We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Avignon Centre
Ranked #6 of 68 Hotels in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We spent 3 nights at this hotel on April 2013. It was a great choice. It’s a new-modern hotel and has a nice lobby, restaurant and bar, outdoor swimming pool, small gym and more.
The location is great-just opposite the old city wall and entrance. It has easy access to its private parking (10 Euro for 24 hours if you are a hotel guest. Contact the reception.) and easy to get out of town driving.
The rooms are pretty big and convenient (bad not huge though) with a sofa and desk.
The receptionists were both very kind and ask if we prefer bath or shower. We preferred bath and received a nice-modern bathroom (separate toilets)
The entire stuff was extremely nice and supportive and the receptionist even looked for a website for us to assist with our planning. The wifi -internet is free. Breakfast was ok.
Very recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dinala_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIR_ADJOINTE, Responsable réception at Novotel Avignon Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2016

Thank you for sharing your feelings after your stay with us,
We have improved since your stay.
Do not hesitate to stay back with us in July to enjoy the Avignon Theater Festival and our Parties-evenings organized in the hotel (tapas, bar à champagne and rosé)
Or to relax in our NOVASPA with massage and discover relaxation area (Hamman, sauna and Jacuzzi tub)
Our teams will be happy to make your stay a much better experience
best regards
Catherine Panatton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

394 - 400 of 1,410 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2013

This new hotel is a short walk from the train station is just outside the Avignon city walls. It is a well-designed layout and very modern.

The staff were friendly and helpful. We did not eat in the restaurant, but it looked to be sufficient.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIR_ADJOINTE, Propriétaire at Novotel Avignon Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2016

Thank you for sharing your feelings after your stay with us,
We have improved since your stay.
Do not hesitate to stay back with us in July to enjoy the Avignon Theater Festival and our Parties-evenings organized in the hotel (tapas, bar à champagne and rosé)
Or to relax in our NOVASPA with massage and discover relaxation area (Hamman, sauna and Jacuzzi tub)
Our teams will be happy to make your stay a much better experience
best regards
Catherine Panatton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We stayed there in mid-March 2013 for 4 nights. The rooms are Modern and the place is well maintained. Everything worked. Our room can with "Magic Glass" between the bathroom and the sleeping area; push a button and it frosts over instantly. COOL. Only 2 English TV stations. Breakfasts were wonderful. Staff helpful and friendly. Just steps away (literally) from Central station and the walled city. A 15-20 minute walk to core of Avignon and lots of great placed to eat. Cannot express how pleased we were.

You will not regret your stay here.

Room Tip: Although a room with a view of the wall and the city would be nice, (you can see it from the hall wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIR_ADJOINTE, Propriétaire at Novotel Avignon Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2016

Thank you for sharing your feelings after your stay with us,
We have improved since your stay.
Do not hesitate to stay back with us in July to enjoy the Avignon Theater Festival and our Parties-evenings organized in the hotel (tapas, bar à champagne and rosé)
Or to relax in our NOVASPA with massage and discover relaxation area (Hamman, sauna and Jacuzzi tub)
Our teams will be happy to make your stay a much better experience
best regards
Catherine Panatton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

We spent two nights in this new hotel which is situated across the street from the city wall very near the heart of the city. It was easy to access and depart by car and it is close to the train station. The small streets of the town are congested and undergoing a lot of construction so we were glad to park our car in Novotel's underground parking lot and walk to and from sights and restaurants. Parking costs a modest 10 Euros per night. The room was very clean, very quiet, the bed was comfortable and we had a view of the city wall. The free internet was reliable. There is a large restaurant and they serve a good breakfast buffet (additional fee). The front desk and restaurant staff were polite and competent.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a city wall view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIR_ADJOINTE, Responsable relations publiques at Novotel Avignon Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2016

Thank you for sharing your feelings after your stay with us,
We have improved since your stay.
Do not hesitate to stay back with us in July to enjoy the Avignon Theater Festival and our Parties-evenings organized in the hotel (tapas, bar à champagne and rosé)
Or to relax in our NOVASPA with massage and discover relaxation area (Hamman, sauna and Jacuzzi tub)
Our teams will be happy to make your stay a much better experience
best regards
Catherine Panatton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Started with a very cold welcome by the trainee at the check-in desk who couldn't even look up as she was too busy in paperwork; which made me wonder her value at a front line checking desk. I had to interrupt, which she appeared to mind.

We were told our room didn't have a bath as it was an executive room (I requested a bath), no alternatives or apologies. After the duty manager intervened, we were moved to a standard room with a bath which would be converted to executive standard. Parts of the amenities arrived within the hour, but most of it the next day after I called twice.

Same trainee couldn't even look at us or greet after coming back from a small walk to Avignon (other staff did)

Room cleanliness: After 1st day servicing, we found dirt on the floor which included what appeared to be toe nails. Bath hadn't been cleaned and empty bottles of shampoo/gel were still on the side - pictures taken in case hotel replies to review.

Breakfast quality is below average. Hot food runs out very quickly and not good tasting. Fruits are not fresh. Had to ask for plates and cutlery. Although polite, the breakfast staff doesn't appear supervised or aware items are running out.
Twice on different days, we saw staff from the hotel, come out of the kitchen and help themselves to breakfast and go back to their stations (one appeared to be a supervisor, the other at the checkin desk). One made the comment, she had just got in and was starving !Perhaps this is were the hot/good food goes :)

We were woken up at 7:30am on Sunday by a wake up call which we never set up. As compensation, hotel waived the 45Euros parking cost, which is great.

Spa: Didn't try as we were suspicious on the service.

To summarise:
Nicely laid out modern hotel, but no one to do it justice
Good location - cross the road the you're in the walled city.

One of my worst stay at a Novotel/Accord !

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Dindu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIR_ADJOINTE, Responsable réception at Novotel Avignon Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2016

Thank you for sharing your feelings after your stay with us,
We have improved since your stay.
Do not hesitate to stay back with us in July to enjoy the Avignon Theater Festival and our Parties-evenings organized in the hotel (tapas, bar à champagne and rosé)
Or to relax in our NOVASPA with massage and discover relaxation area (Hamman, sauna and Jacuzzi tub)
Our teams will be happy to make your stay a much better experience
best regards
Catherine Panatton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We were quite pleased with this hotel for our small tour group. It was clean and modern and seemed to have all the amenities. The only downside was other tour groups that did not have any manners in the restaurant during breakfast. This is a great stop-over hotel for Avignon, which is not a thriving tourist attraction it would like to be. Stay here and visit elsewhere. It's close to the walled city limits and red light district. A few restaurants are close by to walk to but try not to go out past 10 pm.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YourDestinConcierge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIR_ADJOINTE, Responsable réception at Novotel Avignon Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2016

Thank you for sharing your feelings after your stay with us,
We have improved since your stay.
Do not hesitate to stay back with us in July to enjoy the Avignon Theater Festival and our Parties-evenings organized in the hotel (tapas, bar à champagne and rosé)
Or to relax in our NOVASPA with massage and discover relaxation area (Hamman, sauna and Jacuzzi tub)
Our teams will be happy to make your stay a much better experience
best regards
Catherine Panatton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We enjoyed this hotel…we stayed here for a couple nights in the middle of a 10 day trip to France. The rooms are much larger than most in France, so it was refreshing to have a little more room. Our room was very clean and the shower was great. My bed was very comfortable, and I enjoyed 2 nights of great sleep here. I was there at the very end of July (2012), and our air conditioning worked very well. All in all, we were very pleased with our room. It is decorated in a modern style…clean and crisp. I only mention this in case you are dreaming of a place decorated in a more traditional French style.

The location is right outside the old city wall. You simply cross the street and you are right there at the wall. So, it was an enjoyable walk for us to go to the old part of the city, but we love to walk and are very active. I love to see a new city by foot. However, if you think you might struggle walking very far, then I’d try and get something inside the old city walls.

The breakfast was fair to good. There were lots of options consisting of pastries, fruit, juice, etc. We never left breakfast hungry. Wi-fi worked great.

The post office is right across the street (inside the city wall), which is handy if you want to ship things home.

The staff was mostly very friendly and pleasant. We did have a small problem/question one night while making our train ticket reservation at the lobby computer. We asked one of the ladies working at the front desk for help since we could not figure out what the problem was. Let me first say that it WAS a complicated thing to try and get help on. My French is basic, and we did have some trouble communicating on this issue. But it was also clear that she had other things to do. However, I do feel like this was partly my fault, as I was in France and had trouble speaking their language. But I am also used to hotel desks viewing it as part of their job to help you with small questions such as this, and I felt pretty helpless. So, my point to this side story is that I believe their English is enough to help you with *basic questions and maybe brush up on your French before you go to France. ☺

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PalmettoGirl96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIR_ADJOINTE, Propriétaire at Novotel Avignon Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2016

Thank you for sharing your feelings after your stay with us,
We have improved since your stay.
Do not hesitate to stay back with us in July to enjoy the Avignon Theater Festival and our Parties-evenings organized in the hotel (tapas, bar à champagne and rosé)
Or to relax in our NOVASPA with massage and discover relaxation area (Hamman, sauna and Jacuzzi tub)
Our teams will be happy to make your stay a much better experience
best regards
Catherine Panatton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#5 of 68 in Avignon
1,615 reviews
3.8 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
0.5 mi away
Mercure Avignon Centre Palais des Papes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre
0.4 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 68 in Avignon
818 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avignon Grand Hotel
Avignon Grand Hotel
#19 of 68 in Avignon
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Avignon Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Avignon Centre

Address: 20 boulevard Saint Roch, 84000, Avignon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 68 Hotels in Avignon
Price Range: £71 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Avignon Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Avignon Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing