We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great New Hotel In Avignon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Avignon Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Novotel Avignon Centre
Ranked #5 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great New Hotel In Avignon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

If you want a new modern hotel 1 minute from the train station and 3 minutes from the center of town, then this is your hotel. The rooms are new and modern with the hotel only being 2 years old. The staff is exceptional and very helpful. The breakfast is very high quality and adequate, but not big by American standards. The room and bathroom are very nice and very modern. We had ample space. I would stay here again if coming to Avignon.

Room Tip: We had a room in the center of the hotel and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jdeluccia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIR_ADJOINTE, Propriétaire at Novotel Avignon Centre, responded to this review, 21 June 2016
Thank you for sharing your feelings after your stay with us,
We have improved since your stay.
Do not hesitate to stay back with us in July to enjoy the Avignon Theater Festival and our Parties-evenings organized in the hotel (tapas, bar à champagne and rosé)
Or to relax in our NOVASPA with massage and discover relaxation area (Hamman, sauna and Jacuzzi tub)
Our teams will be happy to make your stay a much better experience
best regards
Catherine Panatton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    446
    598
    132
    43
    15
See reviews for
374
528
36
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

Stayed here for three nights for day trips in Provence. For that reason it was a good choice. 5 mins to train and 15 min shuttle bus to TGV. Walking distance to key sites in old town. As most people have commented service is poor and staff are cold. Had to remind them to return laundry on last night. Biggest gripe was air con spewed out a bucket load of water in the middle of the night. We were moved to another room but not apology from the desk next day which left a bad impression. My recommendation is stay in another town if you don't need the train connections. Avignon itself can be seen in a few hours and there are a lot of undesirables at night. Nimes or Arles are better options for bigger towns.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kmanwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIR_ADJOINTE, Gérant at Novotel Avignon Centre, responded to this review, 21 June 2016
Thank you for sharing your feelings after your stay with us,
We have improved since your stay.
Do not hesitate to stay back with us in July to enjoy the Avignon Theater Festival and our Parties-evenings organized in the hotel (tapas, bar à champagne and rosé)
Or to relax in our NOVASPA with massage and discover relaxation area (Hamman, sauna and Jacuzzi tub)
Our teams will be happy to make your stay a much better experience
best regards
Catherine Panatton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

Although up until this experience I had been a fan of Novotel my opinion was changed by treatment at this Avignon Central hotel last June.
We had booked on the internet and arrived about 5pm, so late in the day we were given the key to an uncleaned room with rumpled bed, dirty bathroom etc. On returning to reception they gave us the key to another room and did not come to check this one was OK. We had requested a quiet room and were given one overlooking the road.
We went down to have a swim in their pool. My husband visited the cloakroom adjacent to the pool and found the door lock faulty and could not get out, it took him about 15 minutes struggling with the lock to do so.
The swimming pool is next to a high wall on which pigeons congregate. After swimming we realised the pigeons kept flying down to drink from the pool and while doing so they defecated around the pool and in it, most unhygienic, the hotel had done nothing to dissuade the pigeons such as putting spikes on the wall where they congregated.
The so called innovative glass screen between the room and bath room has a considered draw back, if one person gets up to use the toilet at night and turns on the light it is disturbing for the other. There are advantages to solid bathroom walls.
When trying to leave we found ourselves trapped in the basement garage for which we had to pay an additional 10 euros. (other Novotel’s with garden parking do not charge.) I had to return to the reception where a very young boy was evidently annoyed that I was complaining that the card he had given me did not let us out . By his time we were late to set off and he gave me another card which also did not work and there were several cars queuing to get out. Finally we contacted the reception though the machine in the garage and they simply raised the door.
We had been told after complaining about our treatment that they would upgrade our room on our return. When we did return they did not upgrade the room but told us they could do nothing except say sorry. I thought the staff were unbelievably unhelpful acting almost like zombies. I echo another reviewer who noted they behaved as if annoyed to be interrupted by a visitor requiring help!
Writing to complain to Novotel central on our return we were told they were looking into it- nothing happened so after an interval we wrote again -still nothing. So I am writing this review to other potential guests at this hotel . I see a similar review is there so its not just us.
I would never return to this hotel and am amazed that they did not even offer us a drink to cope with this list of problems, inconveniences and calamities let alone any reduction etc etc

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine-DELLECI, Directrice at Novotel Avignon Centre, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Google Translation
Traduction en ligne gratuite en anglais, allemand, espagnol, italien, russe, chinois, arabe, hébreu, japonais.
Texte d'origine

Chere Margaret

Je suis désolée d'apprendre seulement maintenant tous les incidents que vous avez rencontrés au mois de juin dernier. N'hésitez pas à me contacter personnellement sur ces sujets mais en attendant je vous rappelle que toutes les chambres sont insonorisées, les problèmes de pigeons sont résolus, la serrure des toilettes de la piscine a été changée et une chambre sale vous a été attribuée par erreur. Je vous prie donc de m'excuser pour l'ensemble de ces dysfonctionnements et espère vous accueillir prochainement.
Cordialement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

We were touring the Provence region and decided to stay in Avignon for 3 days since it is so central to all the nearby attractions. While there were some nice places inside the old city walls, we wanted to stay on the periphery because driving and parking in the old city is brutal.

We stayed at the Novotel since it was the highest starred hotel outside the old city. When we arrived at 8:00 p.m., there was no one to help us with our baggage. This hotel has no porters or bellmen. I asked is someone else could help, and I was emphatically told no. How is this possible for a 4 star hotel? Since both of us have health problems, bringing in our own language from the garage proved difficult.

Our first room's heating system was not working, and the Provence region was going through an exceptionally cold spell when we arrived. We were quickly moved to another room , although again, no one offered to help us with our luggage. Since it was late and dark, we decided to eat at the hotel's restaurant. I had a burger that I ordered medium, and it came completely raw. I wasn't even sure it was dead yet! The waiter was apologetic and brought it back to the kitchen. It came out about 10 minutes later tasting like shoe leather. I imagine that the cook just microwaved it for 10 minutes until it was done beyond edible. My mother's food was equally as bad. The waiter was very sweet and apologized profusely when we gave the food back, yet he had the nerve not to take the burger off the bill.

The front desk service could only be described as abrupt and unhelpful. I realize that the service levels in France leave much to be desired, but this is a hotel claiming to be 4 star worthy. No matter what we asked, the answer always started with "no". When I asked for a map to go to Arles, a famous Roman ruins town approx 15 minutes away, the front desk staff looked at me like I was asking for a map of Mesopotamia! I cannot believe that with so many tourists in the region, a hotel like this does not have any touring maps. At my suggestion, she found an atlas and had to make a photocopy of the area.

This hotel provided incredibly poor service. If you're looking for an upscale place in Avignon, stay in the old city.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brianyyz36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIR_ADJOINTE, Directeur général at Novotel Avignon Centre, responded to this review, 21 June 2016
Thank you for sharing your feelings after your stay with us,
We have improved since your stay.
Do not hesitate to stay back with us in July to enjoy the Avignon Theater Festival and our Parties-evenings organized in the hotel (tapas, bar à champagne and rosé)
Or to relax in our NOVASPA with massage and discover relaxation area (Hamman, sauna and Jacuzzi tub)
Our teams will be happy to make your stay a much better experience
best regards
Catherine Panatton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mays Landing, New Jersey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Basic three star hotel. Good location, Very close to all attractions/historical sites. the front desk staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was very basic and the coffee was bad. When we checked in the lobby area was crowded and noisy with kids running around everywhere. Not the place to stay at for a relaing holiday.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GinaNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIR_ADJOINTE, Propriétaire at Novotel Avignon Centre, responded to this review, 21 June 2016
Thank you for sharing your feelings after your stay with us,
We have improved since your stay.
Do not hesitate to stay back with us in July to enjoy the Avignon Theater Festival and our Parties-evenings organized in the hotel (tapas, bar à champagne and rosé)
Or to relax in our NOVASPA with massage and discover relaxation area (Hamman, sauna and Jacuzzi tub)
Our teams will be happy to make your stay a much better experience
best regards
Catherine Panatton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Really enjoyed our stay here, staff were great, room was nice etc. Only let down was the terrible cooked breakfast, scrambled eggs were from a packet and the sausages/bacon of terrible quality and not enough for all guests.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NZUKCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIR_ADJOINTE, Directeur général at Novotel Avignon Centre, responded to this review, 21 June 2016
Thank you for sharing your feelings after your stay with us,
We have improved since your stay.
Do not hesitate to stay back with us in July to enjoy the Avignon Theater Festival and our Parties-evenings organized in the hotel (tapas, bar à champagne and rosé)
Or to relax in our NOVASPA with massage and discover relaxation area (Hamman, sauna and Jacuzzi tub)
Our teams will be happy to make your stay a much better experience
best regards
Catherine Panatton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#7 of 69 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
3.8 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre
0.5 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avignon Grand Hotel
Avignon Grand Hotel
#12 of 69 in Avignon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Avignon Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Avignon Centre

Property: Novotel Avignon Centre
Address: 20 boulevard Saint Roch, 84000, Avignon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Avignon Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, ACCOR, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Novotel Avignon Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing