We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, good for families.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Avignon Grand Hotel
Ranked #13 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Level Contributor
205 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Great location, good for families.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

Our family of four had a two bedroom suite that was actually two stories with a sitting room downstairs and a spiral staircase up to a second floor with two bedrooms and a bath. There was an additional bath downstairs. More than enough space for our family. The rooms were comfortable and clean. Location was great and an easy walk to all Avignon attractions. There is a small pool that my children enjoyed. Nice breakfast buffet each morning with lots of nice choices.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hengelhardt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    312
    136
    64
    33
See reviews for
187
304
18
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

We had a studio room which was very spacious and great value for the price through Booking.com. Our "studio" apartment was actually more like a one bedroom suite with separate sitting quarters and 2 double beds in the bedroom. Nice clean design, excellent shower. We didn't try the buffet breakfast as it was overpriced, but the hotel is located just outside of the city walls and with a 5-10 minute walk, we were able to buy lovely fresh pastries off of the main street (which is why we go to France!). The hotel is right beside the Avignon Gare Central (a 10 minute shuttle bus trip from the Avignon TGV station) . The hotel is managed by the same company as the Cloitre St Louis where we stayed 6 years ago. In comparison, I would say that the Cloitre is more modern, more expensive, and has more character since it is located within a former monastery. But the Avignon Grand was a lovely surprise, especially given the price. We stayed only one night as we wanted to see more of Provence, and had already toured Avignon previously. I felt completely safe around the hotel and did not notice any "social problems" in the vicinity. However, as in most cities, there were a few people who appeared to be homeless on the main street within the walled city (not the street that the hotel is located on). True, there is no kettle or coffee maker, which we are used to having, but this is only a minor issue.

Room Tip: For a couple, the studio is more than adequate in size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank photobuglondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
358 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

The hotel is just opposite the old city and the entrance faces the beautifully restored old city walls. It is in an excellent location and the entire old city is almost on your doorstep. The entry foyer is grand and spacious with plenty of areas in which to chill out. The prominent curved marble staircase is a great way to walk off the meal time kilojoules. Our room was very large and decorated in a tasteful modern style. The bed was large and comfortable and the bathroom was well laid out. Breakfast was adequate with reasonable choice. The staff was courteous, friendly and helpful. The Gare de Avignon is a short walk away as are the numerous restaurants which line the main avenue in the old city. Every culinary taste can be satisfied somewhere along this avenue. It is a 15-minute walk to the Palais des Papes. le Pont D’Avignon and the Rhone River. We had a very pleasant stay at the Grand Hotel in this delightful city of Avignon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a city wall view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JANDK2265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

We were given an upgrade room (sounds like a familiar story) and thought wow that's good having previously seen the extra price tag for the duplex room with spiral staircase. Accommodation: upstairs - 1x Double bedroom with wardrobe and TV, 1x twin bedroom with no space to hang clothes &no TV, balcony off each bedroom although only ONE chair and a table to share between the two balconies (very odd), bathroom with WC, Basin and shower over bath. Downstairs - large lounge diner area with daybed pull out sofa, 2nd bathroom with WC, Shower Cubicle & Hand Basin. The spiral staircase is falling off the wall and very flimsy. No kettle or courtesy tray - supposed to be 4star!!! There is a mini bar with 50cl mineral water at 4euro - but you only find out the price if you ask - they claim info in book but it is not!! Roof top pool a plunge pool but nice to sit up there.
The whole place could do with an upgrade in decor as it is now very shabby, especially in corridors. There were just two of us and really the big space seems nice but I would rather have a fresh clean room with basic mod cons (i.e. kettle). Staff ok.
Great location especially if like us you arrive by train, albeit the TGV and not the train into Avignon Gare Central, however, only 1euro fare each from the TGV station using the shuttle bus.
Avignon appears to have social problems - lots of drunks & vagrants hanging around. Had the misfortune to experience one such fellow using a shop doorway to defecate in at about 8pm this evening - not pleasant!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

At this hotel, the interior of the entrance is smart. The rooms in general are large - we had two double beds, a separate lounge area, a bathroom and a balcony all at a good rate. The worst I could say is that the decor could be updated but given the space, I can't complain.
The room pool is more of a plunge pool but has wooded slatted sun-beds surrounding it and does catch the sun.
Cleaning wise it was good but occurred really late every date, possibly because the hotel was well used by coach loads of all nationalities. Check that the hotel leaves enough bars of soap in your bathroom to use until the following day's cleaning!
The breakfast room has a low ceiling and they are missing a trick in not using the garden area - it's souless and the range is standard with nothing outstanding, especially after a large coach party have left the building. Staff were efficient but lacked personality. When the soundtrack to the most recent 'Bond' movie piped through the speakers at breakfast it felt like the oddest contrast.
There's a convenient bus stop which goes to the TGV every 20 minutes behind the city walls about 2 minutes from the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RainInManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

The hotel is located within walking distance, with rolling luggage, of the rail station, the TGV bullet station is a 10 euro taxi away. Just outside the old city walls it is an easy walk anywhere within. The rooms are clean and spacious and the desk staff helpful and responsive. The bath had a tub and shower and there was a little sitting room, all very nice.

When we checked in they upgraded us to a two floor spiral stair suite, as other reviews have noted, that is quite impractical. When we tried to call the front desk from this room the phone didn't work, again as others have noted. HINT: do not accept the upgrade without viewing it first.

The other things that kept a star or two out were: the in room safe sits on a shelf unattached to the wall, you can simply carry it away (talk about a false sense of security); it was cold, rainy and very windy during our early June visit, unusual or the new global weather, anyway we stayed in one night and ordered room service, which arrived promptly and was good, the service tray we left in the sitting room and the cleaning staff moved it to the hallway where it stayed for twenty four hours until we asked the front desk to move it.

A good value, in a very good location, just a little quirky.

Room Tip: The rail station is behind the building and there is some noise, however, the best rooms face the in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StudioCityBassPlayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
0.4 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#5 of 69 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis
Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis
#11 of 69 in Avignon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avignon Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avignon Grand Hotel

Property: Avignon Grand Hotel
Address: 34 boulevard Saint Roch, 84000, Avignon, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Avignon Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the foot of the Avignon remparts, the Avignon Grand Hotel provides 122 rooms and suites spacious of 40 m² and more with terrace or balcony. The hotel is also equipped with a relaxation area with a swimming-pool. It is perfectly located on the heart of the historic centre of the city and adapted for relaxing or working stay. It provides modern and traditional wide confortable spaces. You only have to get over the remaprts to reach the Cloitre Saint-Louis restaurant which is unique and full of history. All over the year, the restaurant offers you a sophisticated and light cooking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avignon Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing