We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, pleasant staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bristol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bristol Hotel
Ranked #26 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
liverpool
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great location, pleasant staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights. It was in a great location within the city walls and within walking distance of all the sights of the city. We had a spacious room overlooking the main street but it was very quiet. The breakfast menu offered everything you could want. The staff were always pleasant and helpful. The only criticism we had was that the bathroom fittings needed upgrading. Otherwise a lovely hotel!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marjorieweir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    237
    107
    20
    11
See reviews for
84
212
33
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

We stayed at the Bristol Hotel for just one night and thought it very comfortable, clean and well situated.

The room was a reasonable size and bathroom very clean and modern with both shower and bath.

Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. We didn't have the breakfast - at 11euro we thought it was way too expensive. Best to go to the boulangerie across the road or the cafe next door to this.

P.s do not eat at the restaurant downstairs! We had the worst pizza there ever!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GFMVHAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

The Bristol Hotel was well situated for sightseeing in Avignon or using the train or bus to travel to the surrounding towns. Our room was large, clean and comfortable. Fragrant lavender toiletries were in the bathtub and shower. The staff were pleasant and helpful with suggestions for sightseeing. A delicious patisserie is across the street and there are numerous cafes in the immediate vicinity.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Viagg16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

We stayed at this hotel for an overnight visit to Avignon and really regret not booking somewhere better in advance. The room, especially the bathroom was quite outdated. There was no proper shower. The room did not feel clean and the bed was not comfortable with the hardest pillows. We also were not able to park so I would recommend reserving a car space as the only other parking option nearby was outside the city walls. The positives were the quietness of the room and it was nice and dark. We did not partake of the breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

We picked the hotel for its good location, inside the ramparts but easily accessible by car. The rooms were clean and comfortable but nothing charming about them. Which was ok since that wasn't a high priority with us.

Our big problem was with the front desk. We made a change in our reservation, but that change wasn't reflected in the invoice they produced and the person at the front desk said he couldn't fix it because only the manager had the card to do that and he was on vacation for a week. So an incorrect charge went onto our credit card that couldn't be corrected. I'm supposed to wait for a refund check in the mail! Right.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meh376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, Ca
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

There is nothing particularly flashy about Hotel Bristol, but it is clean and conveniently located with comfortable beds and big rooms. I think we paid 115 Euro. I recommend. Very helpful staff.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

A very friendly hotel conveniently located on one of the main streets in Avignon. All staff were excellent, rooms clean and spacious, the beds very comfortable and the breakfast excellent. In fact the only thing I can think of which was slightly difficult was getting our Euro plugs into what looked like very antique power sockets. A bit of brute force solved it however and on went the travel kettle ! Considering how hot it was outside, the air con coped quite well.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slacky56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#5 of 69 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avignon Grand Hotel
Avignon Grand Hotel
#10 of 69 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis
Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis
#12 of 69 in Avignon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre
0.2 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Hotel

Property: Bristol Hotel
Address: 44 cours Jean Jaures | B.P 186, 84000, Avignon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bristol Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at a Bristol Hotel Avignon is the perfect way to explore an unparalleled history! The Avignon’s old town is literally blanketed with historic sites including the Papal Palace, the Petit-palais Museum, the Saint Bénézet Bridge, the Notre-Dame-des-Doms Cathedral, the Doms Rocks, the Calvet Museum, the Saint-Didier Church and the Saint-Pierre Church. Located within the city walls, in the very heart of historic Avignon, the Hotel Bristol is an establishment with a tradition. Less than 10 minutes on foot from the Papal Palace, we do our very best to make your stay as comfortable and pleasant as possible. You can leave your car in front of the hotel when you are checking in. If you have reserved a space in our private garage, a personal vehicle parking and retrieval service will be provided by our valet attendant. Otherwise, we can also show you public parking lots in the vicinity of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bristol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel Avignon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing