We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of the best”
Review of Fou de Fafa

Fou de Fafa
Ranked #1 of 597 Restaurants in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$27 - US$35
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“The best of the best”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Without doubt the best meal I've ever had in a restaurant. The service was delightful, the wine and company wonderful and nothing will ever surpass the food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    951
    227
    55
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
117 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Less than impressed....???”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

After reading numerous glowing reviews, we were eager to pay a visit to Avignon's Number one rated restaurant, and made a reservation online. Set in a small Rue, off of the main street into the walled city, it was very difficult to find parking.
We were greeted by a very friendly proprietress, and promptly seated at our reserved table. We noticed the restaurant was filling with clients who were mainly
non-French and English speaking, and most seemed to be like us, dining there for the first time.

The menu description in French seemed inventive and adventurous..we were served a Mise en Bouche that was two small rolls of mild Chevre cheese wrapped
with a thin sliver of Parma Ham.

For a starter, my husband had the Tartare of Salmon, with honey,soy & ginger,
which was pleasant, but not exceptional, and lacked much flavor. I had the
Terrine de Fois de Volaille (Chicken Liver), touted as a preparation with Cognac, and served with a red onion chutney...it was very dry and coarsely chopped, and
lacked any hint of of Cognac...tasted like a common New York Chopped Liver pate', and was not even up to the par of my homemade Chicken Liver Pate', with a copious amount of Cognac!

For my main course I chose the Agneau de Sept Heures ala Aubergine & Vin Rouge, with a puree of Pomme de Terre....(Lamb meat cooked for 7 hours, shredded and shaped into a small round cake and surrounded with thin slices of Eggplant, with a sauce of Red Wine). I found the Lamb to be very overcooked and
quite mushy, with hardly any flavor, and the eggplant slices wrapping it added to a very slimey texture overall...a very unappetizing consistency and lacking in any rich flavor except for the wine sauce. The Mashed Potatoes, which were seasoned only with Olive Oil and cracked mustard, were stiff & cool, and hard around the edges of the circular form, again lacking in a good flavor.

My husband ordered the Dos de Cabillaud (Codfish) with an Asparagus Cream Sauce and the same Pommes de Terre. He found the Codfish to possibly be
another species, as the multiple petite filets were thin with small flakes, and usually
Cod has large rich white flakes of meat...the flavor was uninspiring,but the presentation was attractive...again, his potatoes were not that good.

We ordered one dessert, layered Banana slices over aToffee Cream on top of a
very hard & dry cookie crumble base that was also not a favorite.

All in all, we found everything barely acceptable, and nothing exceptional that would justify the glowing reviews that attracted us to this restaurant, and the price was excessive for the quality of the food. Sorry, we did not love this restaurant.....

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bluemountain66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Definitely deserves it's Number 1 Rating”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

You do have to make a reservation in advance, but well worth planning. Antonia and her husband stagger the reservations so that she can provide excellent service in the front and he can make you a perfect meal. The menu selection is small but varied. The wine excellent and well priced. We enjoyed our meal so much on Friday night that we booked while there for Sunday night. I recommend the cod with asparagus and asparagus puree and potatoes mashed with grainy mustard and adorned with a couple of tiny roasted tomatoes. Beautiful presentation. And the banoffe pie for dessert is beyond description. When we returned the second night Antonia greeted us like old friends. She does have to turn people away at the door if they don't have a reservation but she is very pleasant about it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelandredwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Yes, it is named after that kooky "Flight of the Conchords" song but don't let that dissuade you. We had an amazing meal here, from the authentic foie gras to the final chocolate mousse. We would come back here in a heart-beat.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank coreypine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A lovely experience”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Tried this restaurant based on TA reviews. Service impeccable, food delicious, decor modern and tasteful. Added to our 'must return' list.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MartinandLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fou de Fafa also viewed

 
Avignon, Vaucluse
 

Been to Fou de Fafa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing