We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Danieli Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Danieli Hotel
Ranked #61 of 68 Hotels in Avignon
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Although rated three star this hotel would be at the lower end of the classification! City centre, fantastic location in the old walled city but accordingly if you gave a room overlooking the street expect some noise. Immaculately clean, a little worn in places but comfortable beds and very helpful staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank m0r0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2013

Spent 3 nights at this hotel right in centre of avignon. Was lovely to walk to Xmas markets and restaurants in the evenings. Good place for the price, was clean and comfortable. No extras, would have liked to be able to make a cuppa tea however was surprised by quality and cleanliness. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank JodieOneKnobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

Space is obviously at a premium within the walled city of Avignon, so very few chain hotels to choose from. We chose here (no chain) and wasn't expecting anything special as it wasn't particularly expensive and a 3 star. We were however pleasantly surprised, extremely helpful staff, rooms and hotel tastefully decorated and most importantly clean and comfortable.
Bathrooms are in need of a refurb, but again, clean and functional.
Breakfast was adequate, but did lack the variety that you get with a large chain.
All said, the quality we got for the price paid was very good and you are in a short walking distance of anywhere within the walled city, which is beautiful.
My tip, find out where you are going to park before you arrive as the Avignon streets are not car friendly

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Aimee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I have read a few of the reviews from previous guests and have to say that I found this hotel to be clean, well maintained and most importantly exceptionally well located. We arrived on a Saturday and the main street was closed off. We had no problem in reaching the hotel as we were on bikes but our driver had difficulty in getting in to the hotel (this was to do with traffic restrictions and not the hotel). The man who checked us in was brilliant, he had very good English and was very friendly. The rooms were clean and had everything that we needed. It was really good value. For the price we paid we were not expecting much but were all pleasantly surprised with our stay.
If you are looking for a cheap, clean, no frills hotel in the best location in Avignon then Danieli Hotel is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ivor O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

This was a last minute find for us and we were happy with what the Hotel had to offer. Rooms were clean and well equipped. Location was great. Friendly and helpfyl staff with some English which was helpful. Price was very good. We would reccommend this Hotel for your stay.

Room Tip: We had room 210, which was good for our family of 4. It was at the back facing a quite street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Ok, so we were not expecting a five star hotel for the price we paid, however, even the great location cannot redeem this run down property. We were touring a few cities in France and we expected to experience the old world charm of Avignon's ancient architecture and cobble streets. What we got on arrival at this hotel was a dark, dirty, hidden entrance off of the main street, past a backpacker's hostel, downstairs into a dark reception area. We knew things were probably not going to get much better but checked in anyway trying to keep an open mind that this was an old city. Things went from bad to worse on entering our rooms which were absolutely dreadful. Very dirty carpet, sagging old bed, stained linen, curtain hanging off the window and can't even mention the condition of the bathroom. We had to leave even though our rooms were prepaid and the woman at the front desk would not give us a refund (fired our travel agent too!). We didn't care because there was no way we could stay there. I'm not sure how even the most travelled backpacker could stay at this hotel but perhaps this is what you get for a roof over your head. Considering the central location and charming older buildings it surprises me that the owner cannot at least offer clean accommodations at this price. We left and found another hotel up by the central square called the Mercure which we discovered is a chain of hotels in France. For a little bit more money it saved our vacation in Avignon which we truly loved from that moment on.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1000IslandsAdmiral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

the hotel is dirty and dark no English channels on television in rooms, also the towels are thread bare, unhelpful women at front desk , bin in bathroom full of toilet paper from previous tenant, noisy all night from back packer hotel in the front of this hotel. would totally not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: none stay away from this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAR1232013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0 mi away
Regina Boutique Hotel
Regina Boutique Hotel
#16 of 68 in Avignon
96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kyriad Avignon - Palais Des Papes
0.4 mi away
Le Magnan Hotel
Le Magnan Hotel
#15 of 68 in Avignon
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Budget Avignon Centre
0.2 mi away
Bristol Hotel
Bristol Hotel
#24 of 68 in Avignon
536 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Avignon Centre Pont de l'Europe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danieli Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danieli Hotel

Address: 17 rue de la Republique, 84000, Avignon, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 68 Hotels in Avignon
Price Range: £39 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Danieli Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Danieli Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danieli Hotel Avignon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing