We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely hotel, with a few exceptions”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Avignon Centre
Ranked #7 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
ROMFORD
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“A lovely hotel, with a few exceptions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and it is a very comfortable hotel, with easy access to the centre of Avignon. It was very clean and modern, and staff very helpful. However, there was a comfort tray, which we really appreciated as we like to drink copious tea, but the cups provided were disposable paper ones. Surely in a hotel as lovely as this we could have had china cups. Also, because it was early November, the air conditioning and heating controls had been turned off. We had unexpected hot weather but the controls were not turned back on. Surely if I choose to use a hotel with air conditioning it really should be available whether or not I choose to use it. These are little things which make a hotel comfortable. Other than that we loved our stay and would definitely stay again, (taking our own china cups with us!)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIR_ADJOINTE, Responsable réception at Novotel Avignon Centre, responded to this review, 21 June 2016
Thank you for sharing your feelings after your stay with us,
We have improved since your stay.
Do not hesitate to stay back with us in July to enjoy the Avignon Theater Festival and our Parties-evenings organized in the hotel (tapas, bar à champagne and rosé)
Or to relax in our NOVASPA with massage and discover relaxation area (Hamman, sauna and Jacuzzi tub)
Our teams will be happy to make your stay a much better experience
best regards
Catherine Panatton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    452
    604
    136
    44
    15
See reviews for
381
533
36
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cirencester
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

This was the second time we had stayed in the Novotel. Our first visit had been more than a little fraught because the hotel had only just been opened and many of the systems were not fully checked. This time everything worked extremely well and the delightful and gracious manageress was on hand to welcome us.

Our room was a touch small but very well designed so that space was used to maximum effect. There were trendy touches such as a window looking out o th bathroom onto the bedroom which could be made opaque at the touch of a button. the need for this gadgetry escaped me but it was fun to play with. The bed was comfortable and the working space and communications features were all good.

The dining area was perhaps a little stark and we found the breakfast more French than International. US visitors might find it a little less than they are used to.

The hotel is a short walk to the gated entrance to the city which is one of the most delightful in France and that is saying a great deal. Think Paris with almost constant sunshine.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohanSebastian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIR_ADJOINTE, Directeur général at Novotel Avignon Centre, responded to this review, 21 June 2016
Thank you for sharing your feelings after your stay with us,
We have improved since your stay.
Do not hesitate to stay back with us in July to enjoy the Avignon Theater Festival and our Parties-evenings organized in the hotel (tapas, bar à champagne and rosé)
Or to relax in our NOVASPA with massage and discover relaxation area (Hamman, sauna and Jacuzzi tub)
Our teams will be happy to make your stay a much better experience
best regards
Catherine Panatton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delhi
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Walking distance from old city and some fine restaurants and also tourism areas. Serves good option of meals, breakfast, comfortable clean good size rooms. Service staff is friendly, well trained. several friends had recommended this hotel and we were entirely satisfied.

Room Tip: Opt for a room on higher floor overlooking the old city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIR_ADJOINTE, Gérant at Novotel Avignon Centre, responded to this review, 21 June 2016
Thank you for sharing your feelings after your stay with us,
We have improved since your stay.
Do not hesitate to stay back with us in July to enjoy the Avignon Theater Festival and our Parties-evenings organized in the hotel (tapas, bar à champagne and rosé)
Or to relax in our NOVASPA with massage and discover relaxation area (Hamman, sauna and Jacuzzi tub)
Our teams will be happy to make your stay a much better experience
best regards
Catherine Panatton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Pros:
- Conveniently located on the main road, near the train station and across the old city. If you walk two blocks, you find the main commercial street. In less than 15 minutes you are in the Palais de Papas where you can also catch the little train to see around the town.
- Room is spacious, quiet and clean. Comfortable bed.
- Car park on the basement.

Cons:
- Staff is not very diligent nor informative. A bit more training and enthusiasm would be great.
- Breakfast is a NO NO!!!! We only had coffee with breads and pastries we brought from a bakery on the main road Marie Blachere and butter and cheese from Carrefour. The place looks dirty as well as the waiters. Some of them avoid you because of the language barriers, so I guess this hotel would need to consider hire more experienced and bilingual waiters to make the guests' start of their day more pleasant
- Room service is even worse...food is frankly inedible!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayuelos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIR_ADJOINTE, Directeur général at Novotel Avignon Centre, responded to this review, 21 June 2016
Thank you for sharing your feelings after your stay with us,
We have improved since your stay.
Do not hesitate to stay back with us in July to enjoy the Avignon Theater Festival and our Parties-evenings organized in the hotel (tapas, bar à champagne and rosé)
Or to relax in our NOVASPA with massage and discover relaxation area (Hamman, sauna and Jacuzzi tub)
Our teams will be happy to make your stay a much better experience
best regards
Catherine Panatton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare
Level Contributor
81 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

An excellent new modern hotel where everything works! Sleeping quality 10/10 event though the hotel is near the regional train station. Service was excellent and not intrusive. Good breakfast. Beds with springs! Free Wifi but time limited? Location beside the regional train station and local bus station (just the other side of the city walls 50m away) and within walking distance of the entire town, it is worth the extra cost for this hotel. If you arrive into Avignon by the TGV train (great service) as you leave the station the shuttle bus (€1:30 and change given) stop is to the left of the car hire small buildings beside the taxi rank. It is two minutes walk to this stop. The bus will take you to the central bus station located the other side of the city wall from the Novotel (2 min walk away). Outdoor area and pool looked nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a quite no smoking room Those with numbers finishing 49 are at the end of the building with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FailteEire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIR_ADJOINTE, Directeur général at Novotel Avignon Centre, responded to this review, 21 June 2016
Thank you for sharing your feelings after your stay with us,
We have improved since your stay.
Do not hesitate to stay back with us in July to enjoy the Avignon Theater Festival and our Parties-evenings organized in the hotel (tapas, bar à champagne and rosé)
Or to relax in our NOVASPA with massage and discover relaxation area (Hamman, sauna and Jacuzzi tub)
Our teams will be happy to make your stay a much better experience
best regards
Catherine Panatton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for close to a week and loved the spaciousness and modern facilities. We were upgraded to an executive suite because we asked not to be on the road, a pleasant surprise. The free minibar (non alcoholic drinks) was a nice touch. Literally over the road from the old city so very handy to all major sights. On site parking, restaurant, friendly staff; overall a very good experience. We were impressed.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIR_ADJOINTE, Propriétaire at Novotel Avignon Centre, responded to this review, 21 June 2016
Thank you for sharing your feelings after your stay with us,
We have improved since your stay.
Do not hesitate to stay back with us in July to enjoy the Avignon Theater Festival and our Parties-evenings organized in the hotel (tapas, bar à champagne and rosé)
Or to relax in our NOVASPA with massage and discover relaxation area (Hamman, sauna and Jacuzzi tub)
Our teams will be happy to make your stay a much better experience
best regards
Catherine Panatton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed there for a couple days. We waited so long for a drink.
The next day I asked the girl at the lobby for help with my rental car, and she told is Sunday.
That they were not open, she acted like I was bothering her.

Room Tip: Needs much better customer service
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIR_ADJOINTE, Directeur général at Novotel Avignon Centre, responded to this review, 21 June 2016
Thank you for sharing your feelings after your stay with us,
We have improved since your stay.
Do not hesitate to stay back with us in July to enjoy the Avignon Theater Festival and our Parties-evenings organized in the hotel (tapas, bar à champagne and rosé)
Or to relax in our NOVASPA with massage and discover relaxation area (Hamman, sauna and Jacuzzi tub)
Our teams will be happy to make your stay a much better experience
best regards
Catherine Panatton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#6 of 69 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
3.8 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Avignon Grand Hotel
Avignon Grand Hotel
#13 of 69 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre
0.6 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Avignon Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Avignon Centre

Property: Novotel Avignon Centre
Address: 20 boulevard Saint Roch, 84000, Avignon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Avignon Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Avignon Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing