We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous hotel; great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Avignon Grand Hotel
Ranked #16 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, MN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gorgeous hotel; great location”
Reviewed 11 January 2008

My husband and I spent one night at this hotel while on a trip through Provence for our first anniversary. We loved it! The location was fabulous; just a short walk to the main street of the old city. The hotel was beautiful and our room was huge. We felt so spoiled! The breakfast brunch is NOT worth the price, but otherwise we totally enjoyed our stay here. We will return for sure if we have the chance to return to Avignon.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mdana75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    331
    151
    69
    37
See reviews for
210
322
19
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2007

Stopped here for 2 nights in September with our 3 children, we got a suite which was clean and sizeable. There was a day bed on the first floor with a bathroom and up a spiral staircase were two more bedrooms and another bathroom. The hotel is beside the trainstation but that didn't really bother us. It is only a short walk to the sights, Palais etc. It is not really a hotel that you would want to sit around in, the restaurant didn't look great, breakfast was expensive at 16 euro per person, they even charged the full price for our 3 year old who only had a half cup of hot chocolate. Overall the hotel is fine for a stop over if you have an agenda for the days but I wouldn't like to be stuck there for a week.

  • Liked — Spacious rooms
  • Disliked — Lack of athmosphere
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Kehlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2007

On first entering our room we detected a strong moldy odour. We were travelling with other family who we asked to come over and they also detected the strong smell. It was strongest in the shower. When told the front desk said they would send their staff to deodorize room. When we came back we were still upset about the smell and had to complain the next morning. We were finally given a new room but it also had some mould smell but not as strong.
Not sure what it is with this hotel but I would caution that if you detect the smell notify them immediately and change rooms.
The beds were also very hard and our stay was the least enjoyable of all the hotels in France that we stayed at.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room smell and hard beds
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank HappyTailsEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Avignon hotels

London, England
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2007

We stayed here for 4 nights in August. It was certainly a very pleasant hotel. The room (a double) was spacious and had a large sitting area with fairly comfortable chairs, separate from the bed. It was in fine condition, clean, no stains on the carpet or any funny smells. The bathroom was very new and very clean. The maid did a very good job. The only quibble I have is that though the bathroom was quite large, the shower itself was rather small. This was a pity as there was plenty of room for a large walk-in shower in there.
The staff at the hotel were good. The breakfasts were good - loads of different things to eat. There was some hot food too - bacon, scrambled eggs, small sausages, ratatouille. BUT the warmer thingy was not very efficient - every time I tasted any of this, the items were lukewarm. But there was so much fruit, lovely preserves, croissants, yoghurt, meat, cheese, tomatoes, etc etc that it didn't bother me. Check in and out were quick and efficient. We parked in the car park underneath, which was fine.
There is a bit of a stroll from this hotel to the Place de l'Horloge and the restaurants in that area so you might want to take a taxi if you aren't a good walker, or choose a hotel in the old city.

  • Liked — The spacious room
  • Disliked — The cramped shower
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Snickerbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2007

The hotel is just outside the old city wall, close to Avignon Central railway station, though very well double-glazed! We had a superior room, which meant we had a bedroom and a sitting room that you could separate with sliding doors, and a balcony with chairs/table. The carpet was very stained, but everything else was very nice, though the chambermaids were not very good at re-stocking shower gels etc.

When we booked (via Eurostar) we were told that breakfast was included, which was not true - annoying. However we had lunch and dinner in the restaurant a couple of times - delicious and good value at 25 euros for 3 course dinner with a glass of wine, mineral water and coffee thrown in.

We would probably stay there again as we got a 4 nights for the price of 3 deal!

  • Liked — Very spacious - comfortable bar and lounges.
  • Disliked — A bit too far from the city centre unless you're quite fit!
  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jellycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2007

Date: August 9th to 16th 2007
Reviewer: Couple in late 50s.

Hotel was booked as part of a Eurostar package and chosen from several possible options on the basis of the existing reviews on Tripadvisor.
We had one of the superior double rooms - a double bedroom, an ensuite bathroom, a separate lounge area and an outside terrace- so there was plenty of space.

Good points: room space, very quiet but nevertheless very effective air conditioning, terrace, very helpful reception staff who all spoke reasonable and certainly adequate English, location, quietness.

Not-so-good points: badly stained carpet in lounge area, occasional bad smell from drains, very hard bed. Breakfast at €16 is very expensive so we didn't try it.

So, not perfect, but very good overall. The location, just outside the ramparts of the old town, is perhaps not so convenient as some of the more centrally located hotels but is a significant factor in the quietness of the place, and it's still less than 10 minutes walk to the centre.

O'Neill's Irish pub on Cours Jean Jaures is less than 5 minutes' walk and does a great cooked English breakfast. The SNCF station cafe is only 3 minutes away and offers a surprisingly good selection of pastries and even bakes its own croissants. It also does one of the best cafe au laits that we found in Avignon.

  • Liked — The room space and quietness.
  • Disliked — The occasional smell from drains, very hard bed, stains on carpets.
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank TrickyDicky42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2007

Stayed at this hotel for 6 nights at the beginning of August for our main summer vacation. We arrived in Avignon by TGV from Paris and found the hotel to be right opposite the TGV shuttle bus stop, right next to the city walls. The position is ideal as it is just outside the main bustle and noise of Avignon meaning it is easy to get a good night's sleep - the aircon helps too!

It is a lovely hotel, modern built but with splashes of colour and design in traditional Provencal style. The entrance hall particularly is open, light, spacious and impressive.

We were lucky enough to have the standard double room we paid for upgraded to a suite, which meant we had an extra living area in our room, as well as two double beds (the second of which we found very helpful for putting cases and clothes on!)

The hotel was in general very clean, the room light and airy and spacious - the room was made up impeccably every day. The only minor disappointment in the room was a slight appearance of mould in the minibar fridge but this didn't bother us unduly as all the items in the fridge were sealed.

The separate bath and shower were very welcome after the days spent in the sunshine exploring the city.

The rooftop pool is quite small and I would imnagine gets very busy during the July festival. Our visit was just after this so the pool was relatively quiet. If you just want to splash about a little after a day's sightseeing it will be ideal - there are sun loungers round the pool and also a separate sun deck in another part of the hotel.

We ate in the bar/restaurant one night. This was very good value at 25€ per person for starter, main course, dessert, a glass of wine and a bottle of mineral water, though the choice of main dishes is limited. You probably would not want to eat in the hotel every night through as there are so many lovely restaurants in Avignon, but it is a good insurance in case you have had a long day sightseeing and do not want a walk into town again! The breakfast, however, seemed extortionate at 15€ per person - go to a bakery instead!

Overall this is a very good hotel - I would definitely stay again but I'm not sure I would have been quite as happy had we not got the room upgrade.

  • Liked — The design and 'feel' of the building
  • Disliked — Slightly dodgy minibar
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Lofty_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
0.4 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#6 of 69 in Avignon
1,511 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis
Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis
#15 of 69 in Avignon
851 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 69 in Avignon
764 reviews
3.7 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avignon Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avignon Grand Hotel

Property: Avignon Grand Hotel
Address: 34 Boulevard Saint Roch, 84000, Avignon, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Avignon Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the foot of the Avignon remparts, the Avignon Grand Hotel provides 124 rooms and suites spacious of 40 m² and more with terrace or balcony. The hotel is also equipped with a relaxation area with a swimming-pool. It is perfectly located on the heart of the historic centre of the city and adapted for relaxing or working stay. It provides modern and traditional wide confortable spaces. You only have to get over the remaprts to reach the Cloitre Saint-Louis restaurant which is unique and full of history. All over the year, the restaurant offers you a sophisticated and light cooking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Avignon Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing