We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel d'Angleterre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel d'Angleterre
Ranked #42 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Manchester
Level Contributor
1,158 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 589 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We had two nights at the Hotel D'Angleterre and absolutely loved it. Avignon is one of the most beautiful cities we've seen and it made a great base from which to explore it - just five minutes walk to the centre.

Parking is limited but free and we got a spot both days. Wifi is again free and is strong all over the hotel. Our room was fairly standard for this level of hotel and, although the bed could have been comfier, it had everything we needed and we slept well both nights.

The thing that really made it for us was we were given Room 11 - we were in for a wonderful surprise !! As we dropped our bags down, we opened the shutters at the end of the room and, wow, we walked straight out onto a fabulous terrace with seating, tables and overlooking a beautiful old church. We spent lots of time out there and it made a very good stay into an excellent one.

If we go back to Avignon , we go back to this hotel!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Off their P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    107
    80
    26
    15
See reviews for
28
150
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, UK
Level Contributor
202 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Perfect location close to the very centre but away from noise and mobs, in an elegant area within the city walls.
My room was a good size, clean, great wardrobe, bathroom with separate toilet, lots of towels and free toiletries
Breakfast is nice abd staff is very kind and helpful.
Very good value for money, very comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arimaior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brsitol
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Wasn't the best hotel I stayed in in France but by no means the worst. Easy to find and the parking was helpful in this city. Fairly good location within the walls. Rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff helpful. The breakfast was a little souless but it was a good steady hotel

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_Jessop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

The saying is "you get what you pay for", and that's all that really can be said about this place. After reading the reviews I thought I had a bargain, but apart from the location and parking, it was dissapointing to say the least. The rooms are very basic, and the bathrooms, well!! ours had no shower curtain, no rubber mat, nowhere to actually hang the shower head, and of course I slipped and nearly broke my neck. The day reception staff seemed quite friendly, but the thoroughly unfriendly, obnoxious evening reception chap, should be asked to take a course in manners. Imagine having to explain in front of other guest exactly why you would need extra toilet paper!!! The "free" wifi is pretty useless as well. I will not return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jdgoode007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

I have now stayed at this hotel seven times, because t ticks all my personal boxes. The staff and management are always most friendly and helpful. I try to book up my room on the first floor, because it opens out onto a terrace, furnished with garden tables and chairs. Bliss! My room was clean and comfortable, considering it's price. Obviously, it would not suit those who are seeking superior and luxurious accommodation that is available in hotels with more stars. Likewise it does not have an "in house" restaurant. However it does have a very good continental breakfast bar. If one is arriving by car, it is worth enquiring in advance about the on-site secure parking.
The hotel is well placed inside the city walls. It is within easy walking distance to rail and coach stations, the tourist office, shops, and many famous attractions.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quiet. I have no experience of those on the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

The tourist information in Avignon recommended the 3 stars Hotel D'Angleterre because they have free parking and internet. We didn't expect much from this hotel but had a nice surprise. The location is inside the old city wall, near the center, with nice, quiet, standard rooms, TV, elevator, free wifi and secure parking, good buffet breakfast. Excellent service. So decided to select this hotel as our hotel for our tour at the Provance. We stayed 3 nights.

Room Tip: Good Value for what you pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Avi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Hotel d'Angleterre is situated on a small, very quiet, and unassuming street near the center of Avignon. It is centrally located (close to Avignon's main street - Rue de la Republique) and is an easy walk with luggage from Avignon's central training station.

The hotel staff is very welcoming and friendly. They all spoke good English and had patiently assisted us with various restaurant tips and other travel advice during our one-day stay at the hotel.

On the hotel's ground floor there are four "Premier" class bigger rooms which are clean, renovated and better furnished. These are the best rooms in the hotel and they are costlier by about 20-30 Euro from the other hotel rooms which, particularly those on the higher floors, are drab and grey.

There is a very slow internet terminal in the lobby. The room we had did not have a shower, only a bath with a handheld shower head – but there was plenty of hot water.

Breakfast is provided in a large dining room on the ground floor and a free buffet of expanded continental breakfast items is provided.

Overall, a decent and functional stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spinacia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Avignon Centre
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mignon
Hotel Mignon
#21 of 69 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boquier
Hotel Boquier
#22 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Avignon Centre Pont de l'Europe
0.4 mi away
Avignon Hotel Monclar
Avignon Hotel Monclar
#44 of 69 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Colbert
Hotel Le Colbert
#13 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Angleterre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Angleterre

Property: Hotel d'Angleterre
Address: 29 boulevard Raspail, 84000, Avignon, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel d'Angleterre 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All our 39 rooms are comfortable with bath or shower, toilets, television with Canal + , Canal Satellite , direct phone dial and plug for computer. A car park closed and free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel d'Angleterre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d Angleterre Hotel Avignon
Hotel d Angleterre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing