We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Avignon Grand Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Garlande(Avignon)(Great Value!)
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$307
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$257
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Mercure
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$212
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Novotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$72
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$610
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$592
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel de l'Horloge(Avignon)
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Central(Avignon)(Great Value!)
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Cristol(Avignon)(Great Value!)
US$61
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$59
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (852)
Filter reviews
852 results
Traveller rating
219
354
164
75
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
219
354
164
75
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationseparate lounge areasitting roomtwo double bedssister hotelgarden viewold townrooftop poolwalled cityhuge roombusy roadsuperior roomperfect locationthe ground floorminute walkmain roadunderground parking
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
300 - 305 of 852 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2013

not bad, clean rooms...good location near old town....we paid 135 euro for room and got upgraded to suite .... wifi was slow, lifts to car park didn't work with room key so had to use stairs for bag and baby trolley etc

asked for more towels and didnt get them till next day..

ok and good value

Room Tip: garden facing away from street noise.... lower floor
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mabudo_likes_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

If you arrive by car at the hotel you must inquire before where & how to park your car. No space is available to drop somebody & luggage. You will park in a public underground parking where you have to be careful not to scratch your car. This is the negative aspect of this hotel. For a 5 stars we expect a minimum of comfort and here the contract is not fulfilled.
All the staff is nice & try to help as much as possible. Good point !
We have been upgraded to a suite which was nice. Size of the rooms is good. All is clean. Not too much noise from outside. Wifi working very well.
To discover Avignon, this is a ideal location, you can visit the old town including Pont St Benezet by foot.
No kettle in the room, you must ask for it & keep on asking a cup everyday.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vuestra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AAB2, Responsable relations clients at Avignon Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment, and for your precision about your stay at the AVIGNON GRAND HOTEL. This details allows us to better understand each points to lift or more detailed.

First of all, please note that we have a 4 stars hotels, and not a 5 stars, it's an important point to notify.
As you mentionned, the indications to go to the parking are not sufficient, we are in touch with the city of Avignon (it does not belong to the hotel as it is a public parking), to improve the access.

It is a Public car park (no private) under the hotel, with an access direct by the lift or by the upstairs. Once at the hotel, our porter can helps you to take your luggage in the car to go directly in your room.
Regarding the space to park your cark, I assure you that in comparison to other city parks, it is not the closest. But if you have a very big car, I understand your comment.

I'm very glad to read that you enjoy our staff, the room, our equippement, and the location in the city center of the city. As you explained, all our room are very spacious: 40 m², with a private separate living room, a bathroom with shower and bathtub, and some times you can have a terrace or balcony. That's why our guests often think that they have been upgraded, but 80% of our room have this kind of services and size. The other category is our SUITE with 65 m², 2 rooms, 2 bathrooms, and balcony or terrace.

I hope that we will have again the pleasure to welcome you in the Avignon Grand Hôtel, or the Cloitre Saint-Louis.
Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located perfectly beside Avignon train station just 50 meters. The rooms are big and very nice bathroom. The reception area is nice surrounded with ground to sealing expansive windows. It located outside the old city

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Desertprince76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AAB2, Responsable relations clients at Avignon Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having chosen our hotel during your stay on Avignon and for taking the time to send us your feedback via this website.
We are very happy to read your satisfaction about the size of our room, and the location .
The Avignon Grand Hotel is located near to the train station (centre), and just front of the beautiful historic walls date back the 14th century, and closed to famous Pope of Palace (15 min by walk).
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
With my best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

This sweet hotel is in a great location to all the sights and main streets in Avignon. In the late afternoon/evening we would sit out in the lovely courtyard area with some wonderful French wine in and around the fragrant lavender while having great conversation with people from all around the world---Australia, London and beyond! Would absolutely stay here again when visiting Avignon...many fabulous memories!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GabyRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AAB2, Responsable relations clients at Avignon Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your positiv comment, we are very satisfy to learn that you enjoyed your stay in the Avignon Grand Hôtel. It's very important for us to propose to our guest a very good experience in Avignon.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
With my best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We got a good deal in our rates since we were traveling in the winter, so for us, it was a good valley for what we paid, but I agree with some reviews that said that this was not a 4 stars experience. The location is excellent if your traveling by car: easy access do the historical city, but also easy to get the road to explore around. The room was really big - much impressive if you think in european standards, but the service per se was not so great. The breakfast is too expensive for what they offer (we preferred to have our "petit dejeuner" in some restaurant in the old city which were much cheaper, in a nice decor and not so far). And yes: the hotel parking was really difficult of find and complicated to access, knowing that it's your first time there, you know nothing about the area traffic, etc, etc… they could signalize better.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MariaEBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AAB2, Responsable relations clients at Avignon Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your feedback about your stay in the Avignon Grand Hôtel. We attach lot of importance in our guest comments, wether positiv or less. This kind of feeling permit to always remain vigilant to maintain our gains.
As I can learn you mentionned a deficiency on our services... but unefortunately we don't have enough details to understand exactly what happen during your stay. We do our best to propose our guest all 4 stars hotel services: bar, room-service, concierge service, business center, free wifi, front desk 24h/24, porter...

We regret that you were disappointed by our breakfast that you find too expensive. The hotel provide an american breakfast, on buffet with differents local specialities as "croquant' or navette", scrambled eggs, sausages, plate of cold meats, cheeses, breads, boiled eggs, jam, butter, pastries, nutella, fruit basket, dried fruit, chocolate, coffee, milk, fruit juices, mineral water... for 16€/pers.

Regarding the indication to access to the public car park situated under the hotel, unfortunately we already know that the signs of the city are not sufficient. We are in touch with the city in order to find a solution, but it's not so easy.

On the other hands, for the other points, I'm delighted to know that you enjoyed our good location in the city center of Avignon (15 min by walk to the famous Pope's Palace), and our room very spacious (40 m², room with a separate living room, a bathroom with bathtub and shower, and any room provide balcony or terrace).

We hope that you you will trust you again for another stay in the Avignon Grand Hôtel.

With best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews