We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very close to Popes Palace and Gare Avignon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Avignon Grand Hotel
Ranked #19 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

Very clean and convenient hotel. Just across the road from the Popes palace walls and next door to the Gare Avignon. Our room was lovely with a separate sitting room. There is lots of cupboard space and a separate bath and shower. The staff was lovely and spoke English.
A complaint might be that they don't have a restaurant but they do serve breakfast. We didn't have a problem as there are many eateries very close just inside the walls of the Popes Palace.
We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank squeek_40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (822)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

271 - 277 of 822 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for two nights, and would rate it excellent overall. It is modern and emaculate and just a few hundred meters outside the Avignon gates, which is a perfect location. The hotel was spotless, the rooms spacious, and the service fantastic.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kentucky100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Stayed here for six nights in September. We were on a trip to experience Provence, and had the choice of this hotel or the cheaper three star Bristol hotel in Avignon. We chose this because it is four star but some aspects disappoint. The rooms are good, but the breakfast is very ordinary. There is a bar but the receptionist has to man this in addition to their receptionist duties. As a consequence, at times it was difficult to get a drink, so much so we walked out one day.
Would think twice about staying here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden as these rooms have a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This will be a review of not only the Hotel but also of the surrounding area, so it will be useful for anyone considering coming to Avignon.

The Hotel

The Rooms
The hotel itself is nice, the rooms are large and the bathroom is very good. Each room also has a little cooking kitchen which is a nice addition.

The "Bar"/Reception Area
Where the hotel does fall down on is the activities within the hotel. The bar is an extension of the reception and therefore not very large and not "feeling" like a bar. In addition there is never any staff behind the counter. The reception, which aims to double as a chilling out room has horrendous air circulation so it can get very hot. HOWEVER these two issues are not the end of the world, you do not have to spend your time here.

The Pool
Is very very very small, the picture on the website is done with a wide angle lense and has been stretched and is very very misleading. DO NOT come here if you intend on swimming at all, it is more the size of a hot tub.

The Staff
Cleaning staff were efficient and fast in rooms, and the staff in general were really nice, no complaints here!

Avignon in General
I WOULD NOT recommend you coming to Avignon. Although from a far (brochures) it can be made to look picturesque and beautiful once you got here that is very much exaggerated. Due to poor sewage there is often a sickly smell when one stays at restaurants and within the town once you have seen the palace of the popes, and the light show there is really very little to do. Perhaps the most signficcant factor that results in me giving Avignon a 2/5 is the fact that there are a large amount of homeless people, who are drunk and also a large number of beggars. When i say homeless people you are probably thinking, London has a lot of homeless people but seriously everywhere you go you will be in eyesight of at least 5 of them, who ask for money. Basically its uncomfortable and if you are going to go on holiday its probably not an environment you want to be in.

Conclusion
Avignon despite its glamour is dull and dirty, the Ho

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Don´t let the looks on the outside fool you... (I thought it looked a bit dull) On the inside you´ll find a fantastic hotel and large rooms! Shame we only were staying for 1 night really...
The hotel room was just as spacious as the lobby! Very comfortable bed. Great location too, just next to the train station and the city walls. Walking distance to the city centre and major attractions. Parking garage with direct access to the hotel makes it convenient for travelers with their own car. Staff at the front desk acted welcoming and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ullert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Located just alongside the Avignon centre railway station. A very good hotel and we enjoyed our stay. Good bed, refrigerator, safe, plenty of wardrobe space, good linen and towels etc, good bathroom facilities. Quiet room and can be darkened well for a good nights sleep. Air conditioned room. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was basic but OK. A good ten minute walk gets you to a large selection of resteraunts within the walled city. All in all a good hotel and would easily return.

Room Tip: Staff are friendly and helpful just ask them for anything
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meandpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Our second stay at this hotel and used it as a base to visit other places. Spacious rooms with a sitting area, air conditioning. Needs a bit of refurbishment decor wise. We didn't eat breakfast there as it was too pricey but breakfasted in the town for about 8 euros each. Location is just opposite the walls near to the train station. Avignon itself in the daytime is pleasant but in the evening it is littered with beggars and down & outs with dogs and can be quite intimidating. The town council needs to clear them out as it is not appealing to the visitor. We will not visit Avignon again based on this experience.

Room Tip: Just book a standard room as they are plenty spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmamaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
0.4 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#6 of 69 in Avignon
1,593 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis
Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis
#14 of 69 in Avignon
879 reviews
3.7 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
991 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avignon Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avignon Grand Hotel

Address: 34 Boulevard Saint Roch, 84000, Avignon, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Price Range: £69 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avignon Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the foot of the Avignon remparts, the Avignon Grand Hotel provides 124 rooms and suites spacious of 40 m² and more with terrace or balcony. The hotel is also equipped with a relaxation area with a swimming-pool. It is perfectly located on the heart of the historic centre of the city and adapted for relaxing or working stay. It provides modern and traditional wide confortable spaces. You only have to get over the remaprts to reach the Cloitre Saint-Louis restaurant which is unique and full of history. All over the year, the restaurant offers you a sophisticated and light cooking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avignon Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing