We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
ZenHotels.com
£87
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Ryanapa
London, United Kingdom
Horrible visit. So disappointed.
1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Aug 2019via mobile
We stayed for four nights in the middle of August. My elderly parents stayed in a room with a faulty air conditioner unit. We reported it. It was not mended during their stay and they were unable to sleep properly. So disappointed. Also, very poor breakfast.

The location is great and the building is lovely. Such a shame that the customer service was abysmal. Definitely not a four star experience.
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
£100
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.3 miles from Hôtel Cloitre Saint Louis
Free Wifi
Tripadvisor
£98
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.4 miles from Hôtel Cloitre Saint Louis
Free Wifi
Tripadvisor
£97
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.5 miles from Hôtel Cloitre Saint Louis
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
£65
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
4.0 miles from Hôtel Cloitre Saint Louis
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel Exterior
Tripadvisor
£167
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.1 miles from Hôtel Cloitre Saint Louis
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Tripadvisor
£96
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.5 miles from Hôtel Cloitre Saint Louis
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £103
  • Priceline
0.3 miles from Hôtel Cloitre Saint Louis
Free Wifi
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £118
  • Priceline
0.3 miles from Hôtel Cloitre Saint Louis
Free Wifi
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £180
  • Priceline
3.6 miles from Hôtel Cloitre Saint Louis
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Mercure
    £125
  • Priceline
0.4 miles from Hôtel Cloitre Saint Louis
Free Wifi
Room service
View more hotels in Avignon
Reviews (1,439)
Filter reviews
1,439 results
Traveller rating
375
461
294
199
110
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
375
461
294
199
110
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop pool beautiful building superior room lovely hotel train station separate toilet the air conditioning side street inside the city walls secure parking old town central location an easy walk croissants avignon centre papal palace cloisters
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 1,439 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2019

We initially struggled getting through the gate and had quite a long walk to the reception which we struggled to find. However once we were in it was all fine. We had 2 rooms which were up our own spiral staircase and landing which was interesting. The poor man at reception had to lug our three suitcases up 2 flights of a very narrow spiral staircase but did so willingly. We had towels especially for the pool in our room which was a good idea as we all to often have the issue of not knowing weather we need to bring towels to the pool or not.

As our rooms were not in the main part of the hotel we struggled to find the pool as we knew it was on the second floor but did not realise the lift took us to the pool as only rooms were signposted in that area. The lift was interesting as was on the outside of the building with glass walls so not great for anyone scared of heights. Rooftop pool was nice with good views however was rather small.

WiFi wasn’t working which was quite disappointing but all other utilities were fine. The rooms were each unique and had lots of character to them. The chapel was really interesting to see and was a nice feature.

We didn’t eat dinner as there as their are many local restaurants about which were more simple and more cheap. We however did have breakfast which was nice however was not refilled very frequently which was a downside.

Overall would definitely stay again

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Hannah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DIRECTION-AGH-CSL, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2019

Dear hannabab,

We thanks you for your feedback, and for all informations given during your stay. These details are so important for us, to well understand your expectations and to maintain a very good level of our differents services.
We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon.
Kind Regards,
The Direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2019

Beautifyl antique hotel. So typical from the area. Amazing trees in the "cloitre".
Nice breakfast in the garden.
Lovely garden and an amazing terrace and swimming pool on the roof top!! So great ! During heat wave it was just the perfect place in Avignon city center. .
Close to everything.
And the must is the warm welcome by the staff. Special thanks to Heather who is an absolute delight, very professional, provides great recommendations for restaurants, and always has nice tales to tell, always smiling. Truly she makes the difference!! Her colleague too was charming, she had spent 2 years in Japan and she discussed this nicely with mmy 19 years old daughter.
My daughter also loved the place.

Just one minor comment: the air conditioning was not working very in our room...

Anyway, we 'll come back for sure!

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Anfray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DIRECTION-AGH-CSL, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2019

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

I would like to warmly thank you for this wonderful comment after your stay in our hotel the CLOITRE SAINT LOUIS. It is always a pleasure for us to receive such nice compliments.
Your satisfaction is out best reward ! I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you for some real holidays in Avignon.
Best regards,
The Direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2019 via mobile

The hotel is really special and historic.
For 18€ per day you get a parking on an open , but fenced area, from where you have to carry your luggage some distance.
The guy at the reception was very friendly but the hotel seems understaffed, it took them 30minutes to provide towels for the pool. The pool on the roof seems abandoned, some umbrellas and a water Spender and also some signs to the toilet could really help.
We had two ok rooms and the inside chapel and the inside courtyard are very nice.
We were looking for breakfast, but already at 9am the buffet looked robbed and there was not waiter, again understaffed.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Belmont2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DIRECTION-AGH-CSL, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2019

Dear Guest,

We thanks you for your feedback, and for all informations given during your stay. Theses details are so important for us, to well understand your expectations and to maintain a very good level of our differents services.
Your comments have been transmitted to our manager to remedy to this kind of issues.
Looking forward to welcome you again, I can assure you of our best endeavour to make your next stay a most agreeable one.
Sincerely yours,
The Direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2019

This hotel is in a beautiful setting and great location.
I booked on line from Australia and chose it because it also had a pool. Thank goodness as it was so hot.
Cons
Very poor air conditioning, the room was still very hot even with a fan going as well
For the price, breakfast was a bit dull and fully help your self. No table service.
The pool area was very hot with no umbrellas. This made the cement paving stones very hot to walk on and impossible to enjoy reading on a sunlounger. There is a very small cramped covered area but the chairs are so low and old it was impossible for me with a bad back to get in and out of them. I suggested to management that a sail cloth strung up over part of the pool area could solve some of the problem.
Only 2 paper cups in room for making tea or coffe, Sorry but we prefer to drink from China cup/mug
Pros
Lovely helpful staff, l'occitane toiletries , comfortable beds. Clean refreshing pool

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Jane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DIRECTION-AGH-CSL, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2019

Dear Guest,

We thanks you for your feedback, and for all informations given during your stay.
Theses details are so important for us, to well understand your expectations and to maintain a very good level of our differents services.
We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Kind Regards,
The Direction


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2019 via mobile

It could be perfect, but an hotel of this range needs more. For example, a restaurant open for the evening not only until 9.15pm, some more service etc. Anyway it’s interesting, very old, and a real catholic chapel works inside the hotel!! The court is wonderful and the rooms nice. A good chance to stay in the heart of Avignon!

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank NomadeDiLusso
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DIRECTION-AGH-CSL, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2019

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your feedback about your stay in the CLOITRE SAINT LOUIS. We attach lot of importance in our guest comments, wether positiv or less.
This kind of feeling permit to always remain vigilant to maintain our gains.
We hope that you you will trust you again for another stay with us.
With best regards,
The Direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews