We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Avignon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis
Ranked #15 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Spent two separate nights in Avignon as part of a cycling trip. One night in the newer area and one in the tower suite.

New area was nice and clean. Spacious enough for the two of us. No complaints. Interesting room design. Very modern. Nice view of courtyard.

Pool area was great especially during those hot days.

Breakfast was great. Didnt get dinner there but the menu looked great and the courtyard looked like a nice place for a meal

The tower suite was amazing. Very spacious and the perfect place to end our cycling trip.

Would return if I ever get back to Avignon

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TMD2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (879)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

349 - 355 of 879 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2011

My husband and I spent 3 nights at this hotel. We stayed in the new wing, the room was nice and large but without very austere. My one complaint of the room (and it seems all hotels have the same problem) is the lighting in the bathrooms, absolute nightmare trying to apply my daily make-up. The other complaint was the hot water for the tea at breakfast; The tea bag would just not infuse so consequently made a lousy cup of warm dishwater like tea, but apart from that, the staff were pleasant and helpful, and all in all had a lovely time in Avignon.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 72margarita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

I would give them a 5 points if I had stayed in one of their exclusive or deluxe room.
If you can afford to pay one of this 2 rooms, you must stay in this place.
I booked the superior room and I admit These rooms are outside the standard of the whole purpose of this place, it seems an attachment that does not belong to the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erubin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

I chose the Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis when I saw the pictures of the courtyard. However, they don't do it justice! It's a magic place. The hotel was fine, comfortable, air conditioning when it was really needed, clean. But the magic is in the outdoor surroundings and the location.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJV1426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

My wife and I stayed here. in a superior room for seven days. This was because the more highly-rated (and mostly cheaper) hotels in Avignon were fully booked in late September. The hotel is well-situated for easy access to all the major attractions. Our room was quiet and functional but without any charm. No separate shower room and shower above the bath was very inconveniently placed. Not at all what we expected in a 4 star hotel.

The buffet breakfast was disastrous, but room service breakfast was consistently fast and good. The hotel is obviously aimed at the corporate market, and the expected warm welcome that one expects in Provence was conspicuous by its absence.

Staff were not happy - perhaps a by-product of the French labour laws.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

stayed 7 nights after 7 nights in le pontet location ok we thought we would be staying in
cloisters not a prison block the corridors outside our rooms were metal floors with metal staircases just like one sees in prison films every time i left my room expected to see the girls from cell block h walking towards me the metal slats at my windows did not work properley
so had to peer like key hole kate through the slats the restaurant and bar was closed most of the week due to some reunion lucky us because the food or lack of it was a disgrace we paid up front for breakfast and i never had a cup of tea as water always ran out or the tea
bags or cups plastic ham was awful as was so called scrambled eggs one day did see one sausage or maybe it was a mirage only good point exellent reception staff avoid this hotel

Room Tip: old part of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank smith_frederick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

The hotel is housed in a magnificent building within a minutes or two of the Central (not TGV) station. The modern wing has quite large rooms, austerily decorated. Small modern bathrooms suffer from a basic failing that the shower doors do not meet in the middle, creating a slippery trap on the polished tiled floor. Staff are very snooty and the bar maid was totally indifferent to her guests. Resting on their laurels methinks. Location is pretty good, although this area of the city is a little seedy.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SB01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#6 of 69 in Avignon
1,593 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
0.1 mi away
Avignon Grand Hotel
Avignon Grand Hotel
#19 of 69 in Avignon
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
809 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 69 in Avignon
781 reviews
3.6 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis

Address: 20 Rue du Portail Boquier, 84000, Avignon, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Avignon
Price Range: £74 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our charming hotel, Cloitre Saint-Louis, is located in a 16th century building and combines historic and modern structures in the heart of Avignon. Initially a Jesuit novitiate, Cloitre Saint-Louis became a military hospital in addition to an annexe of the Hotel des Invalides in Paris over the course of several centuries. Looking like new after a thorough renovation, Cloitre Saint-Louis has been a cultural centre and 4-star hotel since 1991. Come and discover the Provencal art of living during your enchanted stay at Cloitre Saint-Louis, only two steps away from the Palais des Papes (Pope's Palace) and famous bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Avignon
Avignon Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing