We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very unique place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis
Ranked #12 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
New Braunfels, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
246 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Very unique place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

This hotel is in an old cloisters of a cathedral. The restaurant and dining hall show the cloisters in the architecture. There is a new part that is very modern where our room was. There is an elevator that can get you to your floor. The rooms are nice size with very modern decor. The bathroom is a nice size with room for your toiletries and very modern as well. There is a small balcony that is enclosed with shutters or you can select to have them open. Our first room didn't have adequate air conditioning so we asked to move to another room. The staff were very helpful. The second room was also nice size and decor and much cooler.
The breakfast was very good with lots to choose from and the atmosphere was so nice in the cloister section. There may be rooms in the old part, I don't know. I only know we were in the very new and modern section. Service was excellent and the hotel was just fine.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    270
    167
    96
    38
See reviews for
90
431
28
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Before booking, my family and I read a lot of mixed reviews about this hotel which used to be a Jesuit seminary, but decided to book anyway and we're very happy we did! I immediately fell in love with this beautiful 16th century charming building. We noticed many praised the rooms in the old wing, so we requested for rooms in the old wing facing the courtyard. I loved the wide corridors leading to our rooms . We had 2 rooms, both spacious. My children's room had a bigger bathroom, with a shower enclosure and a tub. My room only had a tub. The configuration of the room is unusual... the main door of the room leads you to a small walkway where you have your closets and the toilet ( which is really tiny), then another door to the main room. Our rooms had huge windows with a lovely view of the centuries old Plane trees, the courtyard with a fountain. It was so quiet and peaceful! The staff was friendly & efficient most especially Sebastian & Margolane who helped us with our restaurant reservations. The location of the hotel is perfect, very quiet since its on a side street but only a few steps away from Rue de la Republique, the main avenue of Avignon. Its within walking distance to all the sites, shops and restaurants. I would come back and stay here again!

Room Tip: Book rooms in the old wing and ask for a room without stairs to get to bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roselop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masterton
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

This is a beautiful hotel in a good location in Avignon with in easy walking distance of the train station. We had a room in the new wing which was not anything special but had all amenities. We dropped our bags at 12.00 and were told check in was 3pm. We arrived back 3.30pm but room was not ready ..in fact it was not ready until almost 5 pm. We were leaving at 8.30 am so were disappointed. The staff did not offer us any refreshments while we had to wait.Eventually I suggested a complimentary drink would be in order and we wee given a voucher.
Be prepared in France for late check -ins.
Breakfast was a nice buffet and pool was very nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MastertonTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIRECTION-AGH-CSL, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your feedback about your stay in the Avignon Grand Hôtel. We attach lot of importance in our guest comments, wether positiv or less. This kind of feeling permit to always remain vigilant to maintain our gains.
We regret that you were disappointed by the check-in hour. Indeed the hour of the check-out is 12 am, and 4.00 am for the check-in. That's why it's not usual that you had your room at 5 pm. Make sure that I will check this point with the General housekeeper. Moreover, we propose to our guest in arrival fresh drinks, during the high season, it's very surprising that the kind of service has not been provide this day.
We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

The staff on arrival were very pleasant and helpful and recommended some restaurants nearby. Not a problem that we did not speak French. We were upgraded to a superior room (more like a suite) in the old section of the hotel. A beautiful old monastery with a lovely courtyard. The buffet breakfast, which was included in our booking, was fantastic with everything you could possibly ask for. We returned a week later and had a room, once again in the old section, overlooking the courtyard. Quiet location within walking distance to everything.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the old section. Newer ones do not have the same character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WenKerger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIRECTION-AGH-CSL, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
We would like to thank you very much for your positiv comment on Tripadvisor regarding your stay with us.
We always try to do our best to make sure our guests have the best experience while staying with us and it is a great reward to read that for you. We will make sure to share your kind words with our staff.
We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
270 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

BUT no room service or anything to eat and order passed 9pm.
gym is basic at best but the hotel staff is friendly, courteous and helpful.
the hotel used to be a monastery and the courtyard is beautiful. just make
sure to get rooms in the old wing as they are more enjoyable than the modern
wing.

the hotel is right in the smack of the main road so location is very good and conveniently
situated near the train station and walls of old avignon.

Room Tip: get a room in the old wing. NOT the new wing as you will have to take stairs and lug your bags.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlo12377ph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIRECTION-AGH-CSL, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear guest,
We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent stay with us.
We were delighted to read you had a nice holiday staying at our hotel and that you enjoyed the facilities.
I'm surprised to read that you didn't find any room service after 09pm, because this service is open until 10.00 pm.
On behalf of our entire staff here we would like to thank you and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

This hotel is amazing. It used to be a convent then a retirement home when it went into disarray and then it got cleaned up and became a hotel. Get the superior room and stay in the old part of the hotel. You will be welcomed in French or English when you check in and the hotel personnel is very friendly and can give you lots of advice about the area.

The room is actually very big for French standards and the bathroom is very modern with a shower and a separate tub.

The breakfast is OK but very convenient if you are in a hurry to eat and get out to explore Avignon.

The hotel is a short cab ride (16 euros or so) from the TGV train station. It is in a little alley with an amazing courtyard. It has a pool on top, kind of small, but you are in the center of Avignon.

The room is quiet, has adequate air conditioning, the bedding is nice and does not get changed during your stay to save the trees.
The toilet is in another room than the bathroom which is nice.

There is parking for 12 euros the day.

All in all it is a wonderful hotel that will make you feel as if you are living in France and a nice breath of fresh air from the bustle of Avignon.

Room Tip: Get the superior room in the old part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cobaltblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

The reason for choosing this hotel is its nice location in an old cloister with a modern dependence. Good also is the parking facility, just behind the building.

Room was average - large is size, but probably not the right value for the price. For example, water would not flow easily out of the bathtub. Room may have been 'design' in the 90's, but unfortunately stayed stuck there.

When we stayed there, the festival had just started - we loved the atmosphere in the city even though it becomes very busy and slightly overwhelming.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerome B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#7 of 69 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Avignon Grand Hotel
Avignon Grand Hotel
#14 of 69 in Avignon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
3.6 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis

Property: Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis
Address: 20 rue du Portail Boquier, 84000, Avignon, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Avignon
Avignon Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing