We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, friendly staff”
Review of Hotel d'Europe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel d'Europe
Ranked #3 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Good location, friendly staff”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Located near the city wall, broken bridge, pope's palace and the old town, this hotel has all the advantages of a good tourist hotel. It has a very nice entrance courtyard, which makes this place very charming. The staff here are very friendly and helpful. They also arranged a very good private tour guide, MIKA, for us, to take us around Provence for 2 days. Apparently she only works with the hotel, and you can book her time/private tour in advance if you stay here. This hotel also has a michelin starred restaurant, which serves wonderfu french cuisine. Rooms are a bit small for that price, but comfortable enough for a short stay.

Room Tip: Ask for room with courtyard view, may be a bit noisy at night, but the view is so charming
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PFirst123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    528
    164
    42
    14
    5
See reviews for
76
482
29
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Only here one night, but thoroughly enjoyed it. Nice, large room (no view). Bathroom facilities were "unusual", but fine....Dual vanities, tub/shower & bidet in one area - WC in another area further away. All staff very friendly, polite and helpful - gave great tips on best touring times to avoid crowds. Liked where hotel is situated - just inside the city walls and away (but easily accessed) from the busy squares and market. Also, very easy to walk down to the Rhone and pick up our cruise.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LLKJJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
282 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We had a lovely stay at the Hotel D'Europe. While it was a very nice stay, I can't say that it was as fabulous as some of the other reviewers suggest. It has an old world charm and was definately an oasis for us after wandering around in the heat on our day trips. The airconditioning in our room was a bit hard to maintain and we finally realized if we closed all the doors, bathroom, anteroom, etc then it was easier to cool down. The other couple we traveled with had a separate shower stall and bathtub that would have been nice for us as well. A strange design that I attribute to the age of the building and infrastructure limits was the toilet was in a room by the front door but there was no sink to wash hands. So you needed to open the door to the bedroom and then to the bathroom with the shower to wash. A bit odd and not the most sanitary. The sheets were pristine but not what I would call luxuriously soft. We both commented that we felt like we were sleeping on emory boards. It may sound picky, but I feel like if I'm spending $600 a night for a room I want to feel like I'm getting $600 a night amenities. We had the superior room which was a step up from the classique. The hotel staff was all very friendly, however, when asking for reservations for dinner they fell short. We also asked for information on bike rides. Before we arrived in Avignon, we received an e-mail telling us they looked forward to our visit and if there was anything they could do to help facilitiate our trip to let them know. We did e-mail twice and received no response. We wanted to see about renting bikes for a day. Upon arrival we asked again and were told they would get us information. After waiting a day or two with no response we were told that they could get us bikes for 60 euro a person for the day. We inquired on our own and secured them for 12 euro for the day. I think it would have been nice to be given the option of 60 euro per person and they will bring the bikes to you or 12 euro per person but you get it yourself. If we hadn't checked we would have just assumed it was 60 euro. Breakfast each morning was so pleasant. Isabelle is a gem. She is darling, young lady, who made each morning a pleasure. Keep in mind that if you have a car to park, it is a bit of a challenge to get the car in front of the building. Very narrow street and you have to pull it onto the sidewalk to allow other cars to get by. Not a big deal but if you think you are just going to pull up and have your car whisked away it's a bit more complicated than that. I think this is the best hotel in Avignon because after seeing the options, we were so happy we chose this hotel and location. It was a nice way stop for us to explore Provence. I would like to mention that there was a music festival going on while we were there. The rooms facing the street are not sound proof and we were up until 2am listening to the noise. Not very sound proofed at all. July in Avignon hosts a 3 week festival so if you are noise sensitive or value your sleep this may not be for you.

Room Tip: Try and stay away from the street side. It may help avoid the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This hotel is just inside the ramparts of Avignon and just steps to the Palais des Papes and an easy walk to all the other tourist sites. The rooms are well appointed with a very generous size bathroom and a shower that doesn't flood the floor as many European showers do. In addition to the standard pricey buffet breakfast they have an a la carte menu that allows for a reasonably priced light breakfast before heading out for the day.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EH10014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Healdsburg, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We had one of the lower priced "classique" rooms facing a street but in spite of that it was very comfortable and we had no trouble sleeping. The hotel itself is old but beautiful with a wonderful shady courtyard and a handsome breakfast area. After a long tour day we were grateful to be able to relax and get a nice meal, from the bar, but served out in the courtyard. We were also pleased with the location which had easy access for taxis/vans to pick up passengers and was also convenient for walking to the sights in Avignon. We did have one conmplaint about the cost of the laundry service. Maybe this is standard in all hotels but it seemed way overpriced to us and we ended up taking our laundry out. Overall, however, we had a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: The "classique" rooms are small but a great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormond Beach
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Rarely do you find that perfect mix of luxurious comfort, local character, great service and historical presence in one hotel. We agonized for months on where exactly to headquarter ourselves to best explore Provence and finally decided on this hotel after recommendations from tour guides, travel agents and Rick Steves. We could not have been happier! There were four of us in three rooms and we stayed for 6 nights in authentic old world luxury. We booked Classic rooms but were upgraded to Prestige category upon arrival. The rooms were very spacious and tastefully furnished with comfortable antique furniture and loads of Provencal character. There were Languedocienne antiques and museum quality art and tapestries decorating the public areas throughout the hotel. Our stay was flawless from arrival to departure. The highlights:

1. Service- The excellent service started with the prompt and professional communication via email prior to our arrival with arrangement of transportation from the train station and private walking tours on our first day. I was greeted by name on arrival by the bellman and front desk staff and throughout my stay. We utilized the concierge liberally for restaurant recommendations, setting up massages, sightseeing and transportation and were consistently happy with their services. Housekeeping was similarly friendly and efficient. The service at the restaurant and bar was also at the high level one would expect from a Michelin Star rated establishment.

2. Food and Beverage- Wow! We had dinner at La Vielle Fontaine (the Hotel's Michelin star rated restaurant) and are happy to report that yes, it was ALL THAT... We caught the tail end of truffle season so were able to enjoy 'The Truffle Menu' in all of its glory. The food and wine selections were outstanding and the gastronomic highlight of our trip, which is saying something. Dinner was a 3 1/2 hour long 10+ course affair that was meant to be savored and was. Breakfast every morning was also very high quality and the drinks in the courtyard were delightful under the ancient Plane trees after a long day sightseeing through the Luberon or at the Pont Du Gard.

Would we stay here again? ABSOLUTELY!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkOrmondBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abilene, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel in 2012. Recommended by friends of ours in Paris, the hotel did not disappoint. It is a 5-Star Michelin so expect to pay a little more. Is located inside the ancient city walls and can walk all of the old city from the hotel. Only a few minutes to the castle of the Popes. Is a great place to visit with many historical and architectural features. Hotel service is first class. Try to get a room with two beds, they are larger, and on a low floor. Restaurant is excellent. Lunch, however, has good food but service is very slow. And, do not try to book a tour to surrounding areas through the hotel. We found that very difficult to do and finally booked on our own. But great place to stay. We have not stayed there since but will do so again if in the area.

Room Tip: See above, low floor (no elevator though) and get two beds -- rooms are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel de l'Horloge
#8 of 69 in Avignon
1,488 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
773 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
La Mirande Hotel
#5 of 69 in Avignon
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
No photo provided
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
945 reviews
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Avignon Grand Hotel
#15 of 69 in Avignon
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Europe

Property: Hotel d'Europe
Address: 12 Place Crillon, 84000, Avignon, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Avignon
#2 Luxury Hotel in Avignon
#5 Family Hotel in Avignon
#8 Business Hotel in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel d'Europe 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent 16th century, completely re-modeled in the 18th, and continually modernized since then, the Hotel d'Europe is one of the oldest hotels in France. It occupies an ideal location at the centre of Avignon. In this timeless place, our hospitality is offered discretely and with warmth by a loyal and dedicated team. Its 39 rooms and 5 suites, decorated luxuriously but simply, offer exceptional comfort. La Vieille Fontaine restaurant is idyllic. Its beautiful shaded terrace and elegant dining room are the perfect settings for enjoying fine dining and famous cuisine. Just two steps from the Popes' Palace, the Hotel d'Europe is also located only 50 yards from the entrance through the ancient city walls. This central location is also the ideal starting point for your visit to Provence. From Avignon, it is easy to explore and discover this magical region. Our experienced Tourist hostess offers unique tours, from Orange through the Gard to Marseille, the Luberon, Aix-en-Provence, or Châteauneuf-du-Pape. Legend has it that a stay at the Hotel d'Europe is unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel d'Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel d Europe
d Europe Hotel Avignon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing