We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Location Ever....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bristol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bristol Hotel
Ranked #26 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The Best Location Ever....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed in the lovely small hotel for two nites as we prepared to begin our Midi Canal vacation with "Le Boat".The Bristol is on the main,tree lined street ,a short stroll to the large cafe filled square and Popes Palace. Avignon is an ancient walled city and The Bristol is in the heart. It is true "Location is Everything".

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MargoB174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    233
    107
    20
    10
See reviews for
84
206
33
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed here with a small group and were delighted with the hotel. it is family owned and that showed in the excellent service throughout our 5 day stay: the owner himself was in the breakfast room every day from start to finish, and so was his wife, clearing tables, replenishing the buffet and so on. The reception people were all charming: I wanted to welcome my group with an aperitif on the first evening but did not want to spend too much. Accordingly, the barman opened a few bottles of the local chilled wine and served them with some nibbles in the lounge - very nicely done and much appreciated. Our room was elegantly decorated and quite large, but as tour leader i had been given the best room. Some of the others in the group had pretty small rooms, but nobody complained, as it as all comfortable, clean and quiet.

Excellent location, surrounded by restaurants and just a few minutes' walk from the historic centre of this lovely town. Would stay here again. Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A9PEH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Absolutely no niggles about this hotel, and would definitely stay again. Well located, with easy walking distance of the centre of Avignon and the Popes' Palace, the rooms were comfortable and of good size, the staff friendly, efficient and helpful (all seemed to speak good English) and the breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: They vary in size and shape, but none of the 43 people in our party had any complaints.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank magnolia64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Painesville, Ohio
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

After my poor experience at another hotel in a nearby city, Hotel Bristol was able to accommodate me with 2 additional days. The staff is warm and friendly, speak fluent English and very accommodating with helping me find restaurants,places to see and shop, etc. breakfast buffet was standard fare, rooms very clean, and extremely well located within the old city was but very close to the train station. Thanks to Kate and her staff for all their help.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ellen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Hotel Bristol is in a great location; a 3 minute walk from Gare Avignon Centre and 5 minutes to Popes Palace. The staff is friendly and hospitable – quite frankly, my husband and I had absolutely no complaints. When I bought a bottle of Provence red wine at the hotel for our room, they opened it for us and provided a tray with wine glasses along with a small snack – a nice little surprise.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miyuki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We have visited Provence several times over the past 14 years. This is our second stay at the Bristol - the first time was 6 years ago for just one night, en route to our holiday stay. This year we decided to spend a week in Avignon, and booked an initial stay at a hotel which advertised itself very well on their website. We lasted 3 hours at an impossibly poor location. As evening fell we packed our bags (paying for a night we didn't use!) and made our way to the Bristol.
The experience could not have been more different. Very helpful staff, comfortable spacious room, ideal location in walking distance to the train station and bus departures, and value for money. If you are looking for hotel location in Avignon, stay here!

Room Tip: We asked for a room overlooking the street. There is some street noise, but nothing to detract from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DRMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
151 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Hotel Bristol is just inside the town walls, 200 yards from the train station (ville) not the tgv, and about 300 yards to the main square. We paid 93e for a clean and comfortable room. The room faced the back so it was quiet. Front desk was friendly and helpful.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jjapples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#7 of 69 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,363 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avignon Grand Hotel
Avignon Grand Hotel
#14 of 69 in Avignon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boquier
Hotel Boquier
#20 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre
0.1 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#17 of 69 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Hotel

Property: Bristol Hotel
Address: 44 cours Jean Jaures | B.P 186, 84000, Avignon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bristol Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within the city walls, in the very heart of historic Avignon, the Hotel Bristol is an establishment with a tradition. Less than 10 minutes on foot from the Papal Palace, we do our very best to make your stay as comfortable and pleasant as possible. You can park in front of the hotel when you are checking in. If you have reserved a place in our garage, our valet service will look after your vehicle. Otherwise, we can also show you where the nearby public car parks are located. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bristol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel Avignon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing