We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful accommodations, superb breakfast . . .”
Review of La Petite Saunerie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Petite Saunerie
Ranked #13 of 53 Avignon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful accommodations, superb breakfast . . .”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed 2 nights (May 11 & 12) with Anne-Lise and Vincent. What a pleasant surprise. This is not your typical B & B. It occupies the first floor above the ground floor of an old & large multi-level home in the old part of the city, within walking distance of everything. One could not ask for a fresher or more wholesome breakfast. Homemade jams, breads and yogurt, with local honey and fresh fruit - depending on the season. We had field picked strawberries. The fruit for the fig jam came from Anne-Lise's mother's tree! Vincent battered and cooked like one would a pancake, Acacia flowers. They were delicious and didn't need honey or syrup to bring out their sweetness. Anne-Lise, Patrick and their son live on the property and since there are only 3 or 4 rooms that they rent out, you are really staying with a family, in a warm and friendly setting. Their advice on which restaurants they would eat at were very helpful. No regrets here.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room called “la bourgeoise” which was very spacious for the three of us. Plenty of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JYinSantaBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    22
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
76
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

When we travel we enjoy staying in B & Bs and when we visited Avignon in April we stayed in La Petite Saunerie. We stayed in the “la contemporaine” room. What a lovely and comfortable room for our 3 night stay. Anne-Lise was a delightful and wonderful host and her son Paul is darling. We were treated to homemade yogurt, bread and jam every morning and helped with any questions we had. The location is perfect and quiet. We highly recommend La Petite Saunerie.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blevitt4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in Avignon in the 'bourgeoise' room. The room is massive - big 4 post bed, table and chairs etc. The bathroom is also modern and large.

The location is great - far enough away from the main square that you don't feel like you are in a tourist hot spot, but only a street or two away from the Palais de Papes and other sights. Anne-Lise is very nice and speaks English quite well. We were also big fans of her cute son, Paul.

Breakfast was served each day - freshly squeezed juice, bread, croissants, home made yoghurt, sweets, tea and coffee.

This is less of a hotel and more of a bed and breakfast (so rooms are not made up daily), which should be kept in mind when booking.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2013

I stayed 3 nights with my mom in Chambre “la bourgeoise” and “La romantique"

Anne-Lise & Vincent & baby Paul were sooo kind and warm and the location was perfect.
(All the main spot was within 10-15 minutes by walk.)

Rooms of typical provence style decoration were beautiful and clean.

Breakfast with homemade yogurt, jams and squeezed juice was delicious.

We want to stay there again next time we visit Avignon.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sa1612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed in the Contemporary Room for two nights during a recent trip to Avignon. It's centrally located, but a little away from the main square which is really nice. We arrived early and nobody was there, but when we came back at the check-in time Anne-Lise greeted us. She is super nice and spoke English pretty well. She introduced us to her husband and cute toddler PAUL. He is adorable. They live in the same building, but we did not hear much from them except at breakfast. Homemade yogurt, croissants and cafe... delicious!

Anne-Lise had some great recommendations for dinner and tablecloths. She gave us keys to the front door so we could come and go as we pleased. Comfy bed and the bathroom was really nice and clean. We would absolutely go back to stay!

Room Tip: All rooms looked very nice. The Contemporary Room had a piano, but it was not tuned. I think it had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights with Anne-Lise, Vincent and little Paul. They were perfect hosts. giving us plenty of space and most helpful when required. Lovely clean room, generous breakfast and a fabulous location!! Restaurants, shops and Popes palace all very close by.
Anne & Simon (Australis)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnieandSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

This place is a gem in Avignon! My husband and I stayed 2 nights as part of our honeymoon.
A tip - the street the B&B is on is tiny - so don't bring a big car. We parked in the free car park about 10 minutes walk away after dropping our luggage.
Anne-Lise is warm and welcoming and armed us with a map, parking recommendations and some FABULOUS restaurant recommendations when we arrived.
Room was exquisite and clean and breakfast was fulsome and delicious.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aussietraveller1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#5 of 69 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kyriad Avignon - Palais Des Papes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Mirande Hotel
La Mirande Hotel
#8 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre
0.3 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Petite Saunerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Petite Saunerie

Property: La Petite Saunerie
Address: 9 rue de la Petite Saunerie, 84000, Avignon, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A guesthouse in a 18th century mansion close to the prestigious Palace of the Popes.3 bed and breakfast await you with a cared decoration respecting the style of the house.All rooms have their own bathroom.We strive to surprise you every morning with a hearty breakfast and the products of the region (seasonal fruit, homemade jams, cakes and a wide choice of tea, coffee, chocolate.Anne-Lise and Vincent are happy to welcome you ... to you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your La Petite Saunerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing