We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel d'Angleterre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel d'Angleterre
Ranked #43 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
68 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

The hotel has several advantages, the hotel staff to start with, then parking on private grounds and location. THe hotel is situated within two or three blocks from the main street in Avignon which means that you can walk everywhere between the Palais des Papes to the Museums and Churches etc.. Nice cafés and restaurants, shopping areas all around.
The room was a bit outdated but was very clean and confortable so we will be back

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IsabelVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    107
    80
    25
    15
See reviews for
28
149
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York, USA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night, and the hotel had the basic amenities. The rooms however are quite dated, and there are quite a few quirks - like no curtains for the shower, very few power sockets, etc. We also had a very cold welcome on arrival and were not able to get any info from the front desk about local areas later that day. We stayed here for private parking, but were informed n arrival that it was full - thankfully they have some spaces on the road that guests can use overnight. Overall, it was okay given the price but we would not stay here again.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vikram O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg
Level Contributor
81 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

Used this hotel as our base for exploring Provence. Hotel staff provided great advice for starting on our daily excursions and our GPS did the rest. Additionally, when our credit card got blocked, the hotel went out of its way to help us identify and fix the problem. This was our second stay at d'Angleterre and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Best rooms are those front onto the terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Midwest_Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
67 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

We like to stay at French hotels in traditional style, with high ceilings etc. Therefore, we became fond of this one. Another advantage was the possibility of parking in the hotel's private grounds. Otherwise it is hard to find parking in A. Perhaps reception and breakfast room were too modern, had been cosier with a renovation in a traditional style. A pleasant overnight stay.

Room Tip: No problem, it is a calm area
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burt64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
84 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

The hotel is in a residential area within the walled city with nothing much nearby than a Vietnamese restaurant a slimming clinic and an organic bakery. Train statioon is at a 10 mins walk. The hotel was half empty and we got a fairly large room with a balcony in the front. I imagine during the season traffic can get quite noisy. The hotel got a seventies feel with a golden false ceiling in the bathroom with pink tiles and fairly outdated fittings. But for Avignon standards the room price is affordable. And although the location is not that central, everything in
The walled city of Avignon is at walking distance. Big plus: free car parking. The staff at the receptiom desk kept changing all the time. All quite friendly especially one belgian guy who speeks his languages.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RTM_wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012 via mobile

the staff here was amazingly helpful! wish i had more time here.threw beds the best in France by American standards. Wonderful location, quite residential neighborhood with in the walled city.threw best and has parking for drivers. Can't say enough.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TriFri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

Given that D'Angleterre is a 2 star hotel and the fairly low price, I can't fault it. It's neat, basic, in need of a little TLC but there's nothing to complain about unless you have high expectations. Staff are friendly and it's a short walk to the city centre or bus to the TGV station. Quiet location but doors from other guest rooms easily audible.

If you want to save a bit on accommodation then this hotel is worth a look.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Avignon Centre
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mignon
Hotel Mignon
#21 of 69 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boquier
Hotel Boquier
#22 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Avignon Centre Pont de l'Europe
0.4 mi away
Avignon Hotel Monclar
Avignon Hotel Monclar
#44 of 69 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Colbert
Hotel Le Colbert
#14 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Angleterre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Angleterre

Property: Hotel d'Angleterre
Address: 29 boulevard Raspail, 84000, Avignon, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel d'Angleterre 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All our 39 rooms are comfortable with bath or shower, toilets, television with Canal + , Canal Satellite , direct phone dial and plug for computer. A car park closed and free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel d'Angleterre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d Angleterre Hotel Avignon
Hotel d Angleterre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing