We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Large and elegant guestrooms in historic building” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel d'Europe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel d'Europe
Ranked #3 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Large and elegant guestrooms in historic building”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2011

Small hotel with beautiful facilities and a very nice staff. Guestrooms vas astonishingly spacious and beautifully decorated. A little expensive but I guess the high standard and level of service defends the price they charge you. The gourmet restaurant serves lunch and dinner, and the bar has a lovely feeling. The hotels own tour guide is friendly and knows the region well. We hope to come back!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SpringfieldUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    496
    154
    40
    14
    5
See reviews for
70
456
27
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2011

What a brilliant hotel in every possible way!
Upon arrival we were greeted nicely by the concierge who advised us that he would manage our bags and park the car for us and all we had to do was check-in and 'relax'. Hotel d'Europe was certainly the hotel for that! Huge Double Rooms along with an incredibly helpful and friendly front desk made sight-seeing that much easier and our stay that much more enjoyable!
The Hotel has a fantastic history with a decent sized courtyard at the front on the hotel
Excellent location and a great selection for breakfast,
Would definitely stay here again! Perfect.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chris_mayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2010

Great place to stay. Rooms were clean and equipped with very high quality amenities. The bed was a bit too fluffy which i would pick as the only one drawback.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Younsung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2010

I have stayed here many times and I am always satisfied. The restaurant was closed for dinner during our stay but we had dinner in the bar and it was great. Breakfast was wonderful. The staff is friendly and helpful. Loved the internet access-very fast. The rooms are pretty with nice big bathrooms.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank momandktravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2010

We stayed at Hotel d'Europe with another couple for two nights in Sept 2010 -- WOW. Beautiful hotel (just awarded 5 stars) and very relaxing courtyard. The hotel staff were friendly, went out of their way for us and made us feel really special. First trip to Avignon -- we all enjoyed a Pastis in the courtyard and loved every minute of our stay. We highly recommend booking a walking tour through the hotel staff -- our guide was Mika and we spent an amazing two hours walking through the town. The morning continental buffet was superb! There is a nice square just outside the hotel wall with plenty of tables and food. This hotel is approx four blocks from the Palais de Papes and everything is within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Papa-201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2010

What a beautiful place to stay in Avignon...and so close to all the sights. We loved our stay at the Hotel d" Europe

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

We stayed two nights at Hotel d’Europe. It is an older and charming hotel with all of the amenities you’d expect from a luxury property. Their staff is professional and efficient. Our standard room with a large bathroom (separate tub and shower) was well equipped and overlooked the hotel courtyard where people would sit with a coffee or drink which at times was a bit noisy but not terrible. The real noise came at night when road construction directly across the street kept us awake. When asked we were told that nighttime construction from 10 p.m. – 6 a.m. was coincidentally, just taking place the two nights we happened to be there. You might want to verify this before checking in.

Parking is not included and pricey but typical of city hotels - It’s easiest to let the valet park for you and avoid the headache. We ordered breakfast á la carte (which was very good) so didn’t have the fixed price breakfast which was expensive and while it looked substantial, had a lot of items we wouldn’t eat.

Overall a nice hotel but we were disappointed that given their high level of service, they would book the rooms that they knew would be noisy during the night construction without saying anything.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheetahwhisperer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#7 of 69 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,363 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Mirande Hotel
La Mirande Hotel
#8 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
0.2 mi away
Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Europe

Property: Hotel d'Europe
Address: 12 Place Crillon, 84000, Avignon, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Avignon
#2 Luxury Hotel in Avignon
#5 Family Hotel in Avignon
#8 Business Hotel in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel d'Europe 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent 16th century, completely re-modeled in the 18th, and continually modernized since then, the Hotel d'Europe is one of the oldest hotels in France. It occupies an ideal location at the centre of Avignon. In this timeless place, our hospitality is offered discretely and with warmth by a loyal and dedicated team. Its 39 rooms and 5 suites, decorated luxuriously but simply, offer exceptional comfort. La Vieille Fontaine restaurant is idyllic. Its beautiful shaded terrace and elegant dining room are the perfect settings for enjoying fine dining and famous cuisine. Just two steps from the Popes' Palace, the Hotel d'Europe is also located only 50 yards from the entrance through the ancient city walls. This central location is also the ideal starting point for your visit to Provence. From Avignon, it is easy to explore and discover this magical region. Our experienced Tourist hostess offers unique tours, from Orange through the Gard to Marseille, the Luberon, Aix-en-Provence, or Châteauneuf-du-Pape. Legend has it that a stay at the Hotel d'Europe is unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel d'Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel d Europe
d Europe Hotel Avignon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing