We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Hotel in a perfect location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel d'Europe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel d'Europe
Ranked #3 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel in a perfect location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

A great location from which to explore Avignon. The staff was courteous and friendly. The restaurant has one Michelin star and has earned it as far as I am concerned. The only issue I had was street noise. I recommend getting a room overlooking the courtyard.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    504
    154
    40
    14
    5
See reviews for
71
460
28
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Hotel d'Europe has a delightful location in Avignon to explore the city.

Rooms are clean and delightful.
Restaurant is available and nice if you do not wish to explore the near by places
Staff is friendly and helpful.


Return Rating: Green

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javea ALICANTE
Level Contributor
141 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

From the moment we arrived, the pampering started, first they took the car key, the staff then took over the luggage whilst we checked in,very like "arriving home" was the reception, especially for our two little dogs.We had a junior suite with terrace,again mostly for the dogs, the suite was huge and very nice. We ate in the Michelin Star Restaurant, food was very good, but lacked atmosphere, mainly due to the lack of guets's, but the attention to detail of the dishes was Michelin standard.We would return

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach
Level Contributor
147 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Hospitality starts and ends with service. Adhering to this industry postulate should be both rational and intuitive. However, sadly, it is not. Many luxury properties fail to deliver when it comes to service.

They may offer their guests beautiful suites, luxurious spas, Michelin star dining experiences, but they fail when it comes to caring, kindness, empathy, passion, loyalty, and genuine smiles. They often talk the talk, but fail miserably when it comes to the proverbial walk. I cannot tell you how many times I have seen lack of training and failure to deploy common sense show themselves at Palace designated hotels or 5 star resorts, only to exacerbate the initial offense by fake excuses and insulting, petty "gifts". Not to delve into truly bad taste, but (solely by way of analogy) I sometimes feel that managers' actions in their attempt to address guests' complaints are tantamount to rapists, sending their victims a "Thank You" card.

With that said, I think that Sergio and the staff at the Hotel D'Europe understand the industry. This boutique property's reviews on Tripadvisor and elsewhere attest to this. They were caring, kind, thoughtful, and as Sergio pointed out, "wanted to make us happy". We received great value and awesome rooms at Hotel D'Europe. We will be back.

Here are a few additional notes: this property and La Merande are the two top hotels in Avignon. This property has a Michelin restaurant, which we have not had a chance to experience, but the breakfast was excellent in both food and service. I would recommend getting one of the bigger rooms together the true comfort this property exudes. It is old world at its most charming.

Room Tip: Get the bigger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YuriVanetik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

Arriving late after driving up from Marseilles, it was a relief to hand over the keys of the car to the smiling valet rather than having to search out a rare parking space inside the walls of the city. That set the relaxed tone of the whole stay - the staff at this hotel are friendly, welcoming and extremely helpful.
Only a standard room was available at the time we booked but it was a good size, wonderfully quiet as it overlooked a small internal courtyard, and spotlessly clean. The bed was huge and super comfy.
Everything in Avignon is within walking distance but, should you not feel like venturing out there is a restaurant in-house (where a buffet breakfast is served each morning) or the more informal bar - we only sampled dinner in the latter, the food was lovely (remember to leave room for the patisserie of the day!). Otherwise step out into the Place de Crillon and you'll find several bars and restaurants right on the doorstep.
Unlike some hotels that claim free wi-fi, it actually works at the Hotel d'Europe and there are a couple of computers/printers available in the comfortable public areas.
In summary this is a lovely place to stay - I rarely use the word "charming" but it sums up this hotel perfectly.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ajh8368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

The hotel was very well located, int he center of the city. The staff were very accomodating and had very good advice on the restaurants. Just a note, because we went in October they do not have air conditioning. However, they provided us with a fan and it worked just as well. Because we stayed for two nights, our room was on the first floor. Not to worry, there wasn't any noise and we had a balcony facing the court yard, which was wonderful! Good place to sit and relax.

Room Tip: If you can try to get a higher floor, for the view. However, first floor is fine and the church bel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giovi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

This review is from someone who typically likes and stays at Westin, Hyatt, Marriott nad Hilton hotels. I tend not to like smal old boutique hotels. Nonetheless, I loved the Hotel d'Europe.

First off, the entire staff....reception, housekeeping, valet, porters, breakfast folks, wre all terrific. Friendly, helpful and professional.

My wife and spent six nights in a Prestige category room. It was large, well furnished and designed, had a huge double sink bathroom with a large rainforest shower and large tub, good storage space and great air-conditioning. The only complaint I had was the the mattress was too firm.

Breakfast was good and reasonably priced. Mini-bar prices were reasonable.

The location was OK. There wasn't much in the immediate vicinity of the hotel other than a few bad restaurants and a loud nightclub. Most of the better restaurants and clubs were at least one-half mile distant on mostly deserted (at night) streets
I would advise anyone who is sensitive to noise to request a quiet room when you make your reservation. I would also suggest that you let the hotel know of any other special desires. The staff will gladly work with you in finding a room that meets you needs.

I did peek in a standard room while it was being serviced. It was small, really tiny, and did not seem as well-furnished and maintained as our room

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank PickyAboutHotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#6 of 69 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
3.6 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Mirande Hotel
La Mirande Hotel
#8 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
0.2 mi away
Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Europe

Property: Hotel d'Europe
Address: 12 Place Crillon, 84000, Avignon, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Avignon
#2 Luxury Hotel in Avignon
#5 Family Hotel in Avignon
#8 Business Hotel in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel d'Europe 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent 16th century, completely re-modeled in the 18th, and continually modernized since then, the Hotel d'Europe is one of the oldest hotels in France. It occupies an ideal location at the centre of Avignon. In this timeless place, our hospitality is offered discretely and with warmth by a loyal and dedicated team. Its 39 rooms and 5 suites, decorated luxuriously but simply, offer exceptional comfort. La Vieille Fontaine restaurant is idyllic. Its beautiful shaded terrace and elegant dining room are the perfect settings for enjoying fine dining and famous cuisine. Just two steps from the Popes' Palace, the Hotel d'Europe is also located only 50 yards from the entrance through the ancient city walls. This central location is also the ideal starting point for your visit to Provence. From Avignon, it is easy to explore and discover this magical region. Our experienced Tourist hostess offers unique tours, from Orange through the Gard to Marseille, the Luberon, Aix-en-Provence, or Châteauneuf-du-Pape. Legend has it that a stay at the Hotel d'Europe is unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel d'Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel d Europe
d Europe Hotel Avignon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing