culture in Avignon.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Chance encounter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

On the morning of Saturday November 19, 2011 on our way to Les Halles we encountered the Avignon Synagogue. We could not resist entering and did so. The service was in progress and we were met in the small foyer outside of the sanctuary. After a brief discussion we told the greeter that we would like to participate and we were invited into the sanctuary. Madam was invited to join the women in the balcony and she reported they were all friendly and welcoming. I sat downstairs. The bema is in the center and the congregation sits in a circle around. The synagogue dates from the late 1840's, has a lovely sanctuary, and is on a list of French historical buildings. We were lucky to have had this chance encounter. (Nov 19, 2011. The choice for a visit this long ago was not an option in this review)

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank farbman7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    14
    6
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
194 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“An interesting visit to the Avignon Synagogue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Avignon has had a Jewish community for over a thousand years, a synagogue for I think about 800 years. The current building was started around 1765. The interior is simple and beautiful. Some years ago, they discovered the oven used to bake matzah, which you can see. If you want to visit, go to the building Mon-Fri between 9AM and 11AM, and ring the bell on the smaller green door (to the right of the large door). The staff was friendly and helpful. When we were there, no one spoke English (we speak enough French to get information, e.g. the nearest kosher butcher is in Marseille, and there is an English written sheet with information). The plaque of those lost during the war is very moving.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank pgscmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portlaoise
Level Contributor
124 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Interesting History”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Very interesting to find out the history of this building. Didn't get to go inside but it looks amazing.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivor O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
124 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“we asked for visit, but no responce”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

We were visiting Avignon for a week. In advance we wrote e-mail to Synagogue asking permission to visit. However, we have never got a response.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank travelovemn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
253 reviews
115 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Fascinating.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

A fascinating view of the Jewish community in southern France. Staff were welcoming and helpful. While the original synagogue dates back to 1221, it was destroyed by fire in 1845. The new building that replaced it it in a non-traditional neo-classical style. Well worth a visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank metaligenics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Avignon Synagogue also viewed

 

Been to Avignon Synagogue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing