We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large and clean rooms, bad internet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Avignon Grand Hotel
Ranked #19 of 68 Hotels in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is an old hotel that was partially renovated. The new areas (rooms, restaurant and reception) are bright, well furnished ("mediterranean style) contrasting with the old and dark corridors. No charm ( well, it s located just next to the railway station..) but he rooms are huge, clean and comfortable. Breakfast is honest. Big problem: internet is terrible. At the end we found it a bit expensive for what it offeres.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (828)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

250 - 256 of 828 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

Overpriced and not truthful with descriptions - the so called pool is just a gigantic bathtub. The staff unhelpful, unsmiling, breakfast totally overpriced, corridors smell stale and musty - over unpleasant stay. For the price they charge you can stay in much much better place.

Room Tip: book in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tyc881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIRECTION-AGH-CSL, Responsable relations clients at Avignon Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear guest,
We thank you for your feedback about your stay in the Avignon Grand Hôtel. We attach lot of importance in our guest comments, wether positiv or less. This kind of feeling permit to always remain vigilant to maintain our gains.
We sincerely do regret that we did not live up to your expectations, be sure that all points noted will be fixed.
We hope that you will give a second chance on the occasion of your next visit in Avignon.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed here for a week, using it as a base for exploring Avignon and the region. The hotel was very clean and comfortable and our room had a lovely view of the garden. It's perfectly located just outside the city walls of Avignon for walks into the city, day trips via train or bus or even a walk over to Villeneuve. The wifi was a bit patchy from time to time but it is free so we weren't too bothered.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucille T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIRECTION-AGH-CSL, Responsable relations clients at Avignon Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear guest,
We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent stay with us.
We were delighted to read you had a nice holiday staying at our hotel and that you enjoyed the services and facilities. On behalf of our entire staff here at the Avignon Grand Hotel we would like to thank you for your kind comment and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This was one of the best hotels at which we have ever stayed. The location, directly across the street from the old city wall, is simply the best. If you're taking the train or other public transportation, it is located next to the hotel. If you have a car there is great parking underneath the hotel. Just inside the city gates there are many restaurants from which to choose. The room was quite large with a separate sitting room area. The wifi worked very well and the TV channels included English speaking stations. The room was spotlessly clean when we arrived and was cleaned completely each day. The staff at the front desk were extremely warm, friendly and helpful. Sebastián and Magali spent lots of time helping us plan just the right places to visit during the day. Their time was very much appreciated. The breakfast was wonderful and included eggs, bacon and sausage as well as a variety of cold foods. There was also a large pot of coffee which is always appreciated by U.S. travelers. There was a separate tub and shower which was quite large. The bed was very comfortable and the air conditioning worked very well (which has been very rare at most of our hotels). We loved this hotel and extended our stay two additional nights but eventually needed to move on. We left with some sadness but thankful for our time at this absolutely perfect hotel. The hotel and the wonderful town of Avignon make a wonderful home base from which to visit all the wonderful places in Provence. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Twila E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIRECTION-AGH-CSL, Responsable relations clients at Avignon Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Twila,
We would like to thank you very much for your positiv comment on Tripadvisor regarding your stay with us.
We always try to do our best to make sure our guests have the best experience while staying with us and it is a great reward to read that for you. We will make sure to share your kind words with our staff. We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel was perfect in every sense. The staff were professional, friendly, and provided many suggestions for sights in the Provence area. The double room we were given was located on the corner of the hotel on the front street. Because the hotel has double glass windows there was no street noise. The view from the second story window was the ancient wall of Avignon. The very busy train station and the entrance to the inner city of Avignon was one block away. There were many restaurants available in the local area. Parking was under the hotel and easily accessible for a charge. The breakfast buffet was good with a couple of hot food selections. Internet worked well and the TV had two English speaking channels. Although electric outlets were few in the room the number was sufficient. A/C worked great and the shower stall was best we could imagine. The rooms were sparkling clean and housekeeping is daily. The double/Queen sized bed was quite comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on Boulevard Saint-Roch for a great view of the street scene and the wall of Avignon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobWE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIRECTION-AGH-CSL, Responsable relations clients at Avignon Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear guest,
We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent stay with us.
We were delighted to read you had a nice holiday staying at our hotel and that you enjoyed the services and facilities. On behalf of our entire staff here at the Avignon Grand Hotel we would like to thank you for your kind comment and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Can't say enough about this place. Stayed for 5 nights with 2 children in tow, our room was perfect for a family as we had separate space to chill when the children were asleep.

The staff were friendly and helpful even though we spoke no French.

The location next to the train and buses was fantastic for getting out and seeing the countryside.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ferritcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIRECTION-AGH-CSL, Responsable relations clients at Avignon Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for having chosen the AVIGNON GRAND HOTEL, and for having taken the time to share your experience by writing on this website.
We are very delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay in Avignon. It's a big satisfaction for us, to read your good experience at the hotel.
We hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Well kept large and clean rooms but room refrigerator did not function and air conditioning was not yet operating although it was quite warm for early April. With an open window there was very loud street traffic day and night including ambulance sirens and incessant motorcycles. Staff was friendly knowledgeable and multilingual. If you bring or rent a car note that the hotel charges € 15 per day and the underground facility is extremely dark (presumably as an energy saving measure). Breakfast had a reasonable assortment of items but is expensive at € 16 for what it offers and if you arrive late the selection may be depleted.

Room Tip: Don't get a room facing Blvd Saint Roche - extremely noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 103JonS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIRECTION-AGH-CSL, Responsable relations clients at Avignon Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
We would like to thank you very much for your positiv comment on Tripadvisor regarding your stay with us.
We always try to do our best to make sure our guests have the best experience while staying with us and it is a great reward to read that for you. We will make sure to share your kind words with our staff.
For information, we engage the climatisation today, this is no longer necessary to open the window.
We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
0.4 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#5 of 68 in Avignon
1,615 reviews
3.7 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 68 in Avignon
818 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Avignon Centre Palais des Papes
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis
Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis
#14 of 68 in Avignon
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avignon Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avignon Grand Hotel

Address: 34 boulevard Saint Roch, 84000, Avignon, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 68 Hotels in Avignon
Price Range: £66 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avignon Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the foot of the Avignon remparts, the Avignon Grand Hotel provides 124 rooms and suites spacious of 40 m² and more with terrace or balcony. The hotel is also equipped with a relaxation area with a swimming-pool. It is perfectly located on the heart of the historic centre of the city and adapted for relaxing or working stay. It provides modern and traditional wide confortable spaces. You only have to get over the remaprts to reach the Cloitre Saint-Louis restaurant which is unique and full of history. All over the year, the restaurant offers you a sophisticated and light cooking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Avignon Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing