We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding provincial hotel!”
Review of Hotel d'Europe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel d'Europe
Ranked #3 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2011

We loved hotel d'Europe.  Location was right in town and convenient to walk everywhere.  As soon as we arrived, a hotel worker quickly greeted us to park our car and take our luggage to our room.   Everyone at the hotel is friendly and helpful. Our first night we dined at the hotel and the dinner was fabulous. Served in the hotel courtyard, our food and wine was delicious.  We had a simple three course meal interlaced with unexpected intermezzos. The have a simple and tasty bar menu.  The smoked salmon was terrific.  They provided excellent recommendations for our other dinners and places to visit.  Our room was perfectly clean and large.  Bed was very comfortable, bathroom was large and luxurious, and there was a large closet. Decorations were quintessential Provence. Overall outstanding in every aspect.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (778)
There are newer reviews for Hotel d'Europe
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

475 - 481 of 778 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2011

We only spent one night at the hotel as a stop over on our way to Bonnieux for a week. We booked a small classic room which met our needs for one night. The room was clean the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was modern. The breakfast in the morning was very good. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brucepod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

We absolutely loved this beautiful hotel. The rooms are spacious and furnished with lovely period furniture. The bathroom was equally beautiful, clean and with gowns, slippers, toiletries - in fact, the gown was so luxurious that I bought one to take home. The staff were so friendly and efficient and the hotel itself was just fantastic - loved everything about it and will definitely stay there again if we get back to Avignon.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoLoSydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Stayed for 2 night last week. The hotel environment was classic and historical. Its located inside the old city wall, close to the river Rhone and city centre.
We got ' upgraded' to a bigger room 123, which is not in the main part of the building. The room was spacious, over looking court yard. The bathroom was clean and big with separate shower, bath and toilet room. However, the bed was rather small and uneven.
The staff were friendly and helpful, but our room were never got serviced on the day we were there, which is not acceptable by any hotel standards.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lily_UK_China
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Simply fabulous. We did not get a chance to stay in the hotel itself but had a dinner at the restaurant and it was wonderful. Superb cuisine, wonderful staff, great wine list. Highly recommended....

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Quax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

but pricey. Off to a bad start when they could not locate our reservation. Never did.
They offered a 700 Euro suite for 390 Euro. We took it. It was beautiful Large, beautiful rooms decorated with objects d' arte. Large deck which could be enclosed. Huge bathroom with huge tub. Most comfortable bed I've I think I've ever slept in. As usual, in Europe, there was a shortage of luggage stands.
Friendly staff and excellent dining room but don't even think of showing up for dinner without a reservation. We were served in the lounge which was quite nice. Despite the bad start, the staff went the extra mile to make phone calls for us and to keep us happy. This was a beautiful experience.

Room Tip: Make sure to check your reservation before trip.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacksmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We spent two nights here and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. All the staff we were in contact with could not have been nicer. The front desk personnel were especially helpful. We had breakfast in the dining room both mornings. The food was excellent as was the very friendly service. The decor in all the common areas, including the outside patio, was very appealing.

The only thing we were a little disappointed with was the condition of the room. It was clean, but the best way I can describe it is "tired". Obviously since this is a very old building its not going to look and feel like a modern hotel, however, the room was drab and did not seem to have had any updating in years. The exception was the bathroom which was modern. I know its a matter of personal preference, but the bed was not particularly comfortable for me. I suspect that it may be a bit outdated as well.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NoSpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#6 of 69 in Avignon
1,569 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Mirande Hotel
La Mirande Hotel
#8 of 69 in Avignon
410 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
975 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
0.2 mi away
Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Europe

Address: 12 Place Crillon, 84000, Avignon, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Avignon
#2 Luxury Hotel in Avignon
#5 Family Hotel in Avignon
#8 Business Hotel in Avignon
Price Range: £190 - £715 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel d'Europe 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent 16th century, completely re-modeled in the 18th, and continually modernized since then, the Hotel d'Europe is one of the oldest hotels in France. It occupies an ideal location at the centre of Avignon. In this timeless place, our hospitality is offered discretely and with warmth by a loyal and dedicated team. Its 39 rooms and 5 suites, decorated luxuriously but simply, offer exceptional comfort. La Vieille Fontaine restaurant is idyllic. Its beautiful shaded terrace and elegant dining room are the perfect settings for enjoying fine dining and famous cuisine. Just two steps from the Popes' Palace, the Hotel d'Europe is also located only 50 yards from the entrance through the ancient city walls. This central location is also the ideal starting point for your visit to Provence. From Avignon, it is easy to explore and discover this magical region. Our experienced Tourist hostess offers unique tours, from Orange through the Gard to Marseille, the Luberon, Aix-en-Provence, or Châteauneuf-du-Pape. Legend has it that a stay at the Hotel d'Europe is unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel d'Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel d Europe
d Europe Hotel Avignon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing