We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location and a great night sleep!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis
Ranked #13 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful location and a great night sleep!”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This is a hotel we stayed in for one night and after a long drive, it was immensely rewarding to just sink into a bed which cuddly cushions and duvet covers. The hotel is a 16th century Jesuit seminary and is quite spartan in style - but it oddly fits in with the theme of the Palais des Papes. With large stone arches and long corridors, you feel that you are spending the night surrounded by history. The room we stayed in was on two levels, mezzanine style and was equipped with all the mod coms. The best though was the quality of the bedding which after a long drive was greatly appreciated. We added dinner and breakfast to the price of the room - both meals were delicious and reasonable in price. 500m away from the Palais des Papes and within the old city walls, this is a wonderful place to stay! One small point - you have to buzz for someone to open the electric gates if you want to park your car within the hotel grounds and also to leave.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIRECTION-AGH-CSL, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear guest,
We thank you for your glowing review at the Cloitre Saint-Louis.
We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent stay with us.
We were delighted to read you had a nice holiday staying at our hotel and that you enjoyed the services and facilities. On behalf of our entire staff here at the Cloitre Saint-Louis we would like to thank you for your kind comment and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    285
    173
    98
    38
See reviews for
95
444
28
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dalian, China
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Overall nice location, in the old city of Avignon. Service not as friendly and helping as expected from a 4 star hotel, same for the breakfast, good but still limited choice. Room equipment minimal for a so called 4 stars.

Room Tip: The rooms under the roof on the older part of the hotel are quiet but can get really warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RodThbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIRECTION-AGH-CSL, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear guest,

We thank you for your feedback about your stay in the Cloitre Saint-Louis. We attach lot of importance in our guest comments, wether positiv or less. This kind of feeling permit to always remain vigilant to maintain our gains.
We sincerely do regret that we did not live up to your expectations, be sure that all points noted will be fixed.
we hope that you will give a second chance on the occasion of your next visit in Avignon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire UK
Level Contributor
127 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Cloitre St Louis is tucked away in a quiet side street, but within 50 metres of the main Rue de la Republique and 5 minutes from Avignon Centre SNCF station. Parts are very old, with a modern wing containing most bedrooms. These are spacious, well furnished and quiet with an adequate bathroom. The old part is charming with pleasant bar, restaurant and breakfast room. Staff are pleasant and helpful.
The breakfasts (included in our tariff but otherwise quite expensive) were varied except on one day out of three, when supplies seemed rather short. We ate in the restaurant once, which was OK.
The situation is ideal, close to numerous restaurants, cafes, shopping and the Palais des Papes. In short you would have to try hard to find better.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simmotours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIRECTION-AGH-CSL, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Guest,
We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent stay with us.
We were delighted to read you had a nice holiday staying at our hotel and that you enjoyed the services and facilities. On behalf of our entire staff here at the CLOITRE SAINT-LOUIS we would like to thank you for your kind comment and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Stayed there at the end of March 2 nights off the back of a friend of a friend's recommendation. The setting doesn't disappoint - a beautiful old French building, with a nice courtyard, within the city walls of Avignon (meaning all the sites, restaurants, cafes, etc are within a short walking distance) and set away from the main roads (so it's fairly quiet). The inside is a bit more modern than you think, particularly the bedrooms, which is a tad disappointing as you would expect the old world charm to continue.

We had read reviews on here before booking, so booked ourselves a Double Exclusive to make sure we were in the old part of the hotel, which was the right choice. Even though the furniture and decor was modern, the large windows and shutters alluded to the history of the building (as did the large corridors and stairs leading to our room on the 1st floor). The bathroom had a bath (not used) and a large separate shower section. Was very pleased with the shower - good water pressure and hot! The toilet is in a separate room, which almost felt like a closet. I know a few people have complained about this in prior reviews. Yes it's small, but I didn't see it as a major issue.

The breakfast was OK - standard fare of croissants, pain au chocolat, sausages, bacon, scrambled eggs, cold meats, cheeses, cereals, etc.

Staff are friendly and courteous and speak good English.

We were there in the off season so it was fairly quiet. However, there was a small tour group hanging about in the courtyard (which our room looked out to) and the window wasn't doing much to stop their noise. The hallways are a bit echoey too (luckily, we had a second door we could shut to minimise some of this sound).

Didn't get to see the pool/terrace as it was closed - only opens in April. Couldn't even walk around the terrace despite the great spring weather, which was a bit of a downer...

Room Tip: Exclusive rooms are in the old part of the hotel and many of them look out on to the courtyard - lov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brownandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIRECTION-AGH-CSL, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
We would like to thank you very much for your positiv comment on Tripadvisor regarding your stay with us.
We always try to do our best to make sure our guests have the best experience while staying with us and it is a great reward to read that for you. We will make sure to share your kind words with our staff.
We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

The hotel on the outside is lovely and the old parts of the building are just stunning but I was really disappointed with the decor of the rooms which feel like a throwback to the seventies.
I was hoping for old world charm which it has externally but not internally.
The rooms in the new building in particular feel like a student dormitory and with exception of bathrooms feel very unloved with very sparse decor. The most annoying part was that shutters did not close completely (by design, not a fault) so there was no choice but to be wide awake by 7am due to sun streaming into the room.. unacceptable in my view!
The breakfast was OK but we got there 30 minutes before it closed and there were no more sausages or bacon but they did prepare some more for us which was nice.
Staff was polite and friendly but I would not go back if given a choice.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sandra O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIRECTION-AGH-CSL, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a comment on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us.
I sincerely do regret that we did not live up to your expectations, be sure that all points noted will be fixed.
we hope that you will give a second chance on the occasion of your next visit in Avignon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Avignon hotels

Auckland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

This hotel looks nice but has a few problems overall. We are in the new area which is starting to look tired and has a few cleanliness issues. The room is spacious but the toilet is in a closet and is hard for a normal person to fit into. The bedroom/lounge area is a good size but the bed is very close to one wall. The outside light at the door is on all night which could be annoying to some people and there are not enough lights in the main room. There are no kitchen facilities even for making tea or coffee and bathroom goodies are not replaced as you start using them. We have also had to put up with the fact that the heated towel rail doesn't work and we have had minimal hot water for 2 days now. The staff attitude toward these problems is poor to say the least as whilst they are happy to tell you that you have a problem which they did in the case of the hot water, they don't seem to have the nouce to get someone in that can fix the problem immediately. Another problem is noise as it reverberates around the new area because of the openness of it all.
Good points are that it is in the town centre and is an easy walk to the regional train station. The grounds are lovely and it is in a lovely back street with cafés and restaurants nearby. Night 4 we arrive back to the hotel to be told that the hotel has no hot water at all and they are not sure how long it is going to be before it is fixed. This to me is poor hotel management, but they ask if we would like to go to their sister hotel the grand which is on the outside of the walls about 5 minutes walk away but they have upgraded us to a better room. Having no choice in the matter we check out the hotel and the room and decide to move.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AucklandTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AAB2, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comment on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us.
We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences that you experienced in the hotel, and the staff behaviour towards you. For switching hot water, I can confirm that we have suffered a major technical problems completely unexpected.
We sincerely do regret that we did not live up to your expectations, be sure that all points noted will be fixed.
We can assure you we take all the here above mentioned problems seriously, and we will do everything in our power to make sure they do not happen again.

We hope that you you will trust you again for another stay in the Cloitre Saint-Louis, in order to show you another side.

We remain at your disposal.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Clever conversion of an ancient building with a new accommodation block crafted on to the old monastery with the restaurant in the cloisters. helpful staff who spoke good English. Well situated just off the main road so quiet, just inside the old walls within easy reach of the main attractions in old Avignon but also a few minutes to the central station allowing easy trips to nearby towns like NImes and Montpellier so easy to explore the region. Nice buffet breakfast with bacon, eggs and sausage but lots of continental touches. Good evening meal, eat in twice and enjoyed the menu and attentive service. May not be that easy to find if travelling by car: we came by taxi from the airport at Marseilles and it took Nellie our driver a little while to find!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AAB2, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor regarding your stay with us.
We always try to do our best to make sure our guests have the best experience while staying with us and it is a great reward to read that for you. We will make sure to share your kind words with our staff.
We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon.

With our best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#5 of 69 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Avignon Grand Hotel
Avignon Grand Hotel
#9 of 69 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
3.7 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis

Property: Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis
Address: 20 rue du Portail Boquier, 84000, Avignon, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Avignon
Avignon Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing