We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not up to what it seems”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Avignon Grand Hotel
Ranked #19 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Sylvie P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (822)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

232 - 238 of 822 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

We only stayed for one night in a superior room and it was great. The room had a separate seating area, good size bed (a little too hard for me though). Breakfast was pretty good but the wifi was on and off most of the time. We came in on the TGV to Avignon Centre and it was an easy walk to the hotel. A great location for the shopping and restaurants inside the wall. Overall, just great.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Charlene Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed 4 nights during the festival in July 2014, we had 2 very spacious suites for 2 adults and 3 children. The location is excellent, right at the southern entrance of the historic city, very close to the city center station (convenient when you need to rent a car, you just need to take a shuttle to the TGV station). This way you can easily rest in between performances during the day. The rooms are very clean and well designed, breakfast fine for a French restaurant. As mentioned by other reviewers, there is a problem with the wifi service, you can’t stay hooked on it for more than a few minutes during the day, strangely enough it works better at night….

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TeoSza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed just for one night in July 2014 in a superior room. We had two double beds and a separate lounge area. The hotel is located just outside the city walls next to the train station, so ideal for exploring the sights of Avignon. Very pleasant staff who offered us a drink at check in. Lovely pool. My only gripe was the quality of the coffee at breakfast. Parking is extra if you have a car

Room Tip: If you can, upgrade to a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amdev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

If we had not pre-paid for this room we would have checked out immediately. The hallways and rooms smelled of mold and mildew. We stayed for 5 nights, and the internet never did work for more than 3 minutes at a time (and even then at less than 0.3 mb/s). Skip their breakfast - both my partner and I got sick from the scrambled eggs.

The only thing I good about the place is the location.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank PSPMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We paid extra for a suite here and it was lovely. Very spacious with a divider between the bedroom and the lounge area. My only gripe was there wasn't coffee making facilities, but they are more than willing to get you a coffee if you want one. It's in a good location and the car park is below the hotel, which you have to pay for. Great for exploring the lovely town of Avignon.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Nicest hotel on our trip through France.....With the temps climbing in mid June, we wanted a luxurious room with a pool.....turns out its a small suite(superior double). Nice/elegant furniture, luxurious, comfortable bed, and all marble bathroom with a large separate shower. We asked for a quiet room so they put us on the 3rd floor overlooking the courtyard(away from the elevator) and looking up from our balcony at the pool on the roof. The hotel is right across the street from the main entrance into the walled city of Avignon and all the terrific restaurants on the small squares. Parking is NOT free(15 euros per day), breakfast is 16 euros per day. If you come by train, its 2 blocks from the station. The staff is very good, fluent in English and bent over backwards to make our stay wonderful.

Room Tip: Always go to upper rear floors and away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
0.4 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#6 of 69 in Avignon
1,593 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis
Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis
#14 of 69 in Avignon
879 reviews
3.7 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
991 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avignon Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avignon Grand Hotel

Address: 34 Boulevard Saint Roch, 84000, Avignon, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Price Range: £69 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avignon Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the foot of the Avignon remparts, the Avignon Grand Hotel provides 124 rooms and suites spacious of 40 m² and more with terrace or balcony. The hotel is also equipped with a relaxation area with a swimming-pool. It is perfectly located on the heart of the historic centre of the city and adapted for relaxing or working stay. It provides modern and traditional wide confortable spaces. You only have to get over the remaprts to reach the Cloitre Saint-Louis restaurant which is unique and full of history. All over the year, the restaurant offers you a sophisticated and light cooking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Fastbooking, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avignon Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing