We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, except for the exceptionally rude and unpleasant owner”
Review of La Madeleine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Madeleine
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
“OK, except for the exceptionally rude and unpleasant owner”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The residence is overall decent and located close to town - about 20 minute walk from the center of Avignon, but includes a quite unpleasant passage on a busy, dusty suburban street and under a railroad bridge. This is discomforting and feels unsafe at dark.
The worst though is the uncivilized treatment of her guests by the owner, who lacks basic manners and human kindness. Her fake politeness at reception evaporates soon after people have settled. In addition, she is ridiculously cheep on supplies.
There are better ways to request that her sometimes unreasonable rules (like chairs be kept only indoors) be followed, than screaming and insulting her clients. My belief is that no one should accept such treatment and I would strongly discourage anyone from staying there.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetSummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    7
    0
    3
    5
See reviews for
3
6
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

We arrived in Avignon very tired and without reservations. The tourism center helped us find this efficiency suite and even called and made reservation for us. The room was small, basic but had everything we needed. Patio facing the sun, kitchenette, solid bed, good shower. Jacqueline was very nice. The location worked as it was just a few blocks out of the walled city, close to the train station. Nice to have an actual coffee maker.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mrsdagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Nicolas, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

My best friend and I treated ourselves to a long weekend in Avignon to celebrate our 40-year friendship. We took the TGV from Brussels. The plan was to arrive around 8.30 in the evening, a little later than the normal reception hours, but we sent an email beforehand, and it was said to be no problem. Unfortunately our TGV stopped close to Lyon, because of a train blocking the railway. We were told noone knew how long the delay would be..We called La Madeleine immediately and after not moving for another 2 hours, we called again. We were told by the owner, she was going to bed and we could ring the doorbell. Hopefully she would hear us. When we arrived at 23u30, exhausted, we received a welcome that unbelievably rude. The lady told us we were liars, that it was impossible that the TGV would have so much delay, and that we should have foreseen this (psycic?). We were shouted at, and if we hadn't booked for 4 nights, I am sure she would have left us standig out on the street... I felt as if we were on candid camera, or as if Basil from Falwty Towers could come in any minute... The apartment was basic, thought well situated near the centre (though a little shabby neighbourhood. But the welcome of this horrible woman spoiled a big part of our stay in the beautiful city of Avignon. Avignon again? Certainly! La Madeleine? Never again. Not even if you gave me money to stay there...

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank katrien v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Avignon hotels

Buenos Aires
Level 6 Contributor
397 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

We were two couples, each of us took an apartment. we had the number 8.

when your rent an apparment during traveling, is because you are tired of hotels and want to feel at home, this doesn't happen in this place

Everything is tyne, which is comprehensible. But there is a luck of smart organizing it. for instance, the bed, AWFULL, our backs suffered it.
If we sat at the table for breakfast, we had to take care to stand up not to beat the head, with the (supposed) kitchen bench.
The swimingpool seems a free sample.The towels overused

The hot water is scase, only for a short shower per person per day. The owner said this a French regulation, but this happen to us only this time, after more than 8 trips on France lodging different places of different quality

The dishes and kitchen tools are less than poor, so forget cooking the most simple thing. For instance, ther were no grabage can neither in the kitchen nor in the bathroom.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ezini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

After a major disappointment with the reserved option (Avignon Hotel Monclar - see my review on its own page) we were so lucky to find this cosy gem of a holiday aparthotel - on the same Ave Monclar, just 100 meters off the city wall of Avignon, but not too close to the train tracks & bridge (as is Hotel Monclar!).
The landlady (Jacqeline) was all hospitality and eager-to-help, also speaking very commendable English (a major advantage for non-French-speaking travellers!)
The two rooms we were lucky to find available were both immaculately clean, in a very good condition, and boasting all necessary amenities for a week-long stay - even complementary soap, toilet paper, washing liquid and a set of towels - all what a 3* aparthotel is not obliged to offer (point to note!).
We opted for the bigger apartment at the top floor (#6 I believe - the one you see in photos, with beige armchairs, nice TV stand and a "looming" lamp) - and at a great price, too!
The room turned out to be very spacious, quiet, with nice views of neighbouring roofs and small gardens to 3 sides. Perfect for cooking your own dinner and enjoying it with a glass of wine bought in a neighbouring mini-mart (there a few up the Monclar Avenue) after a long day of driving around. The parking in the courtyard is ample and very convenient (included in price), and there is a small swimming pool and a barbeque spot (did not try these due to chilly weather and intensive travelling). Great location for exploring the Provance countryside (convenient to get out and in), and 10 min walk from the Avignon center.
Also, an additional bed for a grown-up kid was available in our room (nicely separated by a wardrobe from the master-bed), and WiFi is available and works well.
A traveller should be mindful of: hot water running on city schedule (may be an issue in the evening); payment is cash only (no credit cards); and you are expected to clean up when checking out, or pay a EUR 23-30 cleaning charge if you do not want to do it yourself.
All in all, great value for money, and very good option for 4+ days stays.

Room Tip: Rooms at the top floor, particularly #6 (that is, if you do not mind climbing 3 flights of stairs, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sergey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacqueline c, Propriétaire at La Madeleine, responded to this review, 29 December 2016
So long time after your visit, can you accept my MERCI
I am not a good internet woman but MERCI
I remenber you, was very good moment
and I was happy you like too
sincerely
jacqueline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

good location, cozy, cute and clean room, but the infrastructure and the worker were just plain awful.

the hotel looks nice and cheap, but be careful because the worker is not helpful at all.

We had some problem with the shower, and could not take it due to lack of hot water.
In fact the hotel forgot to switch on the boiler for 2 consecutive nights.
And the hotel gave us no single word of apology.

I really do not want to say this, but i do not recommend this hotel to you.

it would be the last hotel to stay at avignon, but if you are staying be careful because la madeleine accept nothing but cash on the very first day of the stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Haruka W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacqueline c, Propriétaire at La Madeleine, responded to this review, 29 December 2016
I am sorry, 4 years later to inform you la madeleine is not an hotel, only a renting holiday, no service
of course you must pay when you arrive, but cash or travelers or paypal
if no, you must give a garanty by passport..or how you want it is a renting, you have the key of the house, you are in your house...for few days..but respect, you must pay when you take the keys !
sorry for your understanding
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

It is true that the hotel is in good location, near the train station and not so far away from the city centre (5 to 10 minutes walk). The outside of the apartment and the little garden looks good, however, the drainage seems terrible and the air condition for the big studio did not work properly. Our family stay there in late June, it is hot but the outdoor temperature with light breeze seems cooler than the room temperature with the air conditioning on. I think they should pay more attention to maintain the apartment in good shape both inside and outside.
As a whole, Jacquelin is friendly and we have good impression and it is a value for money holiday rental.

Room Tip: small studio either with a/c or not seems a better choice than the big studio
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank saggio1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
0.6 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#8 of 69 in Avignon
1,489 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Avignon Centre Gare
Ibis Avignon Centre Gare
#17 of 69 in Avignon
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
776 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Avignon Centre
0.2 mi away
Avignon Grand Hotel
Avignon Grand Hotel
#15 of 69 in Avignon
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Madeleine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Madeleine

Property: La Madeleine
Address: 4 Impasse des Abeilles, 84000, Avignon, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renting holidays, quiet and sunny, 200 meters from old historic city and train station center and bus station, private parking, small pool, garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your La Madeleine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing