We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool but needs a bit of help”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis
Ranked #11 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Sechelt, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Cool but needs a bit of help”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

I am glad we stayed here but not sure if we would again. Luckily we got a real good last minute price on this place as we would've not felt it worth it to pay full price. I must admit it was great to enjoy the gorgeous setting of the hotel, really truly beautiful. We had a room (that needed a bit of TLC) in the old section in the turret part, it had allot of character and was huge by European standards. The shower room and the W/C were on a lower floor which was kind of cool but unfortunately the shower was quite moldy and the lever holding the shower head was broken so that was a bit goofy.

I must say that the staff were excellent though and with their directions the parking was super easy to find.

We did not eat there as we found it too expensive. You can walk 3 minutes from the hotel to a small brasserie and have a croissant and coffee for 2 people for 6 euros as opposed to 17 euros per person at the hotel.

This place wasn't horrible it was just ok. I would certainly not pay full price.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joh_Joh_Bean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AAB2, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear guest,

We thank you for your feedback about your stay in the Avignon Grand Hôtel. We attach lot of importance in our guest comments. This kind of feeling permit to always remain vigilant to maintain our gains.
We are delighted to read that you appreciated the charm of the cloister, the size of our room, and the helpfulness of our staff!
We would like to extend our sincere apologies for the inconveniences that you experienced in your room. We do our best for this kind of experience is no longer possible.

We hope to see you again.

With our best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    277
    170
    96
    38
See reviews for
94
435
28
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis in Avignon, inside the walled city from October 26-28, 2013. It's a great, quiet location conveniently situated about 2 blocks from the main train station (not the high-speed, TGV station), one block from the Tourism Office (which is a great resource) with access to the Main Street.

Anissa and Sebastian at the reception were very helpful and Fanny, the breakfast attendant, was very attentive.

The breakfast offering was very high quality and our dining experience at the hotel, the evening of our arrival, was excellent.

We had a room in the 'modern section' which was fine, although somewhat dark. The Wi-Fi was weak and should be upgraded to provide a consistent and strong signal.

Overall, the benefits of the property, staff and location far outweighed any limitations we experienced from this former monastery converted to a hotel...but, it needs attention in a number of areas.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bjwdrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

There is a very beautiful courtyard surrounded by the monastery. The rooms are unique and ours was small, but don't go when it is warm. We had the air from our open window at night and that was all. There was a very nice breakfast in the morning for an extra charge. They had eggs, bacon, sausage, all kinds of breads, baked goods, cheeses,cold meats, juices, fruit and cereal. The best part was eating in the dining room overlooking the courtyard. There is a beautiful fountain in the middle of the courtyard. It is peaceful but I would book a superior room not a regular room.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank AlwaysShopping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east anglia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Getting into Avignon at 8 o clock in the evening by TGV, we took a taxi down some very narrow dark little streets. Finally he pulled up by a hole in the wall, on a right hand bend in nowhere it seemed.
I was a little fazed but then saw the sign, Cloitre Saint Louis so I was reassured.
Going through the door leads you into an Oasis of calm and piece in a Monastic style setting. The hotel is set in part of an ancient Jesuit College, and it is difficult to exaggerate the beauty and charm of the setting.
Thankfully we had booked dinner and we only had time to rush to our room to drop our bags to get down to the restaurant in time. Their was no help with the bags so we were quite shocked when we opened the door to our room, supposed to be a superior double, it was a very small little single with no furnishing, a door lead to a small toilet and there was a wardrobe, with plenty of hangers, I looked at my wife in disbelief after having read all the good reviews on here. Thankfully she spotted the last door handle, this lead into a further room, bathroom, and verandah, we could hardly believe our eyes at the space we had got to ourselves.
A very large exceedingly comfortable double bed, sofa's, tables, chairs, this was a suite, not a city hotel room! We had been in the ante room!
We went down to dinner, this was a little rushed , no doubt as they like to clear the dining room by 10 o clock, but the meal was very good and we felt reasonably priced.
I would fully recommend this hotel but -
There are cons,
firstly, there is no tea or coffee making facilities in the room, I would have thought standard in a hotel claiming to be 4 star.
This is compounded by the bar facility which is supposed to be open all day, in fact it is never manned and you can sit in there as long as you like and be very lucky to be served. We went in on 3 occasions and were only served on the last one.
Neither is there any room service except for Dinner which can be eaten in the room , if you like that sort of thing , personally never for me.
The room fridge is stocked only with water and 3 cans of fizzy drink, so a night cap is not an option there either.
Lastly be warned, booking for meals is essential, the dining room is small, about 15 tables so even breakfast can be congested
You are unlikely to get dinner if you did not pre book.

Overall, would I go back? Most definitely, there are plenty of good eating places within 200 metres and breakfast was very good.

Room Tip: We stayed in the new part , where I believe all the rooms are equal. I believe the old part has more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank exfarmersteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Not the easiest hotel to find through the windy street of Avignon, but when you do, it is a real oasis. The hotel was once a cloister, which has been beautifully an very tastefully decorated. The rooms are very spacious and for those travelling into late summer there is delightful roof top swimming pool. There is a parking lot adjacent for travelers with their own cars. I will be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews
Level Contributor
249 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed 5 nights in this hotel. It is a beautiful, spacious, historic building. The staff are charming, polite and helpful. Breakfast was a bargain, great choice and lovely French coffee on tap. We had an exclusive double room in the old building. It was spacious and the modern decoration was in sharp contrast to the old building. Style had been chosen over practicality however, with no mirror in the bedroom and no shelves or drawer space for clothes. The only real issue with the facilities in the room was the hairdryer, really less than useless. I assume that the designers who choose these types of hairdryer gave never actually had to use one, otherwise they would be dumped in favour of a decent hairdryer. That apart we gave a lovely stay and will definitely choose this hotel for our next trip to Avignon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the old part of the hotel, overlooking the courtyard. Very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandraSStAndrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

We were booked into this hotel by Cyclomundo, as the starting point for a 6 day ride around Provence.
What a great way to kick off. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the room large and full of character and there was even a dedicated area with bike racks where our expensive carbon bikes were as safe as could be.
The breakfast was buffet style with everything an international traveller could want. Quite different from the usual 'continental' breakfast.
The only quibble was that I was unable to log onto the free WIFI service on my iPad. I brought it up with the staff, who could find no apparent problem and were very sympathetic. A couple of other guests we met had similar issues, but most seemed able to log on just fine. Never got to the bottom of that one.
Highly recommended, but not sure what value for money is as it was part of a package cycling tour. It was certainly great value for us and very enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#5 of 69 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,395 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Avignon Grand Hotel
Avignon Grand Hotel
#13 of 69 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
3.7 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis

Property: Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis
Address: 20 rue du Portail Boquier, 84000, Avignon, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Avignon
Avignon Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing