We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and location”
Review of Hotel d'Angleterre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel d'Angleterre
Ranked #41 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
184 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Great service and location”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We arrived here a bit late.. the person working at the front desk helped us to find a parking spot.. and the room is big and so clean.. I am impressed by their service. I wish I could stay more nights there.. I noticed the location is so close to train station. I would recommend this hotel to my friends. and they also recommended us some good local restaurants. We loved the food. Thank you. The staffs are very helpful.. I think you would enjoy the stay at this hotel.. plus, if you check in early. you will have parking spot at their private parking.

Room Tip: be there early, they have a private parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lifecity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    112
    82
    26
    16
See reviews for
29
156
17
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

The hotel is a short walk from the train station and from the post office where the TGV shuttle bus stops.
There is a nice modern reception and the staff are helpful and have good english.
The room however, was disappointing with tired fixtures and fittings, no shower curtain or fixture for securing the shower head. There is a very small flat screened TV with no English channel. The place was clean.
The location is very good. Easy walking to most sites. Plenty of good local restaurants. Avignon is really well worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank almipal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Avignon hotels

Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

The hotel is in a great position, close to everything. The room was basic but clean and the staff were very helpful, breakfast was lovely.It was in a very quiet street so there was no noise issuse.This hotel was perfect for a quick stay in Avignon.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hayse63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Down a quiet street in Avignon you will find Hotel D'Angleterre. EZ to find as you walk towards town from the station and turn left at the Irish pub on the corner.
Family run hotel that offers very good personal service to all its guests. Offers a good continental breakfast in a spacious dining room. I stayed for 4 nights and the rate was good value for accomadation. Lift in the hotel.
Car parking available on a first in basis.

Room Tip: I had room 28 which was a twin with a spacious bathroom and seperate toilet. It also had a large bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SOIO61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
422 reviews
165 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

I was on a tour and stayed here twice in one week. The first room was small, run-down, and the bathroom had a sewer smell. The second room was in better repair, adequate, no sewer smell. As others have noted, the location is good and the staff speaks good English and is friendly. Has its own garage. Intermittent internet.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank formershrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
608 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Within easy walking distance to the central train line and buses. The location is quiet but within easy walking distance to major attractions of Avignon. Rooms are not a bad size but a shower curtain would be a great advantage. The terrace is lovely to sit on and enjoy a quiet drink or sandwich, but could just be modernised a bit. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms on 1st floor have easy access to balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mon55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
67 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

The hotel has several advantages, the hotel staff to start with, then parking on private grounds and location. THe hotel is situated within two or three blocks from the main street in Avignon which means that you can walk everywhere between the Palais des Papes to the Museums and Churches etc.. Nice cafés and restaurants, shopping areas all around.
The room was a bit outdated but was very clean and confortable so we will be back

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IsabelVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Avignon Centre Pont de l'Europe
0.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Avignon Centre
0.4 mi away
Altera Roma Hotel
Altera Roma Hotel
#45 of 69 in Avignon
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Colbert
Hotel Le Colbert
#13 of 69 in Avignon
465 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Magnan Hotel
Le Magnan Hotel
#22 of 69 in Avignon
85 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bristol Hotel
Bristol Hotel
#25 of 69 in Avignon
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Angleterre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Angleterre

Property: Hotel d'Angleterre
Address: 29 boulevard Raspail, 84000, Avignon, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel d'Angleterre 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All our 39 rooms are comfortable with bath or shower, toilets, television with Canal + , Canal Satellite , direct phone dial and plug for computer. A car park closed and free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel d'Angleterre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d Angleterre Hotel Avignon
Hotel d Angleterre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing