We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Elegant Hotel”
Review of Hotel d'Europe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel d'Europe
Ranked #3 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“An Elegant Hotel”
Reviewed 10 July 2011

All round a very satisfying experience and one which we would recommend. We stayed in Hotel D'Europe for 3 nights and given it was our honeymoon - we were upgraded to a beautiful and spacious deluxe room which really made our stay. Staff are friendly and helpful and the location is great. Enjoy.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gunsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    528
    164
    42
    14
    5
See reviews for
76
482
29
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, CA
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

This was our third/fourth visit to the elegant Hotel d'Europe and it more than lived up to our expectations. We were on a split trip, spending several days with our son and then returning the next week with our daughter and her family, including two teenagers. Consequently, we had five rooms over the course of a week. Each room was beautifully and uniquely decorated. We were all impressed with the wonderful beds and luxurious linens and toiletries.
The reception personnel, especially Anna, was most welcoming and helpful. They assisted us with dinner reservations, confirmed our train schedule and stored our luggage during the interim between our stays.
All in all, we couldn't have been happier and hope to visit this special place again someday.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charm8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

We loved hotel d'Europe.  Location was right in town and convenient to walk everywhere.  As soon as we arrived, a hotel worker quickly greeted us to park our car and take our luggage to our room.   Everyone at the hotel is friendly and helpful. Our first night we dined at the hotel and the dinner was fabulous. Served in the hotel courtyard, our food and wine was delicious.  We had a simple three course meal interlaced with unexpected intermezzos. The have a simple and tasty bar menu.  The smoked salmon was terrific.  They provided excellent recommendations for our other dinners and places to visit.  Our room was perfectly clean and large.  Bed was very comfortable, bathroom was large and luxurious, and there was a large closet. Decorations were quintessential Provence. Overall outstanding in every aspect.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2011

We only spent one night at the hotel as a stop over on our way to Bonnieux for a week. We booked a small classic room which met our needs for one night. The room was clean the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was modern. The breakfast in the morning was very good. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brucepod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2011

We absolutely loved this beautiful hotel. The rooms are spacious and furnished with lovely period furniture. The bathroom was equally beautiful, clean and with gowns, slippers, toiletries - in fact, the gown was so luxurious that I bought one to take home. The staff were so friendly and efficient and the hotel itself was just fantastic - loved everything about it and will definitely stay there again if we get back to Avignon.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoLoSydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Stayed for 2 night last week. The hotel environment was classic and historical. Its located inside the old city wall, close to the river Rhone and city centre.
We got ' upgraded' to a bigger room 123, which is not in the main part of the building. The room was spacious, over looking court yard. The bathroom was clean and big with separate shower, bath and toilet room. However, the bed was rather small and uneven.
The staff were friendly and helpful, but our room were never got serviced on the day we were there, which is not acceptable by any hotel standards.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lily_UK_China
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Simply fabulous. We did not get a chance to stay in the hotel itself but had a dinner at the restaurant and it was wonderful. Superb cuisine, wonderful staff, great wine list. Highly recommended....

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#8 of 69 in Avignon
1,488 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
774 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Mirande Hotel
La Mirande Hotel
#5 of 69 in Avignon
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
945 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
0.5 mi away
Avignon Grand Hotel
Avignon Grand Hotel
#15 of 69 in Avignon
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Europe

Property: Hotel d'Europe
Address: 12 Place Crillon, 84000, Avignon, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Avignon
#2 Luxury Hotel in Avignon
#5 Family Hotel in Avignon
#8 Business Hotel in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel d'Europe 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent 16th century, completely re-modeled in the 18th, and continually modernized since then, the Hotel d'Europe is one of the oldest hotels in France. It occupies an ideal location at the centre of Avignon. In this timeless place, our hospitality is offered discretely and with warmth by a loyal and dedicated team. Its 39 rooms and 5 suites, decorated luxuriously but simply, offer exceptional comfort. La Vieille Fontaine restaurant is idyllic. Its beautiful shaded terrace and elegant dining room are the perfect settings for enjoying fine dining and famous cuisine. Just two steps from the Popes' Palace, the Hotel d'Europe is also located only 50 yards from the entrance through the ancient city walls. This central location is also the ideal starting point for your visit to Provence. From Avignon, it is easy to explore and discover this magical region. Our experienced Tourist hostess offers unique tours, from Orange through the Gard to Marseille, the Luberon, Aix-en-Provence, or Châteauneuf-du-Pape. Legend has it that a stay at the Hotel d'Europe is unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel d'Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel d Europe
d Europe Hotel Avignon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing