We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best is the location”
Review of Danieli Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Danieli Hotel
Ranked #61 of 68 Hotels in Avignon
Reviewed 13 April 2013

the hotel itself is not great but for a short business trip okay. Bedding could be better and so on, but the price for being in this location is unbeatable. you can walk and do not need a cab for the mayor attractions and shopping. the receptionist was very helpful and super friendly. I didn't have breakfast since the hall doesn't appeal to me and I preferred a croissant outside in the sun. there is no lift and parking. it was not dirty as others wrote. Not a romantic spot.

Room Tip: on the first floor since there are no elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbaraebner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2013

This is a little hotel in the heart of old Avignon.

The hotel is ok but the locations makes up for it. The reception was awesome in pointing us to everything and supplying us with info.

The rooms were big with 2 beds pushed together.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johan393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

I stayed at this hotel in August 2012 for a long weekend with some friends. It is a basic hotel, no frills, but clean, well air-conditioned and pretty quiet even considering its central location. The staff are very friendly and helpful and can give you lots of tips on Avignon. If you have a tight budget and don't mind something basic, this is a great choice. Very central too. Yes, there's no lift, but it's a good work out!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morrisandmoppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

The good thing about the hotel is location-right in a centre of Avignon.
Family room is not small but very very basic. Bathroom was not very clean. There is no lift in a hotel so we had to go to the 4th floor with all our staff!!!
No parking.
I would say the hotel is a 2 star hotel.
But it worth the money you pay.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadushenka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

When we were in need of two hotel rooms, we found Danieli Hotel through the information office. A nice hotel, very central and with a very friendly and helpful lady at the front desk! Thank you for your very friendly help!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Johann_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

This hotel was great for travelling on a budget. Perfect location, in the heart of the city. The rooms are very basic, but comfortable and clean enough. The staff were helpful with giving us directions, and i don't think we could have beat this location. For this price, i don't think you can beat this budget accommodation! Avignon is far to beautiful to spend any more time than is necessary in your hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shelly_8181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

The best part of Hotel Danieli is its location. It is an easy walk anywhere in the walled city. That being said, it was my least favorite of the 5 hotels we stayed at on our vacation throughout Spain and France. As far as traveling goes, my husband and I just ask for something clean, well priced, and a MUST HAVE is a great location... and I will say Hotel Danieli fit all of that.

There have been a lot of recent upgrades but it is obvious that they were done as cheaply as possible. The black chandeliers and zebra carpet on the stairs felt completely at odds with the charm and history of Avignon and Provence in general. There was a ton of debris and construction happening right in front of the hotel that was never tidied up in the 5 days we were there (see pictures), which we walked by while coming and going multiple times a day.

The bathroom was pretty bad. At 5'8", I was far too tall for the shower. The shower/tub was raised up in the bathroom with slippery floors and several stairs - an accident waiting to happen, and water got everywhere when showering because of the design of the tub. The sink was clogged. The towels were the thinnest towels I have ever used and again, just came back to very cheap upgrades.

The bed was comfortable, A/C worked great, and service was very friendly in the lobby. All the staff was incredibly helpful. All of this being said, I wouldn't seek out Hotel Danieli if I were in Avignon again, but I wouldn't be miserable if I had to stay there again. It was a good home base for exploring Provence!

TIPS:

Parking -- be sure to get a map with the parking areas from the hotel -- if you have a rental car (and if you are visiting Provence, you must!!!), there are several free lots within walking distance of the hotel. They are just outside of the walls, but a short, 5 minute walk from the hotel. We parked our rental car there at night and never had any issues. The hotel staff told us about paid parking lots where we would get a discount for being hotel guests, but after paying closer attention to the map, we found the free lots.

Shuttle from the train station -- there is a bus that picks up right in front of the TGV train station and takes you the 10 minute ride to the post office within the walls of Avignon. It was several Euro per person and well worth it. It was very easy and once you get off the bus, it is only several blocks to the hotel.

Dining -- the Place d'Horloge is fun, but overpriced. Keep walking a bit and wander within the walls to find some amazing (and less touristy) options!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmilyandSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0 mi away
Regina Boutique Hotel
Regina Boutique Hotel
#16 of 68 in Avignon
96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kyriad Avignon - Palais Des Papes
0.4 mi away
Le Magnan Hotel
Le Magnan Hotel
#15 of 68 in Avignon
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Budget Avignon Centre
0.2 mi away
Bristol Hotel
Bristol Hotel
#24 of 68 in Avignon
536 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Avignon Centre Pont de l'Europe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danieli Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danieli Hotel

Address: 17 rue de la Republique, 84000, Avignon, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 68 Hotels in Avignon
Price Range: £39 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Danieli Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Danieli Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danieli Hotel Avignon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing