We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel d'Europe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel d'Europe
Ranked #3 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Great location, very friendly staff and a fantastic courtyard terrace, complete with old world charm.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gazpedraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    505
    154
    40
    14
    5
See reviews for
71
460
28
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rosemead
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our weeklong stay at Hotel d"Europe. The staff was wonderful, not at all snobby as we feared and although they were bilingual, they enjoyed our attempts to speak French. We reserved the cheapest room which they upgraded to something fit for Napoleon without our asking (they said because we were staying so long). They helped us with all our travel questions and all the staff were helpful and kind. The hotel is lovely. We found the restaurant too elegant and pricey for our tastes, but we ate breakfast there anyway for convenience because we wanted to get going early on tours, etc. The one dinner we had there was fine, but not better than we can get in L.A. The bar food and service was good as well with a beautiful patio.

Room Tip: We stayed a week rather than have to keep changing hotels to see nearby sites and the hotel upgraded...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

What a charming hotel in a nice location.
The hotel is within easy walking to all major attractions in Avignon.
The staff is friendly and attentive. They had helped booked a tour for me weeks before my arrival. When I arrived at hotel at noon, my room was not ready, but they drew me a map of the city, and where to go have lunch and the sights to see. It took me the rest of the afternoon to cover the sights recommended, and when I am back, my room was ready.
They even offer to show me different room layouts to see which I would prefer. I ended up picking a room with its own entrance in the courtyard, almost like my own walkup apartment. It was quiet and the furnishing classic and bathroom fixtures modern.
Breakfast in the courtyard was an experience with the shades of the trees and sound of the fountain.
I highly recommend the hotel, worth every penny.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cambmass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY/Westport/Provence
Level Contributor
330 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 427 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

I have written several reviews regarding this exemplary 5* of a hotel and you can read them under my reviews. All I can say is that if anything..it keeps getting better. The summer dinner in the Garden made it six stars. Fernando solved a myriad of problems and I just sent a family member on their anniversary trip. Read my reviews..they are right on the money. You simply can't make a better choice!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeTerrible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

In our opinion Avignon is not blessed with 5 star hotels but the Hotel de Europe is a really elegant and lovely provincial hotel which is very well situated for exploring the lovely city of Avignon on foot and good for striking out into the Luberon if you still wish to stay in a city. Check in was so straightforward and staff helpful and freindly . Some aspects of the room were a little tired but don't let this detract from the overall subtle elegance of this hotel. The courtyard is a real gem with the hotels well heeled clients enjoying either a glass of champagne or dinner in the shade whilst listening to the resident pianist. Definately worth a visit if staying in the area.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianoona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shellharbour, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

Great hotel with a medieval ambiance. The rooms are large with high wooden beam ceilings, old paintings on the wall. The bathroom was huge with a separate shower and plenty of toiletries. The hotel is set back from a square which has several cafes all of which serve local food. No complaints about the staff, they were very helpful when required.
Wilko87

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilko87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

All round a very satisfying experience and one which we would recommend. We stayed in Hotel D'Europe for 3 nights and given it was our honeymoon - we were upgraded to a beautiful and spacious deluxe room which really made our stay. Staff are friendly and helpful and the location is great. Enjoy.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gunsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#5 of 69 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
3.6 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Mirande Hotel
La Mirande Hotel
#8 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
0.2 mi away
Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Europe

Property: Hotel d'Europe
Address: 12 Place Crillon, 84000, Avignon, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Avignon
#2 Luxury Hotel in Avignon
#5 Family Hotel in Avignon
#8 Business Hotel in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel d'Europe 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent 16th century, completely re-modeled in the 18th, and continually modernized since then, the Hotel d'Europe is one of the oldest hotels in France. It occupies an ideal location at the centre of Avignon. In this timeless place, our hospitality is offered discretely and with warmth by a loyal and dedicated team. Its 39 rooms and 5 suites, decorated luxuriously but simply, offer exceptional comfort. La Vieille Fontaine restaurant is idyllic. Its beautiful shaded terrace and elegant dining room are the perfect settings for enjoying fine dining and famous cuisine. Just two steps from the Popes' Palace, the Hotel d'Europe is also located only 50 yards from the entrance through the ancient city walls. This central location is also the ideal starting point for your visit to Provence. From Avignon, it is easy to explore and discover this magical region. Our experienced Tourist hostess offers unique tours, from Orange through the Gard to Marseille, the Luberon, Aix-en-Provence, or Châteauneuf-du-Pape. Legend has it that a stay at the Hotel d'Europe is unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel d'Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel d Europe
d Europe Hotel Avignon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing