We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very well located right by the Palais des Papes and Place de Horloge.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Avignon Centre Palais des Papes
Ranked #13 of 68 Hotels in Avignon
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed at this very good Mercure for a week as part of an independent group of travellers. My friend and I were very impressed by the excellent location of the hotel which is so convenient for walking to all major tourist sites of the city. Our room which was on the front of the hotel was sometimes subject to a little early morning noise from local cleansing and recycling vehicles but this could be overcome by closing the window and keeping the a/c on. The room was very well appointed, including, unusually, a kettle for tea/coffee making. Bathroom spacious, toilet cublcle not so roomy but was not a problem - could be if one is on the more "ample" size. Breakfast buffet could do with a little tweak to the layout to ease queues when busy but we could not fault the selection of food provided which catered for a wide range of tastes. All the staff we encountered were very helpful and appeared to be happy in their work.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaïs K, Responsable réception at Mercure Avignon Centre Palais des Papes, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Sir,

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
As you appreciate it, I confirm that all the Mercure hotels have tea and coffe facilities in all their rooms.
We hope to see you again in a close future.
Best regards

Anaïs KAUFFMANN
Front of house Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (837)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 837 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014


AWESOME LOCATION
Steps from Cite des Papes, Place de l'Horloge, the Rhône river, Pont Saint-Bénézet, and shopping (high end and small souvenirs).

CONVENIENCE
The staff is attentive, friendly, and speaks English. (Whew!)

Room Tip: DECENT ROOMS Clean, modern, and comfortable. Anybody who stays in their room and doesn't explor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels
Thank HappyTraveler679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaïs K, Responsable réception at Mercure Avignon Centre Palais des Papes, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

We thank you for your nice comment and hope to welcome you again for your next stay ! Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Great location. We had a fantastic time in Avignon. The hotel is within the walls of the old city. Beautiful place great food. The rooms were very good. Staff were friendly except for one woman who worked at breakfast time. She upset a lot of people. But hey you get the odd one every now and again.

Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaïs K, Responsable réception at Mercure Avignon Centre Palais des Papes, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and looking forward to welcome you again. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is the best located hotel in Avignon, right next to the Papal Palace and so conveniently placed to get around the city. But, access is not easy since many of the roads are narrow and you may find yourself pulling your bag for some distance, it is noisy in the morning, when reversing rubbish trucks have their warning alarm going at 5 o'clock, the bins clatter and if your window is open smells can be a little wiffy, and at night when there can be late night activity in the Square. On a more positive note, staff are really helpful, wi-fi access is good, breakfasts are good with especially good croissants and the shower in our room provided a deluge of hot water. I hate the paper cups Mercure provide, they can't be re-used and are awful but that doesn't just relate to this hotel. Typical money saving because it takes time to wash crockery. On balance this is a good tourist hotel that comes with drawbacks.

Room Tip: Hard to say what to avoid because both front and back can be noisy. Ear plugs are a good option!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaïs K, Responsable réception at Mercure Avignon Centre Palais des Papes, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Madam, dear Sir,
We apologies for the inconvenience because of our situation in the city center.
However we want to thank you for your nice comment regarding our services.
We hope to welcome you again for your next stay in Avignon !
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Charlene W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Anaïs K, Responsable réception at Mercure Avignon Centre Palais des Papes, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 5 nights and while the staff were helpful and courteous the hotel did not live up to a four star rating. The air conditioning was problematic. The TV did not work properly on some nights. The bathroom design in some rooms just did not work. Not the provenance experience we were looking for.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grrdobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaïs K, Responsable réception at Mercure Avignon Centre Palais des Papes, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

We thank you for your comments which help us to improve our services. We are sorry for the inconvenience you experimented. We are working on a new offer for our TV, it should arrive very soon. And since your stay, a company specialized in air conditionning went to check every room and make the necessary work. We hope that this experience will not forbid you to stay again in Mercure Hotels. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

front facing room was well appointed but small bath had no tub but huge shower with rain fixture very nice breakfast was outstanding nice room and presentation downside was keeping window open with noisy garbage collection in wee hours next to main square which was lively with restaurants and close to great shopping. felt safe staff was friendly and helpful with restaurant reservations great area would stay again

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emorga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaïs K, Responsable réception at Mercure Avignon Centre Palais des Papes, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Madam, Sir,

Thank you for your comments.

We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay in Avignon!

We hope to welcome you again at the hotel! Kind regards!

The Mercure Cité des Papes team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#5 of 68 in Avignon
1,615 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 68 in Avignon
818 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 68 in Avignon
797 reviews
3.5 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Avignon Centre Palais des Papes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Avignon Centre Palais des Papes

Address: 1 rue Jean Vilar | GPS: Hotel:Rue Molière / Parking:Parking Palais des Papes, 84000, Avignon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Avignon
Price Range: £68 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Avignon Centre Palais des Papes 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A privileged location in the heart of the city. The Mercure Avignon Centre Palais des Papes is situated on the Place de l'Horloge square, the vibrant centre of the old city with its theatre and numerous cafes. Close by is the Palais des Papes, or Palace of the Popes, incorporating the International Convention Centre. All in all, this hotel is the ideal place to discover the charms of the city and make the most of your visit to Avignon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Avignon Centre Palais des Papes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Avignon Cite Des Papes Hotel Avignon
Accor Avignon Cite Des Papes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing