We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, solid - but not fancy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Avignon Grand Hotel
Ranked #9 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good, solid - but not fancy”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Positives:
Good location, just outside the town wall
Parking garage - a must if driving here
Rates are reasonable
We had a premier room, very spacious

No negatives. It just doesn't have the "it" factor to put it over the top.

Remember in Europe "stars" are not equivalent to US star system. By European standards I would say this is a legit 3-4 star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cingitall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    317
    138
    64
    33
See reviews for
190
308
19
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aquitaine, France
Level Contributor
460 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Found the Grand when looking for a pet friendly hotel on way to Italy.
Apart from somewhat inconvenient vehicle access and parking arrangements, it was a very acceptable hotel.
Staff were very helpful and room was comfortable and quiet.
It is close to an area of Avignon that is full of bars and restaurants and is just a 10 minute walk to the main square which has a good selection for food and some good cocktails.
Also close to the railway station for train travellers.
Good enough for us to have booked again for return home, now that we know how vehicle access/parking works.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LesH211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Greenbush, New York, United States
Level Contributor
102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

After flying into Marseille from the US I needed to take the train to Avignon just for the night. I booked this hotel primarily because it was situated 100 yds from the central train station (not the TVG) near the city walls. When I arrived I was pleasantly surprised---5 minute walk from the station, pleasant and helpful staff, and a room that had to be at least 500 sq feet consisting of a large living room with ample furniture, a separate bedroom with a queen bed, and a modern clean bathroom with separate bath, shower, etc. I stayed in Room 148, corner room overlooking the city wall on Rue du Rempart St.Roch. Oddly, there was very little road noise which stopped totally at sundown. The hotel was in easy walking distance to the central gate (Porta de la Republic) and many restaurant's. Unfortunately I was exhausted from my tip and had to leave for L'Isle sur la Sorgue) the next morning. I would not hesitate to use it again, and I highly recommend it to all. (P.S. I did not take advantage of the breakfast for 16 euros, although it looked very good).

Room Tip: I had 148, large corner room across from the city walls, Surprisingly quiet considering it was clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrmitosis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This hotel was a great disappointment to us. It touts itself as a 4 star but it certainly is not. We had to switch rooms twice before we were able to get a room that didn't smell like mold. This is only because we finally got a room with no carpet. The rooms are dirty, from scuff marks all over the walls, to mold in the grout of the shower. The lights in the hallways are on sensors but they only work when walking in one direction. So, if you leave your room after dark, you need a flashlight to see your way to the elevator. The list of what is wrong with this hotel is too long for the 200 character minimum. Suffice it to say, that if you want a true 4 star experience do not stay here. The best aspect of this hotel is its proximity to the town.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lennisa915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

After a long and adventurous 12-hour drive from Barcelona to Andorra to Avignon we have arrived at Grand Hotel around midnight on September 8, 2013. The hotel was easy to find and the location is very nice, right across the street from the entrance to the old town section of the city. It was raining, we were quite tired but the day was full of wonderful sightseeing and we were looking forward to a relaxing stay. The street was deserted, and the only sound was the sound of the water being pumped out of the hotels basement onto the street. Kind of odd, especially given the fact that it was right by the entrance to the hotel. We went inside where two young gentlemen were present at the reception. We checked in and asked about parking. The both spoke English well, and also one our sons spoke French to them, so there was no trouble communicating. They gave us a pass to the parking garage that is located under the structure and explained how to drive there (it is around the corner), We unloaded the car, neither one of them volunteered to help by the way, went ahead and parked the car. We had a bit of an issue finding our way out of the garage and into the hotel lobby since it is very dimly lit and there are no clear signs how to get back to the hotel. We got the keys to our rooms, and took our bags upstairs to the third floor. The rooms are large, and clean, and you actually get a suite with a bedroom and a living area. The furniture is a strange mix of wood and metal, the bed is large but not particularly comfortable, but after 12 hours of driving we just went to sleep. Both rooms were facing the street overlooking the wall of the Popes Palace. We got up in the morning and went to take a shower when I noticed that the base of the shower stall is covered in black mold. There is also a bath tub with the shower handle so we took our showers in there. After breakfast I went to the reception desk and told them about the problem. The gentleman at the desk spoke very good English but did not know, apparently, what the word "mold" meant. Since I took a picture of it I showed it to him and asked for different rooms. I have to add that the shower in our sons' room had the exact same problem. He shrugged his shoulders and told us that they will see what can be done. After breakfast we were shown four(!) different rooms, and they all had the same mold issue. So there was no reason to change. We just resorted to using the bath tub shower instead. Other than that, the city is very pleasant, we went on excursions for two days around Provence and Marseille, and we were really glad that we included this region in our travel itinerary. The weather was great, the food was absolutely outstanding anywhere we went and the people are very nice and friendly. As far as hotel is concerned, it has a great potential to be the best place to stay in Avignon. It just needs a little facelift and a TLC. So, visit Provence, enjoy the views, the food, the weather, the rich and colorful history and the people. But for now, stay at the different hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ari K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Stayed for four nights early September . The hotel was well situated for all the tourist spots and railway station ( not for the TGV station but there is a regular bus service from it to near the hotel ). The rooms were large - we had a sitting room as well. The hotel was very clean . Breakfast was ok but have to boil your own hot water in a precariously balanced kettle was a bit off.. Would have no hesitation in staying again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mackay,australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

Very clean and convenient hotel. Just across the road from the Popes palace walls and next door to the Gare Avignon. Our room was lovely with a separate sitting room. There is lots of cupboard space and a separate bath and shower. The staff was lovely and spoke English.
A complaint might be that they don't have a restaurant but they do serve breakfast. We didn't have a problem as there are many eateries very close just inside the walls of the Popes Palace.
We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank squeek_40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
0.4 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#5 of 69 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis
Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis
#13 of 69 in Avignon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avignon Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avignon Grand Hotel

Property: Avignon Grand Hotel
Address: 34 boulevard Saint Roch, 84000, Avignon, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Avignon Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the foot of the Avignon remparts, the Avignon Grand Hotel provides 122 rooms and suites spacious of 40 m² and more with terrace or balcony. The hotel is also equipped with a relaxation area with a swimming-pool. It is perfectly located on the heart of the historic centre of the city and adapted for relaxing or working stay. It provides modern and traditional wide confortable spaces. You only have to get over the remaprts to reach the Cloitre Saint-Louis restaurant which is unique and full of history. All over the year, the restaurant offers you a sophisticated and light cooking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avignon Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing