We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location in Avignon.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis
Ranked #15 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great location in Avignon.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here for two nights last week and had an overall good experience. The staff was friendly and helpful, especially since we arrived very late at night due to a travel delay. We stayed in the old wing of the building which looked out over a lovely city courtyard full of plane trees. Rooms are large and very clean. My only complaint was the soft mattress but I suppose that is a matter of choice. The breakfast was plentiful but seemed expensive for what it was. It would have been nice to have it included in the room rate. Overall, this was a good place to stay due to the location, interesting renovation of an old cloister and the helpful staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leila's Nana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    270
    167
    96
    38
See reviews for
90
430
28
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

My rating would be somewhere between Average & Very Good.
Magnificent old building & staff we very helpful and friendly.
We stayed in a superior room overlooking the bar garden which was very spacious & quiet(and in the more modern hotel addition).
Breakfast was good. We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant.
Wi-Fi was good also.
Only real criticism was that they had synthetic doonas which made for a slightly uncomfortable sleep( too hot)

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Clayton B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

The staff were friendly, the room was clean and spacious. The hotel itself is very cool; an old building with a nice courtyard and 17th century decor. Great location, a 20 minute walk from anything you would want to see in Avignon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindzeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

I recently stayed 3 nights here as part of a tour in Provence and really enjoyed the hotel. The view of the courtyard from the room was charming. The room was spacious and the bed very comfortable. The view from the dining room into another courtyard was also lovely. The included breakfast had a good selection. The location was also perfect - just a short walk to the Pope's Palace and other nearby attractions and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gamble67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIRECTION-AGH-CSL, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you very much for your positiv comment on Tripadvisor regarding your stay with us.
We always try to do our best to make sure our guests have the best experience while staying with us and it is a great reward to read that for you. We will make sure to share your kind words with our staff.
We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

This is a hotel we stayed in for one night and after a long drive, it was immensely rewarding to just sink into a bed which cuddly cushions and duvet covers. The hotel is a 16th century Jesuit seminary and is quite spartan in style - but it oddly fits in with the theme of the Palais des Papes. With large stone arches and long corridors, you feel that you are spending the night surrounded by history. The room we stayed in was on two levels, mezzanine style and was equipped with all the mod coms. The best though was the quality of the bedding which after a long drive was greatly appreciated. We added dinner and breakfast to the price of the room - both meals were delicious and reasonable in price. 500m away from the Palais des Papes and within the old city walls, this is a wonderful place to stay! One small point - you have to buzz for someone to open the electric gates if you want to park your car within the hotel grounds and also to leave.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIRECTION-AGH-CSL, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear guest,
We thank you for your glowing review at the Cloitre Saint-Louis.
We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent stay with us.
We were delighted to read you had a nice holiday staying at our hotel and that you enjoyed the services and facilities. On behalf of our entire staff here at the Cloitre Saint-Louis we would like to thank you for your kind comment and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalian, China
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Overall nice location, in the old city of Avignon. Service not as friendly and helping as expected from a 4 star hotel, same for the breakfast, good but still limited choice. Room equipment minimal for a so called 4 stars.

Room Tip: The rooms under the roof on the older part of the hotel are quiet but can get really warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RodThbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIRECTION-AGH-CSL, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear guest,

We thank you for your feedback about your stay in the Cloitre Saint-Louis. We attach lot of importance in our guest comments, wether positiv or less. This kind of feeling permit to always remain vigilant to maintain our gains.
We sincerely do regret that we did not live up to your expectations, be sure that all points noted will be fixed.
we hope that you will give a second chance on the occasion of your next visit in Avignon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire UK
Level Contributor
125 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Cloitre St Louis is tucked away in a quiet side street, but within 50 metres of the main Rue de la Republique and 5 minutes from Avignon Centre SNCF station. Parts are very old, with a modern wing containing most bedrooms. These are spacious, well furnished and quiet with an adequate bathroom. The old part is charming with pleasant bar, restaurant and breakfast room. Staff are pleasant and helpful.
The breakfasts (included in our tariff but otherwise quite expensive) were varied except on one day out of three, when supplies seemed rather short. We ate in the restaurant once, which was OK.
The situation is ideal, close to numerous restaurants, cafes, shopping and the Palais des Papes. In short you would have to try hard to find better.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simmotours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIRECTION-AGH-CSL, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Guest,
We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent stay with us.
We were delighted to read you had a nice holiday staying at our hotel and that you enjoyed the services and facilities. On behalf of our entire staff here at the CLOITRE SAINT-LOUIS we would like to thank you for your kind comment and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#7 of 69 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Avignon Grand Hotel
Avignon Grand Hotel
#12 of 69 in Avignon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
3.6 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis

Property: Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis
Address: 20 rue du Portail Boquier, 84000, Avignon, France
Region: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Fastbooking so you can book your Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Avignon
Avignon Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing