We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully situated, but basic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Avignon Centre Palais des Papes
Ranked #16 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Sydney
Level Contributor
112 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beautifully situated, but basic”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Good service but otherwise not really four star. The room safe was not bolted down which did nothing for security and the room was very small. Everything worked but one night was enough.The air conditioning only worked when full on, so the room was hot.

Room Tip: Make sure the air conditioning works in your room. It did not in ours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toby21Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaïs K, Responsable réception at Mercure Avignon Centre Palais des Papes, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Madam, dear Sir,
Thank you for your comment.
Be assured that the necessary corrective measures have already been taken about the safe and air conditioning in your room to ensure that the quality level meets your expectations and earns your trust when you next stay with us.
Looking forward to welcoming you again for your next stay in Avignon.
Best regards
Anaïs Kauffmann
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    334
    162
    46
    26
See reviews for
107
398
54
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Nice staff but towels small and thin (1 star quality and quantity). Plastic water glass and paper cup for coffee. Rooms very small especially bathrooms.
Plus side - wonderful location and great makeup mirror.

Room Tip: See above comment on towels. Overpriced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaïs K, Responsable réception at Mercure Avignon Centre Palais des Papes, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Madam,
I woud like to apologize if the service did not meet your expectations and thank you for your comment which help us to improve our services.
Be assured that we have well noted what you have pointed.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avignon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

What I liked: clean, great location.
What we didn't like: AC doesn't work in any room. I get conservation but four ice cubes would have cooled these very small rooms. Mattress on wood platform, not comfortable. Get ready to drag luggage on cobble stone roads for a while, don't get why. A nice dressed two star. Don't stay here! Don't be fooled by four and five stars.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dnichols14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaïs K, Responsable réception at Mercure Avignon Centre Palais des Papes, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Sir, dear Madam,
We would like to thank you for your comments and we deeply apologies for the inconvenience during your stay.
Since your stay a company specialized in air conditionnig went to check all the rooms and done the work when needed. Everything is now in order.
Nevertheless we hope that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that this bad experience will not forbid you from coming back.
We remain yours sincerely,
Anaïs KAUFMMANN - Responsable Hébergement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The hotel is very close to the Palais des Papes which is the highlight attraction in Avignon.
Restaurant, supermarkets, and shops are in walking distance, very convenient.
The room was clean, the staff was nice, friendly and able to speak English.
I stayed in the right corner of the hotel which it was bigger than others room and I could see the Popes' palace and people eating at one of the best restaurant in town.
Breakfast was also nice. I stayed for 5 nights and enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Rooms on the right corner are larger than rooms in the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie89302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaïs K, Responsable réception at Mercure Avignon Centre Palais des Papes, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you very much ! I hope to see you soon at Mercure Avignon Cité des Papes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
140 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This was our second visit to this hotel. This time we were in a renovated room and loved it!!

The room was spacious, clean and modern. We had a room that overlooked the main street which was great.

We found the staff to be attentive and friendly and the breakfast provided was awesome.

The location of this hotel is the best for visiting Avignon - right next to the Palace of the Popes (a must visit). Hotel Wifi was great and the parking was reasonably priced.

We really enjoyed this hotel and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sydney1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaïs K, Responsable réception at Mercure Avignon Centre Palais des Papes, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
THANK YOU !
We are looking forward to welcome you for your third visit !
Best regards,

The team of Mercure Cité des Papes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed at this very good Mercure for a week as part of an independent group of travellers. My friend and I were very impressed by the excellent location of the hotel which is so convenient for walking to all major tourist sites of the city. Our room which was on the front of the hotel was sometimes subject to a little early morning noise from local cleansing and recycling vehicles but this could be overcome by closing the window and keeping the a/c on. The room was very well appointed, including, unusually, a kettle for tea/coffee making. Bathroom spacious, toilet cublcle not so roomy but was not a problem - could be if one is on the more "ample" size. Breakfast buffet could do with a little tweak to the layout to ease queues when busy but we could not fault the selection of food provided which catered for a wide range of tastes. All the staff we encountered were very helpful and appeared to be happy in their work.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaïs K, Responsable réception at Mercure Avignon Centre Palais des Papes, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Sir,

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
As you appreciate it, I confirm that all the Mercure hotels have tea and coffe facilities in all their rooms.
We hope to see you again in a close future.
Best regards

Anaïs KAUFFMANN
Front of house Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#5 of 69 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,419 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre
0.5 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kyriad Avignon - Palais Des Papes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Avignon Centre Palais des Papes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Avignon Centre Palais des Papes

Property: Mercure Avignon Centre Palais des Papes
Address: 1 rue Jean Vilar | GPS: Hotel:Rue Molière / Parking:Parking Palais des Papes, 84000, Avignon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Avignon Centre Palais des Papes 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A privileged location in the heart of the city. The Mercure Avignon Centre Palais des Papes is situated on the Place de l'Horloge square, the vibrant centre of the old city with its theatre and numerous cafes. Close by is the Palais des Papes, or Palace of the Popes, incorporating the International Convention Centre. All in all, this hotel is the ideal place to discover the charms of the city and make the most of your visit to Avignon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Avignon Centre Palais des Papes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Avignon Cite Des Papes Hotel Avignon
Accor Avignon Cite Des Papes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing