We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review of hotel and information on gluten free eating in Avignon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Avignon Centre Pont de l'Europe
Ranked #35 of 68 Hotels in Avignon
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We arrived at Ibis Avignon Centre Pont de l'Europe on Sunday 7th April 2013, at about midday and were welcomed warmly by the friendly receptionist. The room wasn't ready yet but luggage was stored in a secure locked cupboard and we were free to explore the city. We asked for a room overlooking the large patio area in the back as I didn't want to be subjected to the sound of traffic and also asked for a first floor room as I don't like using small lifts, although my travelling partner said it had a reasonably sized interior. Both of our requests regarding the room were accommodated by staff.

The hotel is conveniently located about a ten minute walk from the station and across the street from the walled city which can be accessed easily through a main gate. There is a computer in the foyer for guests to use which was extremely handy. The only complaint we had our stay, is that there are no coffee or tea making facilities in the rooms. There is a coffee machine downstairs, usually reserved for breakfast, from which we filled cups with hot water using our own tea bags so as to avoid any charge.

There is a menu available for late night snacking and my partner ordered a hot sandwich which he said, to his surprise, was quite tasty. However, most of the food on offer after breakfast is frozen and then heated in a microwave, which didn't appeal to me and there was nothing gluten free on the menu I was able to eat. I don't feel the breakfast is good value for nine euros and as I have a special diet we bought food from the “Carrefour” supermarket off of “Place Pie” and near to “Les Halles” the indoor Gourmet Food Market on the other side of the square, open every day, except Sundays, until about 1pm.

I also discovered a wonderful small shop called "Votre Magasin Biologigue" which is also located off “Place de Pie” on "Rue de la Petit Meuse" just opposite "Les Halles" the gourmet food market. I loaded myself up with several loaves of home baked gluten free bread and a few days’ worth of gluten free snacks. This wonderful little shop also sells lactose free food and I would recommend it unreservedly for anyone travelling around the Avignon area with any food intolerances as restaurants rarely have any options for Celiacs on the menu.

There was one restaurant which offered gluten free options and where the staff understood this requirement and besides this was very good value for money, it was called: "Le Grande Brasserie Le Cintra" which is located on 44,cours Jean Jaurès – 84000 AVIGNON, on a main street and easy to find opposite the Tourist Office on 41 cours Jean Jaures. It is only about a short walk from the hotel and inexpensive compared the fish restaurant next to it. The meals were very filling and the deserts substantial!

We stayed at Ibis Avignon Centre Pont de l'Europe for almost a week and were very happy with the room and found the staff really helpful. The location is great and the room was cleaned every day. We didn’t really have any complaints except that we would have preferred a small kettle in the room with a couple of cups to make a hot drink, which would have been great after a long day exploring the region.

Room Tip: Choose a room, if possible, at the back of the hotel - at the front is a main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adel054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 405 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2013

This IBIS is very convenient to the old section of Avignon and parking was easy. so Nice and very central hotel in Avignon. Opposite the ramparts and the river. Ideal to walk in the center of the city.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathalie118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

The nice thing about staying at an IBIS is that you can expect the same level of service at nearly every location. Room was clean, staff pleasant and helpful and everything worked perfectly. This IBIS is very convenient to the old section of Avignon and parking was easy.

Our only dislike about IBIS is the duvet covers. We always have to remove the cover and use it as a sheet. The inner part of the duvet becomes the blanket. With the duvet, it can become too hot. It's a minor problem that can be easily remedied..

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank cheadle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Nice hotel, great location and good price. Front desk very helpful, and right across the street from an Avignon wall entrance. Just note that there are three Ibis hotels within a few blocks of each other on the same street.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Nice and very central hotel in Avignon.
Opposite the ramparts and the river. Ideal to walk in the center of the city.
The rooms are cozy and appear to have been recently redecorated.
The hotel is very clean and the staff is nice and always dipose to help us.
There is wifi throughout the hotel which is quite handy!
-->Ideal for all your trips to Avignon.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lili M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Standard IBIS hotel. Nice staff. Conveniently close to the old town. Big free parking next to the hotel. Extremely small room (even for IBIS standards).
We didn't try the breakfast there, but you know what to expect :-)

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vikistravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank antonioaW2213WW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Avignon Centre Gare
Ibis Avignon Centre Gare
#16 of 68 in Avignon
397 reviews
0 mi away
Ibis Budget Avignon Centre
0.5 mi away
Regina Boutique Hotel
Regina Boutique Hotel
#18 of 68 in Avignon
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Altera Roma Hotel
Altera Roma Hotel
#34 of 68 in Avignon
35 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel le Medieval
Hotel le Medieval
#27 of 68 in Avignon
288 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kyriad Avignon - Palais Des Papes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Avignon Centre Pont de l'Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Avignon Centre Pont de l'Europe

Address: 12 boulevard Saint Dominique, 84000, Avignon, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 68 Hotels in Avignon
Price Range: £37 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Avignon Centre Pont de l'Europe 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Avignon Centre Pont de l.Europe hotel faces the ramparts of the medieval city. A short walk from the Pont d'Avignon and the Palace of the Popes, it is 400 m from the central railway station, 600 m from the Opera and 3 km from the TGV railway station. Air-conditioned and soundproofed, the hotel has 74 rooms, a bar open 24/24 and a terrace. Close to free public parking, it provides Wifi wireless Internet access for its business guests and 1 meeting room can be booked. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Avignon Centre Pont de l'Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Avignon Centre Pont De l`Europe Hotel Avignon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing